We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing visit”
Review of Secret garden cafe

Secret garden cafe
Ranked #30 of 41 Coffee & Tea in Bath
Restaurant details
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Having read the reviews and keen to support local business, I decided to meet my husband there for morning coffee and cake.
The cafe decor is nice and the setting lovely but the staff were disinterested and surly. The food and cakes were mediocre, surprising really when you see the lovely cakes and bread for sale in the shop downstairs.
Maybe we were just unlucky on our visit, so I will give it one more chance before writing it off completely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharronvont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely find”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Popped into the garden centre as we're staying nearby and found both a great farm shop and a lovely café upstairs. Fairly spacious and a good range of food and drinks. We were just having tea and cake but nice cake, and a brilliant range of drinks to choose from, including various fairtrade and organic options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisydaisydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Super tasty brekkie”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My friend and I often visit the garden centre for a spot of shopping but now we try and meet for lunch or afternoon tea so we can use the cafe! We've had great lunches here with nice big pots of tea. The cafe has now become a favourite of mine and my husbands for breakfast as they do a great bacon roll, simply delicious. It's a small operation but really well run and they turn out some great food and the staff are very pleasant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCM1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Great pizza, its a shame they don't do it more often. Above average food well presented, its fast becoming the gastro social lunch hub of Bath!

Helpful?
1 Thank captain picard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent soup!”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Lovely cafe on second floor of garden centre. Soups, sandwiches, salads and cakes. Can get busy; popular with Mums and children.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Secret garden cafe also viewed

 

Been to Secret garden cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing