We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a kind!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B

Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Ranked #99 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of a kind!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived at about 7pm one evening to be greeted warmly by Julian, our host. Our room was as nice as expected & parking was no trouble. The location is great, 15 mins walk into the city centre but away from the noise & in such a pretty area at the end of Great Pulteney Street.

We don't normally stay in B&B,s & only booked because the hotel we wanted was full, however we were pleasantly surprised. The size of the house (5 stories) & of the light & airy rooms, made this feel like a hotel but with the warmth of a B&B.

Breakfast is served in the family kitchen & accompanied with varied informative chatter- nothing is too much trouble. The choice of breakfast food is extensive & lovely. The attention to detail with the historic details is impressive.

Only drops a point, as something's look a little tired & could be improved upon i.e. towels & toiletries.

The house creates a nice, convivial atmosphere, where guests interact wherever possible. Should be experienced at least once.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sir Walter Elliott's Room & the bed was lovely & comfy. Bath rather than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prettyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

When we arrived the very jolly and lovely owner helped with our bags. A big plus is that their is parking available as parking is quite expensive in Bath.
As a massive Jane Austen fan, I booked the room where Persuasion was filmed, on the top floor so if you don't like stairs, dont book it! we had a beautiful clean and airy room, fantastic views over the park.
The couple who run this place cannot do enough for you. He gave us a tour of the building and told us about the place. We sat in the kitchen with his wife and sheade us tea and freshly made cake which was amazing!!!
We opted for the continental breakfast each morning and wow it was superb! we sat in the beautiful little conservatory and enjoyed tea, cakes, meats, breads, jams, cheese, jellies....it was beautiful.
I cannot recommend this place enough and really hope to go back some time soon. Thanks for an amazing stay.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank emmapic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This stay was hard to review - the staff, rooms and service were excellent, however management moved members of our party and their belongings to different rooms without consulting us, the group leaders, and at times without consulting the individuals. We were so upset by this that we could not imagine staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AGG201187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

As other reviewers have commented, the house is simply stunning and drips with authenticity. The rooms are spacious, bright and each with their own style resonant of the period. I absolutely loved staying here and this will be my first choice whenever I find myself visiting Bath again. Julian and Mechthild were the warmest and most considerate of hosts and were infinitely patient and obliging as the guest arrangements for my house party changed several times in the lead up to our stay. We had the use of the Olde Kitchen, so we could relax and talk in our own sitting room and store all the wine we brought in a handy fridge! Breakfast was a choice of English or Austrian (we went Austrian) and it was a feast. We lingered over a leisurely breakfast and were treated like aristocracy. Thank you, Thank you, Julian and Mechti you made our weekend perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Thank you so much for making our weekend away so special. The rooms are stunning and breakfast truly amazing. Such attentive and friendly service was most welcome. The location is excellent - just a short walk into town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just home from two nights in house steeped in history, Perfect hosts, Perfect location for an easy 5 min flat walk into Bath center. Comfy, spacious relaxing and a great breakfast.
Would I stay again? oh defiantly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scbrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My girlfriend and I booked the apartment at Sir Walter Elliot's house. Unfortunately we had some trip issues which made us unable to make it to Bath for our stay. All of my interactions with Julian were very good, and he was incredibly understanding to our unfortunate situation. I am certain that just due to the service we would have had a great time. If I get the chance to stay here again I will definitely take advantage of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chestnuts House
Chestnuts House
#4 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.3 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B

Property: Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Address: 95 Sydney Place, Bath BA2 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing