We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cornish Bakery

The Cornish Bakery
Ranked #3 of 8 Bakeries in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We tried the traditional Cornish pasty from Pasty Presto today and I must say it wasn't as tasty as their Pork, apple and cider pasty. As usual, the pastry on the crimped edge was far too thick and there was hardly any meat - at most 3-4 tiny morsels. Considering it costs about £3.50, it is really not good enough and certainly not worthy of it's claim as the award winning pasty shop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    60
    20
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy Cornish Pasty ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Nick from English Bus we tried the pasty at this place. They have yumm yumm folded pies, the Thai chicken and the beef one with tomato onion n raisin was yummm. I did not like the traditional one as I found it a bit bland.
There are many options for vegetarians too.
I recommend that you pick one up and walk around to explore the centre of bath.
They also have a few tables outside if you get a good sunny day.
A must try at Bath

Helpful?
Thank Delna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nom Nom Nom! Hands down best meal we had in England!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Thanks to our wonderful tour bus driver (Premium Bus Tours: Stonehenge and Bath) we were recommended to have a Cornish Pasty at Pasty Presto and thankfully we did as it was a perfect meal to have on the run between the Roman Baths and the Bath Abbey Tower Climb.

This delicious Cornish Pasty was by far the best meal we had in England (which says a lot about their cuisine) and it certainly energised us after exploring the Roman Baths to charge up the Bath Abbey and see the best views of the underrated town.

Definitely a must go to renergise and possibly have your best value meal in England. If you are having trouble finding it look out for the blue building opposite the entrance to the Roman Baths.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CWAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx
Level Contributor
557 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 920 helpful votes
“Could be the best Pasties in the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We accidentally found this place after we came out of the Roman Bath. Service is quick and food is maintained at warm temperature.

- Traditional one is the best, BLC is also pretty decent. Thai curry is tempting to try, just to figure out how they put Thai chicken, coconut curry inside but that's about it.
- Check for different markings on pasties if you ordered different kinds like we did.
- Also do not underestimate the size of it. First we thought, we can have two each but could not finish. Surprisingly, some leftover are still good when I microwaved it at hotel next day and even pretty decent without reheating.
- It is also fun to sit outside and people watching, feeding pigeons with pasties pieces. At least they don't charge you more for sitting!
- Shakes is quite ok but they should consider to find some excellent formula, ? using local milk or something to match those outstanding pasties.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigboy61455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkintown
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentically delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Despite major disappointment with the Roman Baths and museum closing the doors in our faces as we arrived--even BEFORE 5 p.m. when they were to close, the Cornish pasties and sausage rolls at Pasty Presto were not only comfort food, but so delicious I still think of how to get one now that I'm back in the USA. Recommended by our tour guide, Nick--he was absolutely correct--Pasty Presto is superb! I wish they'd open a place here in Jenkintown, Pennsylvania!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PastyPresto, Guest Relations Manager at The Cornish Bakery, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are happy to hear that we ended your disappointing day on a positive and are delighted that you enjoyed your pasties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cornish Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Cornish Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing