We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar with fab cocktails and lovely staff”
Review of Opium Bar

Opium Bar
Ranked #4 of 45 Nightlife in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A vintage and curious cocktail bar found in some of Bath's unique vaults; we're in the heart of this World Heritage City. A quirky and delightful secret for the lucky few that venture to find it, Opium is tucked away under the landmark Pulteney Bridge much like the old Laudanum and Opiate dens of the Victorian era. The bar is stocked with a wide range of International beers and spirits and staffed by bartenders who can mix and concoct these ingredients into the most wondrous (and affordable) cocktails you've ever indulged in. It's easy to imagine yourself in the company of Sherlock Holmes, H.G Wells, Janis Joplin or William Burroughs as you sip your perfectly made cocktail. £5 for any cocktail Tues-Thurs , Friday until 8 pm.Check out the secret room for parties. To appreciate the beauty of the place have a virtual tour on our website.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great bar with fab cocktails and lovely staff”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We went here on a Sunday night and it was a delight! The decor is fantastic and each nook and cranny has something interesting to gaze at. There's sofas and chez lounges and bed like things..a rabbit hole of weird and wonderful.
The staff were lovely (had a great bar man originally from London if the owners are reading this) who made really great cocktails. Would definitely recommend. A treat :) xx

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank barbaraann13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    24
    4
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing cocktails and fantastic little place”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After 3 nights missing Opium by yards (we failed to walk quite far enough in either direction!), we finally located this little gem on the last night of our trip.

A few stone steps down led us into this cavernous haven of cocktail glamour! The welcome was warm, the decor is amazing - think underground cellar meets taxidermists meets clock shop and antiques dealer! It was early when we visited, and quiet for a half term, but I imagine it would be a great place to hang out all evening with friends.

The cocktails themselves were among the best we've had - a seriously punchy Espresso Martini and an expertly muddle Mojito with lots of fresh mint and a proper limey zing.

Definitely recommend hunting this place out - under the Pulteney Bridge!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Drink me”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Found the Opium Bar while away with my husband. Best Mojito I've tasted(and I've tried a few). Lay out on the chaise longe sip a cocktail feeling like Alice in Wonderland,absolutly perfect ambience,massively recommend this place ....gorgeously gothic and perfectly placed ...don't miss this hidden gem!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank koolkittykat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“always a great night”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

have visited Opium a few times whilst i was in bath at university and more recently on a trip back to the city for a hen do.
always made to feel welcome and Dan made the last visit so special by ensuring the bride and mother of the bride were treated to a free cocktail.
would recomend opium to anyone visiting bath, the cocktails are amazing, particulally the elderflower cocktails.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RachelvEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading - England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A must-do experience for an evening in Bath!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Don't spend an evening in Bath without a visit to the Opium Bar tucked under the arches of a bridge! Dripping with fabulous bohemian/Moroccan ambiance....... Gorgeous cocktails (highly recommend the strawberry daiquiri) and fruity shots and quality champers served by stylish very capable courteous staff. Relax and sit on floor cushions around the table or in stylish smoking chairs and enjoy drinks with friends while surrounded by subtle lighting, nude renaissance art on the arched ceilings and framed artworks all over the walls and arty artefacts all about while scented joss sticks burn around you and the music plays.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank itsmaxinelily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opium Bar also viewed

 

Been to Opium Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing