We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact but Wicked”

MeatBusters Burger Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
MeatBusters Burger Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 583 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mon to Thurs kitchen closes at 9:30 PM, Fri and Sat kitchen closes at 10:00 PM, Sunday kitchen closes at 8:30 PM.
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Compact but Wicked”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Been to B&B a few times over the last few months and it is an amazing place. Staff are excellent, food is tasty and top quality, beer good and prices reasonable. I concur that the Django burger is excellent.

Choice of music is fantastic and there is always a good atmosphere.

Top notch place - will be frequenting again soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyridius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    107
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really really great place!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I am writing this review just after having dinner there, this place is great! Small and well decorated, kitchen seemed very clean and they had very nice staff. My friend had a Django burger which he absolutly loved. The veggie burger was very nice too but the fries were just incredible!!!! (We had the spicy cheesy ones). Topped up by great drinks (cocktails looked fantastic, next time I will try some for sure) and the cheesecake in desert was perfect with the rasberry coulis.

The bill was more than apropriate, great value which is added bonus.

We spent a good hour and a half, feeling very welcomed. The Lego movie playing in the background was the cherry on the top.

5 stars to Akhmed and his team. We will see you soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem - not great if your a veggie!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

So Burgers and Barrels, to coin a phrase, a hidden gem! But what a place! The atmosphere in this place is just fabulous! It reminds me of a little Spanish tapas bar, always buzzing, always full of energy. I love the way everyone is sat around the bar eating, it's just got this really nice family feel to it. They havent got that many tables in there, so probably worth ringing up and booking to guarantee a space.

Food wise, well, I'm a vegetarian so can't comment on the majority of the menu. There was only one veggie burger on the menu, which is called the Phat Patty's Veggie, this is basically a Portebello mushroom stuffed with a lovely garlic and cheese sauce, served with a seeded bap. I opted for a side of their plain fries. The burger itself was amazing, perfectly cooked shroom and a sauce which complimented the flavour beautifully. The fries were also excellent, although a tiny bit greasy for my taste.

Whilst very nice I think it's quite limiting to only offer one veggie burger which is basically a mushroom in a bap. If you're a veggie and don't like mushrooms (which is quite common) you are, like the burger, stuffed! (the wife for instance is a veggie and hates shrooms!)

I'd love to see a falafel type burger on the menu, just something else there in case you don't like shrooms.

Anyway, the meat burgers looked good and I'm sure tasted great, this place really is worth a visit, if only for the buzzing atmosphere it has.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgersnbarrels, General Manager at MeatBusters Burger Bar, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Ian,

Thank you so much for you describing our offering as a 'hidden gem'!! We are so pleased you loved our 'buzzing, full of energy' environment with people sitting around the open plan bar creating our unique 'nice family feel'. It is our intention to provide this and we are so pleased that you value our offering.
As ever all feedback is appreciated and our highly dedicated and trained team have been set the challenge of creating another vegetarian option!! We have doubled the offering within one day of your request and added a 'Hells Bells' (whoo spicy!!) version of our Phat Patty's Veggie offering.
As an independent in Bath we are in a fortunate position to react to our guests needs following our core values of providing the highest quality, hygiene, service, food and drinks, in a friendly enjoyable atmosphere.

Watch this space Ian!

Regards

Rony and his newly challenged team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a shame”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were in Bath for one night and we had used trip advisor to look at restaurants and we came across this one - we loved the sound of it so spent 30 minutes walking from our B&B to get there, we were ravenous but the time we got there and looking forward to a sit down and good meal.
When we walked in we were greeted by a bunch of men all drinking and smoking outside who looked rather intimidating. The bar you walk into is small and basic but clean. We saw a sign saving 2 cocktails for £9 during happy hour which was on Monday-Thursday 4pm till late - perfect. We quickly established that the only seating was bar stools and and the whole place just wasn't what we'd anticipated so we decided to just have a cocktail and go elsewhere, I would have felt bad walking in and walking out again! So we asked for 2 different cocktail, a passion fruit one and a minty one - the barman said the happy hour offer was only if you had 2 of the same cocktails. I have never been anywhere where that's the case, it seemed so silly. So we ordered 2 of the same - gluttons for punishment, in hind sight I wish we had just moved on. The cocktails were good but service was a bit off, there was a random boy chatting up the female chef and the drunks outside were quite annoying. Overall I'd say it's the perfect place for students, loud music playing and what looked like decent burgers being served but not the place for a romantic couples meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline6165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgersnbarrels, General Manager at MeatBusters Burger Bar, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Caroline,

We are pleased that from our Tripadvisor reviews that you loved the sound of our restaurant. We pride ourselves on our offering of the highest quality food and beverage, along with great customer service and our fun unique friendly atmosphere where everyone feels part of the fun.
Unfortunately it appears that we have failed to market ourselves effectively. ''Burgers and Barrels'' was not targeted to be a venue for your required 'romantic couples meal'. For this we apologise.
With regards our highly acclaimed 2-4-1 offer on freshly prepared cocktails. These are blended lovingly in front of our guests for a unrivalled price!. Our guest experience is everything and today I am altering our cocktail menu to emphasise even further the requirement that the selected cocktails are the same for the offer price.
With regards our clientèle, we are fortunate to have an excellent mix of society, consultants, landlords, business owners, accountants, electricians, restaurateurs, students, cyclists, tourists and even the local police, whom visit our premises for our friendly vibe and social interaction. We were disappointed to hear your unique perception of them - as I am sure they will!!
Overall we did not meet your needs and that is always sad to hear, for that, we apologise.........

Kind regards,
Rony and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, fantastic value, fantastic service!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We ate here on a Wednesday night and chose to sit outside in the sun. The service was fantastic, we were given free popcorn while we waited for our burgers to cook (15 mins). The burgers were amazing I had a Farmer Brown and my partner had a Django we also had a side of El Grecko fries which were lovely. I went up to pay to find that they were preparing a free cheesecake for us to eat, this just made the experience even better!!
The only thing I would suggest to improve is having the option to tip on the card machine, we had no cash and felt very mean not leaving a tip!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat8121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MeatBusters Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to MeatBusters Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing