We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, uncomfortable atmosphere, poor service, over hyped”
Review of The Kilted Chef - CLOSED

The Kilted Chef
Price range: US$20 - US$66
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Kilted Chef is an independent restaurant in the centre of Bath, serving contemporary British food with a Scottish twist. Our warm and ambient dining facilities provide the perfect venue for a relaxed lunch or memorable dinner in the heart of Bath. All our dishes use only the finest ingredients whilst reflecting the varying seasons. Our set lunches and pre-theatre dishes offer particularly good value for money and we have received many favourable reviews of our A La Carte and bespoke taster menus which can be prepared on request.
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I dined at the kilted chef on Saturday last, the place was without any ambience whatsoever, better atmospheres in a dentists waiting room!
Waited for almost half an hour untill we were given a menu.
I chose the lamb dish, with an oxtail and kidney accompaniment, this was so over seasoned, I could only assume the chef had either been suffering from a heavy cold, or forgotten he had already added salt!
For a resteraunt which on the surface is offering so much, and charging high prices, I felt sorely disappointed and for want of a better terminology, ripped off!
It just wasn't value for money!
There was only one senior member of staff, the rest of the staff seemed to be lacking guidance, at one point, there wasn't a single member of staff to be seen, it resembled the Marie Celeste, this just isn't good enough, the resteraunt isn't living up to its billing!
As one who dines at many of the countries top resteraunts, i know this to be a fact!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Elysilverfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKiltedChef, Public Relations Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

The review before yours has been left by a diner on the same night and their experience was "perfect"! It just goes to show how subjective the whole experience of eating out can be!
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your evening with us. For someone who dines at many of the countries top restaurants I am surprised to see that this is your first review! Sadly, it is often easier to complain than it is to offer praise where praise is due.
Quite rightly, TripAdvisor has given both you and your fellow diner a public voice. If I could make a suggestion for the future, it is more beneficial to all concerned if you mention your dissatisfaction during your evening. Then your concerns can be discussed and a resolution can be offered at first point of contact.
The customer experience will always be our primary concern and we go to great lengths to ensure that the customer has the finest dining experience possible. To this aim we welcome honest feedback and appreciate it if it is offered in a constructive manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We came away for a weekend in bath and found the restaurant on trip advisor.
The staff were children who didn't have a clue about the food they were serving, or how to look after there customers. We were left and never asked was our meal ok.
The food wasn't fantastic the lamb over done and to heavily seasoned.
The atmosphere was flat and the restaurant no where near full.
The menu it's self was a winter menu, although we are now nearly in summer.
Overall not worth the money or your time.
We went to Lock Fyne the previous evening, it was fantastic. Great food, great service, great atmosphere and very reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Shemlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKiltedChef, Public Relations Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. You're observations are correct we do have a young member of staff who is part of our team. Regardless of age, colour or creed, we believe that if someone shows a commitment and willingness to learn then they deserve a fair chance. It is difficult enough as it is to build a young person's confidence to serve a table in a fine dining environment without them being so publicly critised.
If you prefer to dine in a multi chain restaurant as opposed to an independant then we respect that as your own personal preference. We accept that it is impossible to please all the people all of the time but that will not deter us from continually trying out best to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Kilted Chef is only two minutes from Theatre Royal and combined with trip to theatre completed a lovely day out. Pre theatre menu was interesting and good value. Enjoyed the mussels and pasta starter dish. Service was good. Found the repetitive background Kenny Gee music started to get on my nerves but other than that found atmosphere good .. Will certainly go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank iaingray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKiltedChef, Public Relations Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review not only on TripAdvisor but also on Twitter as well!
We are delighted to hear that our pre-theatre menu complimented your trip to the theatre and it's great to know that you'll come and visit us again.
To be honest with you I find too much Kenny Gee quite mundane too and your comments have encouraged me to review our music playlist. I promise you'll notice an improvement on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I booked The Kilted Chef a month in advance for our anniversary and was told upon booking that we would be greeted with champagne which seemed a lovely gesture and gave a really professional and attentive first impression. Upon arriving at the restaurant 20 minute prior to our booking we were seated on the sofa by the entrance and asked what we wanted to drink. The champagne greeting didn't materialise so we ordered 2 glasses of prosecco instead. After being left on the sofa for approximately 40 minutes (!) we asked to be seated and were shown to our table. The starter and main course were of average quality, the 'chocolate four ways' desert was Devine. The restaurant lacked atmosphere and the front of house staff seemed overly stressed and curt given it as a quiet evening inside. We dine out regularly and have had far better food and ambience elsewhere for the £135 we paid for our dining experience. Would not recommend which is disappointing as it was for such a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JodieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKiltedChef, Public Relations Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

I am deeply saddened to read your review. Here at the Kilted Chef we understand the importance of our role in supporting special occasions and I'm sorry if you feel we have not lived up to your expectations.
We have recently introduced new staff to our team and there appears to have been a breakdown in communication in this instance for which I can only apologise.
We have attempted to make contact with you to discuss this personally but as yet you have not responded. We are hopeful that you will allow us the opportunity to resolve this to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I find it hard to reach a conclusion about this restaurant - some aspects were great, others disappointing. The menu is quite small, but every dish is inviting and interesting. The food looks fantastic, and service was very good too. My starter - gravadlax of venison - was tasty, with good accompaniments, but was not as tender as I would have liked and could have been better trimmed. My salmon main course had a lovely sauce, but the salmon itself was overcooked for my taste, and the accompanying langoustine was also rather dry. There are good ideas here and fine potential, but there needs to be greater accuracy in the cooking. It is certainly worth a try, but will need to improve to prosper and justify its pricing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKiltedChef, Public Relations Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest critique. We're pleased that you found our menu both interesting and engaging and that the service met with your satisfaction.
How food is cooked and presented is very subjective and down to an individual's personal choice and preference.
With regards to the salmon, we apologise if you were not given the opportunity to specify to us your preference, and concerning the venison, we serve the loin which is the most expensive cut and our chef trims the meat personally. A little fat is left on the meat as too severe a trim would result in the loin loosing moisture.
Please rest assured that your opinions have been relayed to our chef and front of house team and we hope that you will give us another chance considering our arguably redeeming features!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kilted Chef also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing