We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel right in city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Had a lovely two day stay here. Room was spotless and comfortable and had enough space for the four of us. Breakfast was very good although poached eggs hard (why can so few chefs cook soft poached eggs). Bar area was very well decorated and comfortable. The location is very central and although on busy road very quiet in room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIManagerSN, Manager at Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Lorraine M,
I am pleased that your stay with us at Bath City Centre was a pleasant one.
Thank you for your feedback and I will have a word with the chefs to brush up on his poached eggs, by your next stay they will be perfect.
Kind regards,
Premier Inn Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,577 - 1,583 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

A friend booked this for us and if the staff had not mentioned it, we wouldn't have realised it was brand new. The hotel room was large and very clean with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. One issue I did have during the night, appeared to be a loud whirring noise emanating from the air conditioning unit. It caused me a disturbed night and in the morning, I mentioned it to the staff. They were fantastic about it and refunded the money we paid for the room, with no quibbles. They also pointed to an engineer who was in the corner fixing the problem. The hotel is brand new and this is a teething problem which would be expected in the first week. Other than that, it was a lovely room, great staff and very comfortable room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank MRL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIManagerSN, Manager at Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear MRL007,
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that you experienced a disturbed nights sleep, as a new hotel, we have had a couple of teething problems, but having understanding guests, like yourself, has been greatly appreciated. At Premier Inn we are proud of our Good Night Guarantee and it is there to be utilised in these circumstances.
Thank you for your review and I hope that you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Operations Manager Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as part of a pre-Christmas break.

The hotel itself is situated right on the edge of the main centre (two minute walk to Spa and shops) and is also just a five minute walk from the train station.

The hotel is very new, with big spacious rooms and very friendly staff.

I was also amazed by how quiet it was; no noise from other rooms / corridors; great sleep!

We did not have breakfast or meals there but cannot comment, however the bar area seemed lively enough and popular.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiger_bob85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIManagerSN, Manager at Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear tiger_bob85,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Bath City Centre, I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the new hotel has made such a positive impression.
I do hope that you will join us again soon and perhaps sample our Premier Inn "All you can eat" breakfast or dine with us in the Thyme Restaurant.
Kind regards,
Operations Manager Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Very comfortable bed and nice room, gammon steak and breakfast buffet was excellent! Also very good location in Bath center!

Also the staff were very helpful and friendly, very nice waiters and bar people, I will recommend and stay again in future!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIManagerSN, Manager at Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Pete A,
I am pleased to hear that your recent stay at Bath City Centre was a good one. At Premier Inn we value all feedback and I will pass on your positive comments to my team.
Myself and the team at Bath City Centre Premier Inn look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Operations Manager Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Good location. Disappointed that no one in the hotel seemed to know bath and they sent us completely the wrong way to our restaurant. Some premier inns cook breakfast to order, but this one was a buffet - never as good. Wifi wasn't working and there didn't seem to be much effort to help with this or refund money already spent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIManagerSN, Manager at Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Janet H,
Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at Bath City Centre Premier Inn. I am sorry that on this ocassion my team did not deliver to our usual Premier Inn high standards. I will communicate this to them and strive to ensure that all future stays for guests and hopefully yourself again in the furture will be without error.
Kind regards,
Premier Inn Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here last weekend for a break and to enjoy the Christmas Markets and shops. The location is ideal and in the heart of Bath. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bedroom was clean and comfy. We had breakfast in the morning which was spot on. Would def recommend this hotel for couples and family breaks as well as business and solo. It was also very reasonably priced for a good quality hotel in the centre of a lovely city. Will be back next year for more Christmas shopping!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magic112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIManagerSN, Manager at Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear magic112,
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Several guests joined us for the Christmas markets and found our location to be a bonus. At Premier Inn we strive to make our guests feel brilliant, through a great nights sleep. I will pass on your positive feedback to all departments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Premier Inn Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here on business for one night, arrived late and still was greeted well. The hotel was only opened two days before but it was excellent and the staff very good too. The room I had was at the back if the hotel and was very quiet. Breakfast was the usual from Premier Inn but adequate.

The parking here is difficult being in the centre if Bath. I asked at reception and was directed to the station parking a short walk away, say 6 minutes Max. I was concerned about my car so wanted covered, secure parking and this was perfect, it was free overnight until 9am I think. Great value for a city centre!

Oh and a mention for the famous Premier Inn beds - very comfortable and a great nights sleep.

Thoroughly recommend budget hotel in a lovely city.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Jef123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIManagerSN, Manager at Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Jef123456789,
I am pleased that your recent business stay at Bath City Centre was a good one. Thank you for your compliments regarding the team, I will pass these on to them. I am happy that the Premier Inn beds helped achieve our promise of a good nights sleep.
Kind regards,
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 32 in Bath
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 32 in Bath
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel

Address: 4 James Street West, Bath BA1 2BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £60 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Bath city centre, just half a mile from the train and bus stations. This Georgian City has many historic sites to offer including Bath Abbey and the famous Roman Baths. Shopping areas include Southgate, Westgate and Milsom Street. Our Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. Directions: From the M4, exit J18 and follow the A46 towards Bath city centre. After approx 7 miles take 3rd exit onto the A4 towards Bath city centre. After 1.5 Miles bear left on to Gay St, continue through Queen Sq and then straight on to Charles St, at 2nd set of traffic lights turn left on to James St West, after 200 metres the hotel is on your right. Secure chargeable parking is available within walking distance at Southgate Central (sat nav BA1 1AQ) at approx. 13GBP for 24 hours. Transport and local information: Train Station 0.4 Miles Bus Station 0.4 Miles Victoria Art Gallery 0.8 Miles Theatre Royal Bath 0.5 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing