We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but expensive....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madrid

Madrid
Ranked #63 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
london
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We turned up to an empty Madrid this last Saturday lunchtime.

Nice decor and well laid out. Very good fast service (we were outnumbered by staff though!) with pleasant staff.

We chose 4 tapaz courses and three non alcoholic drinks. The crab and croquettes were excellent but the bill came to £34.25 apparantly not including service.

So nice food City of London prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jstraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    51
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A welcome surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stumbled upon this little Tapas restaurant by accident, what a happy accident.
It looked pretty small and quiet from the outside and it is a little bit away from the main eating and entertainment streets of Bath but we were lead to the garden at the back which was a quiet (no street noise) sun-trap but filled with the atmosphere of the people enjoying this resturant. The Tapas selection was just right, not too many, not too few and a mixture of authentic flavours and a few clever modern adaptations thrown in. When the food arrived it didn't dissapoint and we enjoyed every mouthful. Good service to match meant good value all round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Waller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mini bites of heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Loved mini bar, apart from the attitude of the owners sucked at times. That said Glad that the same people are back with Madrid. The food at Madrid was as good as I would expect from the same chef. The service was a little slow, but we weren't in a rush. The foie GRAS was amazing and goats cheese with honey. My favourite restaurant in Bath at the moment. Just hope they keep the attitude in check.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Soon we'll all stop talking about Beajolais, though we were also sad when it closed. After seeing the trials they'd had refitting the place to become "Madrid", and some of the mixed reviews, I was a bit nervous about trying it.

But we went last night (Friday between 7 and 9) with friends and were really impressed. I liked the simple modern decor and the general ambience. The lighting was just right (apparently they've changed it), and we didn't have any trouble chatting over dinner even though it was pretty full. We were in contact with 4 of the staff during the evening and found all of them very good.

And the food? Not your typical tapas, but I felt that the inventiveness in the kitchen really worked. Dishes were often an interesting twist on old faithful tapas, very well presented, well flavoured and tasted absolutely fresh. I for one will certainly be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keithpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A massive let down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Beaujolais would have taken a lot to live up to and Madrid does not even come close. The food was average to poor, over expensive and no different to La Perla, which bar the ambiance and service did not impress in the slightest.

The waiters and waitresses at Madrid were very polite and charming, but the female owner was rude and not engaging. Madrid is one for the noisiest restaurants I have ever eaten in, I could not hear myself think. There was no music, the food looked good but lacked taste and was cold.

I really do not see what the big deal is with this restaurant. The tables are crammed together in a linear fashion and it feels like sitting in a small school dinner hall. Saying that the lighting and decor are very pleasant, the garden is tasteful, but all in all the place is lacking.

a change of attitude from the owners certainly required.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Bartholomew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madrid also viewed

 

Been to Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing