We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”
Review of 4 Beaufort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
4 Beaufort
Ranked #107 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The room was beautifully presented with great views. There was a selection of free snacks and drinks provided. Room plenty big enough to relax in and there was a communal living room in addition. The cooked breakfast was served in the room. The land lady was very attentive. The down side of the great views is that it is a bit of a climb to get to. Although there was no provision for parking, there is space in the street. Similar in price to the local Travel Lodges, but vastly superior.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I booked this BB for my sisters 30th Birthday present. It did not disappoint at all. Lynn went to extraordinary lengths to ensure that we have every comfort before and during our stay, recommending activities and restaurants. The pictures on the website do not actually do the accommodation justice, as it is really spectacular!

This is a beautiful place with stunning scenery and faultless hospitality.

Thank you Lynn for a wonderful and memorable stay.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Freya784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Beaufort, Owner at 4 Beaufort, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that hope that we will be able to welcome you again one day

Kindest Regards,

4 Beaufort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed at 4 Beaufort for one night only and could not fault this guest house,from the warm welcome on arrival. Lynn and Tom made me stay so comfortable with excellent service . The rooms were spotlessly clean with everything you need for your stay, I felt as though I was staying in a luxury hotel with lots of attention to detail. If you are planning to stay in bath or close by I would not hesitate in contacting Lynn or Tom to book a room with first class service . Thanks again for the your great hospitality . Darren

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpj69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Beaufort, Owner at 4 Beaufort, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review and for your appreciation of all the little extra attentions to detail which in our view make a stay away from home special. We would love to welcome you again.

With very best wishes,

4 Beaufort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My wife and I with our nine year old daughter stayed here in early September. We found the place to be beautifully maintained and welcoming. Every small detail had clearly been considered and our spacious room and bathroom was perfect.
We also indulged in breakfast, which was everything you may expect from a 5 star hotel, but perhaps better because it was home cooked, with quality ingredients and as we sat at our table by the window, we looked over a gorgeous panorama across the hills surrounding Bath.
It is a reasonable walk into the center of Bath but it takes you through some lovely views and allowed us to be close enough, but not too close to the noise and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Beaufort, Owner at 4 Beaufort, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you for your very positive review which we really appreciate. We very much hope we will be able to welcome you again

Kindest best wishes,

4 Beaufort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

GOOD STUFF
Looks freshly decorated in contemporary style.
Clean and roomy.
Big, comfy guest lounge.
Unobtrusive, but available owners.
Good bathroom products.
Nice choice of buffet breakfast items.
Recommened a pleasant pub for dinner, just down the hill.

NOT SO GOOD
A good 25 min hilly walk from town - lovely on a nice day, but not for all.
£9 taxi ride from the station.
All the usual drinks, but no hot chocolate.
Overall nice, but felt about £40 too expensive.

MAD!
Who wants an en suite with no door!?
For lovebirds this is too intimate, for old birds I think we'd all rather not 'share' THAT much!
There was plenty of room for a door too - all VERY odd!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visit021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Beaufort, Owner at 4 Beaufort, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We very much welcome all feed back and act upon it as we aim high and deliver quality. We are glad you found the accommodation new and shiny.

We are glad you liked the styling and cleanliness and enjoyed the luxury top quality Sheridan sheets, bath towels and robes, the White Company bathroom products, the Dorset Cereals, Stoats Porridge, Tea Pigs tea and Origin organic coffee and the fresh berries, yoghurts, milk, orange juice, chocolate and mineral water all complimentary and in the fridge in your room. Speciality drinks of all kinds including hot chocolate, cappuccino, latte, espresso and iced tea are listed on the menu in the room and available to order at very reasonable prices. We are sorry we did not have the opportunity to serve you a delicious Origin hot chocolate in your room or in the guest sitting room. We also always offer a complimentary hot drink on arrival which can be hot chocolate upon request.

We are heartened that you enjoyed dinner at 1 Beaufort a couple of minutes walk away. We highly recommend 1 Beaufort and also our local award winning pub the King William for a nearby supper.

We are sorry that you found the walk into Bath too long and that the wonderful views were not compensation enough. From here, it is uphill for 4 minutes and then flat and downhill all the way. It takes me 15 minutes to walk to the historical part of Bath - the Assembly Rooms and the Royal Crescent where there are some of Bath's best shops and cafes and museums. Bath city extends all the way from the Assembly rooms at the top end to the railway station at the bottom end with the Abbey in the middle and it is at least a 15 minute walk from one end of Bath to the other - all of it interesting in its own way. Many people regard the top end of Bath which is closest to us around George Street and the Assembly Rooms as the most interesting and beautiful part. Bath is in a bowl with hills all around it so it is impossible to avoid some uphill!

We know that not everyone wants to walk or indeed can walk into Bath so we are concerned to hear what you say about taxi fares and have this evening telephoned Abbey Taxi's who do nearly all taxi business in Bath to check on fares. We are advised that a taxi from the Assembly Rooms to 4 Beaufort is about £6 for up to 4 persons and from the Railway Station which is at the far end of Bath is £7.70. It has gone up a little since we last checked but is still fairly moderate. Many of our guests enjoy walking into Bath and then get a taxi back after a day exploring. We have the advantage of free 24 hour on street parking and similarly appointed large quality hotel rooms in the city centre cost at least twice as much with parking fees in addition in many cases. Bath is a world heritage city and a very popular weekend break destination and accommodation prices are on the high side compared with some other parts of the country. But still better value than London!

Our large en suite bathroom with roll top bath and separate shower was deliberately designed to be a doorless space - but a very separate space. Indeed many top boutique hotels go a lot further than that and have free standing roll top baths in the room itself. The space where you would have preferred a door does have a quality interlined opaque curtain which provides just as much privacy as would a standard door when drawn without imposing on the space. As the room features a king size bed (not twin beds) almost everyone who stays is with a partner or loved one and no one has ever felt the need for a door as opposed to a heavy curtain before but we do respect your views on that and realise that boutique style is not for everyone.

We do hope that you might like to visit again one day and we would be delighted to offer you complimentary hot chocolates!

Kindest Regards,

4 Beaufort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.9 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 157 in Bath
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4 Beaufort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Beaufort

Property: 4 Beaufort
Address: Beaufort Villas leading to Southbourne Gardens, Bath BA1 6LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing