We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alternative itinerary--just one more of Paul's skills!”
Review of Lion Tours

Lion Tours
Ranked #6 of 57 Tours in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Launched in 2013 and drawing on 10 years of guiding experience we offer fun, small group, fully guided day tours to Stonehenge and the Cotswolds for independent travellers. Early departures to beat the crowds and Stonehenge Inner Circle Special Access tours a speciality.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Alternative itinerary--just one more of Paul's skills!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

To echo everyone else, Paul is a most satisfactory tour guide & the Cotswold tour is wonderful-- I highly recommend it! The day we went, we took an alternative itinerary due to the horse trials that were causing traffic problems on the usual route. I especially appreciated that Paul was able to give us a great experience by being flexible & altering his plans so that we did not waste time stuck in traffic. Unlike many tour guides, Paul is able to be spontaneous, and this is a quality that sets him apart. NOTE: reserve in advance, because tours can fill up-- you don't want to miss this one!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank merlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    22
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful drive through the Cotwolds”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We aren't usually 'tour' people but, with limited time to explore on our own, we decided to book this full-day tour of the Cotswolds. We were not disappointed. There were about 9 people (multi-cultural and included a child) in our group and Paul, our driver/guide, was exceptionally responsive to the wishes of the group. We were able to get out and about, and he was clear about where we were going and what options were available. Paul was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the area. He was very approachable and conducted the tour with patience and good-humour. A very interesting and enjoyable day and value for money. We would definitely recommend Lion Tours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Waitakere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tairua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just the best tour of the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We have spent the day with Paul touring the Cotswolds in his very comfortable minibus. A small group of 16 traveled through the Cotswolds. Paul kept us well informed and took us to some lovely spots. Paul was a great guide keeping the group moving so that we saw as much as possible. He even bought local food for us to try. Lion Tours Thanks for a great day.

Helpful?
Thank BettyOudney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cotswolds England bus tour”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have driven in the Cotswolds on another trip and enjoyed it but taking a bus tour has several advantages. First, somebody else who knows where he is going, can point out things in advance, can pull over safely is doing the driving. Paul our driver/guide was knowledgable on many subjects, funny, helpful and patient. It was a full day trip. We saw wonderful and a variety of places I could never find easily on my own. For Paul's and our sake the 14 in our group is a comfortable size to herd around. We highly recommend Lion Cotswolds us tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaynardRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
““Lion tours provided a smaller group, well run tour.””
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked with Lion for Stonehenge and Lacock village tour. Good service. The tour was informative and well done. Really had fun as the guide interjected informative,fun stories of the area as we drove.
The group was about 15 or so in a Mercedes touring van. I would recommend this company.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainportal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lion Tours also viewed

 

Been to Lion Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing