We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic little place within walking distance of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob C
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic little place within walking distance of Bath”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

What can I say!? Absolutely brilliant from the moment we arrived. We phoned ahead as we were having a couple of issues finding it and were met by the housekeeper in Jilly's absence. The barn itself sits opposite the house and was incredibly spacious considering there were only two of us. Upon entering we found staples provided in the kitchen (bread, milk, tea, coffee, etc), towels on the bed and immaculately clean. The bedroom was nice and airy and the bed very comfortable with rugs on each side so you didn't have to put your feet down on the cold stone flags in the morning. The bathroom is also incredibly roomy with a great power shower and the barn has it's own dedicated boiler so no worrying about using all the hot water. The kitchen comes well stocked with utensils pots and pans and plenty of cutlery and glasses and everything in perfect working order. I especially liked the small touches of putting in those things that you always forget or can't take when going away like a hair dryer in the bed room, iron and ironing board and an umbrella by the door should you need it.
Jilly herself couldn't have been more accommodating - we had a few places left to visit on the day we left and Jilly kindly let us leave the car and use the cottage until we were ready to leave in the afternoon which saved us a lot of fussing around parking and rushing around in the morning. Overall an absolutely lovely stay, great location which takes about 15 minutes to walk into the southern side of Bath, the barn has everything you need and more and would happily go back there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen B
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden away gem close to Bath”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We booked the barn as a last minute treat for three nights (Thursday to Sunday), and we were not disappointed! The decor is absolutely beautiful, modern and very stylish - straight out of an Ideal home magazine. Its also very spacious, and contained everything we needed for a luxurious stay. The barn is also ideally situated - with a very short and scenic walk into the city of Bath.

The owners were fantastic, providing milk and basic necessities which meant we could make ourselves a welcome hot drink after our four hour car journey...and even kindly let us leave our car parked at the barn whilst we wandered into Bath for a little bit more christmas shopping on our last day.

Even before we arrived, I had been recommending the barn, and sending the hyperlink to friends and family, and shall continue to do so! We feel very lucky to have made such a nice discovery.

Thanks again, Karen and Andrew Barkell.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Our only very teeny point was that a bath would have been an added bonus, but shower was luxurious.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstyrae
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful and tranquil stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I booked the Little Owl Barn for a weekend for my husband's birthday. We've been to Bath many times and I wanted this stay to be different. I was looking for somewhere that we could call home for the weekend and somewhere we could relax. I booked this property because of its luxuriousness, excellent value for money as well as it's close proximity to Bath town centre.
It is an absolutely delightful cottage and Jilly and her husband Paul are there if you need anything, but are not intrusive. We had a really wonderful stay and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail in the furnishings
Liked least: No phone reception...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing