We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere”
Review of Bill's Bath

Bill's Bath
Ranked #71 of 583 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: An ideal place to start your day with a leisurely breakfast or a quick pop out the office at lunch time, Bill's Bath is a cosy and intimate affair, packed with character. Close to the Theatre Royal, Roman Baths, and other attractions, it's well placed for pre-theatre dinner or if you're out shopping or enjoying the city's many sights.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

a single traveller, a seat was located where I would not look too sad. The staff were helpful, knowledgeable and polite. I was unrushed and was able to soak up the atmosphere. Internet codes were available on chalk boards and some products were able to be purchased.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 848KMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    396
    157
    69
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great meal, good atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Had not come across this chain before. Really liked the atmosphere, music and decor so went in! Tasty food, half chicken and special super food salad (very large - enough for 2 if it's for lunch or small appetite). The chocolate brownie topped it off (well I did have a salad!). The service was really friendly. The place was super clean with cool music. They serve cider (?Pigs Orchard) too. All in all a good meal and a lovely replacing experience. We'll definitely look out for these elsewhere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KasSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1st time in Bath”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I had a wander around Bath, to explore a part of the world I'd never seen. I was hungry, and happened upon Bill's, which was in (I think) in the top 5 rated in the city on Trip Advisor.

A 2-person table was found tucked away in a corner by a bubbly young lady at the door, a "meeter & greeter", and there were only a couple of empty seats. Initially uncertain service became friendly quite quickly, early on this bustling Saturday evening (about 7:00pm), there was a busy atmosphere, which always creates a buzz.

The prices were somewhat steep I thought (cheapest beer is £3.75 / small bottle, but then parking in Bath is £3+ per hour!), but Bill's Beer hit the spot while I ordered Crab, Chilli and Prawn Cakes (starter), and Chicken Skewers from an impressive menu. Not a massive range, but you feel you'd want to order half of it! The starter was clearly made from fresh ingredients, but lacked the punch of any of them. No piquancy in the chilli, and not a huge amount of flavour in the seafood, they (3) weren't much bigger than sink plugs in size, but it was different.

The chicken skewers really hit the spot - I only wanted something light-ish, but this was substantial enough to meet a bloke's appetite. They were cooked really well, and the chicken stayed succulent, They were served with cous cous salad with tomato, mint, parsley and lemon with tzatziki (not enough of these accompaniments!) and wholemeal pitta bread. A very tasty combination.

The starter and main plus 2 Bill's Beers = £23.30 then the 10% service charge. Everything was done in just under 30 minutes - service seemed friendly and efficient, but not rushed.

I have very mixed feelings about tipping, and I understand putting it on a bill, but ALL restaurants everywhere please get this...........1) If an "optional 10% service charge is added to the bill" - it isn't REALLY "optional", so perhaps remove the offending pretend-word, and.... 2) please understand my suspicion that this is a gateway to escalating to the obscene 20% gratuity expected (and sometimes charged) by American eateries. Its' quite a big part of the reason I don't go out much any more.

Another tiny part of the reason, that restaurants can't do anything about, and doesn't affect this review. Two youngish couples were seated next me who seemed pleasant enough, until the obvious Yorkshireman started telling voluble, pathetic tales deploying wild arm movements... and the F-bomb every other word. Ah well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Real actual good food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had the roast chicken with sweet potato fries. Very very good, actually made on the spot, tasting like real food. Nice place with free wifi and friendly staff. Don't expect super speedy dining, they do need time to make this actual food.

- stupid optional service 10% fee listed on bill (come on, makes me not want to tip at all)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Would recommend for casual dining”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Dropped into Bills for an early lunch on the recommendation of one of our party. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful in finding us a table and service was prompt throughout. As two of us are vegetarian, we were pleasantly surprised by the range of suitable dishes on offer. I can especially recommend the vegetable mezzo and the halloumi&hummus burger. The range of food has a distinct Mediterranean / Middle Eastern flavour and I would describe the experience as casual dining. Did not have chance to try the breakfast menu but it did look quite impressive and, judging by the number of locals finishing a late breakfast as we arrived, I would judge this venue as being popular. Would recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fionnsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bill's Bath also viewed

 

Been to Bill's Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing