We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crescent Guest House
Ranked #93 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Nice quaint B&B not far from all the attractions of Bath. Rita, the owner, is a friendly/approachable lady and is also knowledgeable on the area and places to eat. She welcomed us with fresh brewed coffee and homemade biscuits, wonderful after a hectic car journey.

The room was nice but a little small. Fine for a short break though. It was very clean as were all other areas of the B&B and the cooked breakfast was lovely with fresh free range ingredients.

The only issue I could really mention was the parking. You had to have parking permits which Rita was very organised in supplying but some guests had to park a number of streets away which wasn't practical with the numer of bags we took (I don't pack light). We ended up moving the car nearer to the B&B when more spaces became available and it was only a 5 min walk so not too bad in the end...

I would recommend this B&B for somewhere within 10-15 mins walking distance to pretty much everything, great location and friendly staff/owner.

Also, Rita recommended a fabulous restaurant to us - Tilleys Bistro, next door but one to Sally Lunns - make sure you order the steak!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyJaneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2010

We booked at the Crescent for three nights for a trip to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I'm so pleased we chose this guest house. It is central to all the attractions, being just ten minutes walk from the centre of town. Rita is a lovely lady. She welcomed us in with a cuppa and homemade biscuits which were much appreciated. She gave us reccomendations for the best restaurants and booked us onto the mad max tour for the following day. Our room was spotless, yes it was small but it was certainly big enough to accomadate our needs. We had a small ensuite which was sufficient for our needs and very clean. There was a kettle with coffee, tea and chocolate, along with biscuits in the room. The bed was very comfortable and the duvets very warm. Breakfast was excellent. There is plenty of cereal, muesli, fruit and yoghurt with orange and apple juice to start. Then Rita takes your order for cooked breakfast. She offered a combination of ingredients if you didn't want the full english. She didn't refuse any requests and cooked the food to perfection. You can also have as much toast as you want. On Valentine's day for breakfast, she baked handmade heart biscuits for each guest, put out pink champagne and made heart shaped fried bread! We really enjoyed our stay here. However Bath is not a place you could spend more than a few days in, there's not enough to see or do.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beechbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Crescent Guest House in Bath, England in November 2009 for 2 nights. The rooms were a little small by Canadian standards; however they were very well kept. The location of the guest house is ideally situated just outside the city centre. The owner, Rita Stackhouse, is a delightful person. She was ready, willing and able to provide us with advice on what do to and see. She was also quite patient and showed genuine interest in our comfort level. I should also note that her complimentary breakfasts were superb. If I ever make it down to Bath again, I will seriously consider staying at this wonderful B&B.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zooropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Ideal Location five minutes from town. Rita most informative on Bath and attractions.
Breakfast was delicious and varied. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.
We will revisit this spot

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bushbaby1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Our stays was lovely, the room was quaint and cozy, yet a bit crowded. Once you hit the bed though, you don't mind the coziness of the room as it was wonderful

The walk through the city was lovely and a relaxing stroll. We highly enjoyed our time there and strongly recommend the Crescent Gutest House. As to the breakfast, well it's the homecooked Engligh breakfast you would expect at such a lovely establishment.

http://www.crescentbath.co.uk/

Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
Thank Beagep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

The Guest House is ideally placed to explore Bath on foot. We were made to feel very welcome and spent a pleasant and relaxed weekend Christmas shopping. The owner was extremely helpful and provided us with a first rate breakfast. I can wholeheartedly recommend this establishment to ohers.

Julie Bradshaw
Shepperton

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandjuliebradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I booked a room using this guest house's website. No where on the website did it suggest that children weren't allowed to stay. However I since been informed by the owner that I am not welcome to stay in the guest house as the rooms are too small and the breakfast facilities not suitable for my two year old daughter.

I haven't seen the rooms but if indeed the beds and rooms are so small that it would be impossible to fit a small child in them perhaps others should think twice about booking this guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatalieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#48 of 155 in Bath
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 155 in Bath
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albany Guest House
Albany Guest House
#68 of 155 in Bath
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#33 of 155 in Bath
245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marisha's Guest House
Marisha's Guest House
#46 of 155 in Bath
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parade Park Town House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Guest House

Address: 21 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £88 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crescent Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated just 10 minutes level walk from the Roman Baths and Abbey. We offer cosy, well appointed rooms, a great breakfast menu and lots of fun. On suite bedrooms. Free on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crescent Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing