We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavender House
Ranked #98 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Lavender House. The rooms are wonderfully furnished and decorated with taste and love to detail, the beds comfortable and cosy.
I have been to many B&Bs yet, but have never seen such a variety for breakfast options with all of them being very delicious.
Being situated just outside the centre of Bath it is calm enough even for light sleepers without being too far away for any activity in town. It is a nice walk into town (fantastic view!) and the bus service is absolutely sufficient for those who cannot or do not want to climb the hill back to Lavender House. For some daytrips to places outside Bath we had hired a car and we always managed to park the car almost directly in front of the B&B.
Above all it was Billie and Kevin's excellent hospitality and support that made it hard to leave again. We will definitely come back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
188
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

The Lavender House is located in a quiet residential district about a mile from central Bath. There is ample parking on the street if you dare rent a car and drive in Bath. If you don't want to drive it is an expensive taxi or bus ride or a pretty long walk from the train station.

Our room was clean and generally comfortable. It had two comfortable arm chairs with a table for heating water and enjoying tea. The room was a bit over-crowded, leaving inadequate room to put the suitcases down. The wardrobe was small. The four-poster bed was lovely to look at but was a bit soft for my comfort.

The bathroom was equipped with modern fixtures, all in good working order and very clean. Unfortunately, the modern sink had no place to put our toiletries; they stayed on the dresser in the bedroom.

The breakfast was excellent. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavenderBath, Manager at Lavender House, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
We are glad that over all you enjoyed your stay with us, however we are sorry you had some issues.
We do clearly state we are a 20 minute walk to the City on our web-site. The taxi prices generally range between £6.50 and £8.50 which considering the prices of Bath in general is failry reasonable.
We have luggage racks and the Rose room comfortably accommodates two racks, if there are more than two suitcases then unfortunatly there is going to be a space problem. As we furnish with antiques and the wardrobe is a period piece there is little we can do about the size, this was what would have been the norm at the time of manufacture. The bed has a top of the line memory foam mattress but unfortunately is not going to suit all preferences.
The bathroom has a cabinet under the washbasin with two shelves which have always seemed adequete for use.
We are pleased you liked the breakfast and that our staff were friendly as we try hard to make guests feel very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our pleasure in Bath was made all the greater by the\hospitality of Billie and Kevin. I echo the best comments that have appeareddbefore me on this site.

I chose the title "More than excellent" because of the important extra services that Billie provided. When I was unable to go out for dinner, Billie insisted on bringing a little supper to my room.

Not only that, but when my husband left his hat behind, she had already packed it up to mail when he called, and she would accept no reimbursement.

Book well ahead of time. There are only four rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank classic70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Lavender House is situated on the outskirts of Bath with great views over the city. This was our first visit to Bath and on arrival we were offered advice on where to visit and good places to eat. We were also advised the best way to walk into Bath which turned out to be a pleasant 30 minute walk down hill. The house is very inviting and very comfortable, breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot or cold food, including home made jam and marmalade. We stayed in the ‘Gold Room’ which looks down over Bath. The room was large and inviting with a good size bathroom with separate bath and shower. We had a really enjoyable and relaxing stay, and could not fault our hosts or their hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverfox468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford Halse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Another warm welcome and wonderful stay at Lavender House. Billie & Kevin always make sure things are perfect for us - this is our 4th stay and we brought a friend from Canada this time. As usual, breakfast was wonderful and set us up for the day. The rooms are wonderful and our guest took photos to prove it!
Thank you again and we recommend the wonderful Kiwi hospitality to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - one does have a four poster bed for that special occasion - but all are beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Bath is our favorite city and Lavender House our favorite place to stay! We have stayed many times and will be going back soon! Nothing is too much for Billie and Kevin and they are always genuine. We love Robert and Penny too ( the dachshunds!). The views of the city are great as are the rooms. Fantastic breakfasts will keep you full all day. So for that special stay, stay @ lavender House!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed here in September 2012 for two nights. Friendly and accomadating welcome, staff and owners very helpful in guiding us through and reccomending places to visit and eat, which was very useful. Our room (The Gold Room) was very clean, decorated very classically and tastefully with little touches here and there that added to it, alongside lovely views overlooking Bath City centre. Breakfast was very enjoyable with a wide range of options including continental and cooked. We had the full english breakfast both mornings as we enjoyed it so..ooo much! The owners were very attentive throughout our stay, and made us feel very comfortable in our surroundings. It was very nicely located too, set quietly out of the way but a pleasant 20 minute away down to the city centre. Absolutely no complaints from our stay and would highly reccomend it particuarly for couples looking for a quiet city break.

The Roman Baths and Fashion museum were particuarly enjoyable and worth a visit with a super saver ticket avaliable to buy. As well, the Royal Crescent with its picaresque surrounding and green spaces were perfect for a picnic and the Guildhall/Market were interesting to stroll through. Even if not a keen sightseer, just walking through the city is very pleasant and enjoyable. In the evening, we would reccomend visiting the Yak Yeti Yak restaurant which was a great experience offering authentic nepalese cuisine and atmosphere. Martini's was also a reccomended restaurant, serving hearty refined italian foods in a warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
1.3 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House

Property: Lavender House
Address: 17 Bloomfield Park, Bath BA2 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender House Bed and Breakfast is a large elegant Edwardian house with delightful relaxing gardens situated on the Southern slopes of Bath. Recently redecorated to a very high standard; Lavender house is a non-smoking home in a quiet conservation area. The individually styled bedrooms all come with comfortable beds, an abundance of pillows and cushions, well equipped hospitality tray, hair dryer, plus many little extras to make your stay here a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing