We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at Premier Inn, Bath.
Everything about our stay was perfect. We went to Bath by train (we'd read the reviews regarding parking) and although we got a taxi it was almost quicker to walk.
We were a little early ariving and although our room wasn't ready we were soon alocated another, I mentioned that I would've prefered a walk in shower and that was dealt with too. Our room was front facing, very large and spotlessly clean, no outside noise at all.
Both dinner and breakfast were very good although breakfast plates could be at least a bit warm.
All in all a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Floor 4 was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenandWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    471
    92
    19
    10
See reviews for
370
605
53
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel opened only in December 16th 2013.This hotel is five mintues walking distance from Roman bath, railway station and bus station. Next to hotel several resturent s and Odean multi cinema theatre is there.Bus stop is on this road.Center of Bath city .Break fast cost you 8.25 pounds with hot freshly cooked food,mere cold break fast cost 5.25 pounds.If it is a road side hotel room you can hear the bus and car movement noise .I stayed for 3 nights ,but room heater not worked on the all the three days.even after informed to the receiption,it was never rectified .The rooms are not connected by phone to the reception .No car parking.inspite of this it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjunasahayan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is new, so fixtures and fittings are all in excellent condition. Our room was spacious and the hotel is in a great location for exploring the town. We were in a front facing room and there was no street noise keeping us awake. The breakfast buffet was generous and reasonably priced. Both the check in manager and waitress in the restaurant were professional, friendly and helpful

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice and it's a real diamond.
The first time was before Christmas with work and this time with the wife for a night away. It's the best Premier Inn I've stayed in but it very new. The location is fantastic, not only city centre but next to a Weatherspoons, nandos, tgi Fridays, Costa, Frankie and Benny's and cinema.
When I stayed with work I used the hotel restaurant for breakfast as it was paid for but it wasn't the best. The best premier inn breakfasts are when they are cooked fresh and not left under heaters but weatherspoon do a good breaky and abut cheaper.
Parking is the usual moan but if you time it right the car park over the road is fine. It's free 8pm - 8am and you can stay 4 hours before and after. We arrived at 6pm so paid for the 4 hours which gave us 6-8pm then 8-10am so no issues.
I will certainly be going back with the wife for another night away and make the most of the city centre rather then just weatherspoons.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigpapafrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

can i start by saying that i have stayed with this chain on well over 100 occasions all over the uk, on both business and pleasure trips and up to now i have had nothing but praise for the company as a whole.until now.
i booked a family room at this new hotel for a weekend away with my wife and six and twelve year old daughters - room with breakfasts for all cost best part of two hundred pounds.
upon arrival,after a ten minute wait ,we were given the keys to our "family room ".
room was very small and contained one double bed and one small chaisse.under our bed was a small pull out bedbase that was rock hard .i presume premier inn expected my seven year old to sleep on the floor on this ?
i do not pay nearly £100 for my kids to sleep on the floor.
i returned to reception where i was told that the room had not been made up - i pointed out that if all these various "beds" were all lined up ,we would have to climb over each other to get into bed and it would be impossible to even walk around the room .i was told that even the staff had trouble making the beds up because of the size of the rooms !
after nearly one hour of waiting and messing about,we were finally given another room with four proper beds.by this time it was dark and too late to even look around the town !!!!!!!!!!
there is no parking whatsoever at this hotel - it was suggested i park in the shopping centre over a quarter of a mile away at a cost of £26 for two days.
we parked the car and went to eat in the town and returned at nine.dont know if theres a problem with the aircon here but there seems to be a large fan somewhere above the room that vibrates all night.second day we ran out of milk and sugar- -we waited over half an hour in reception and after asking in the restaurant for a second time ,i gave up and walked outside in the pouring rain and over to mcolls and purchased a pint of milk and a bag of sugar.i returned to the hotel - where my family were STILL waiting and decided i would show the staff that i had given up and that ,although there were four of them polishing glasses ,there was no need to help us as we had helped ourselves .i commented on the total lack of service and proffesionalism ,only to be told that my comments would be taken constructively.
can i add that.its not clever or very wise for a seventeen year old lad to smirk sarcastically at a custommer who is complaining - young man ,if you worked for me i would have sacked you on the spot.this boys attitude alone prompted me to call the area manager who agreed with me that this was all totally unacceptable and for the FIRST TIME IN ALL THE YEARS OF USING PREMIER INN -I WOULD BE GETTING A FULL REFUND FOR MY ENTIRE STAY !!!!!!!!!!!
I agreed to this and was told the refund would be proccessed within a few days .upon leaving.i walked to get the car and my family packed and i waited to colect them outside the hotel as you cant park .as they left the room ,the people in the rooms opposite ours asked my wife if she had heard the vibration all night - i think i had got used to it the night before but apparently the kids woke several times because of the noise - as we were getting our stay for free we thought it wasnt worth complaining yet again as the staff obviously couldnt do anything about it - they cant even supply milk and sugar for gods sake , i thing heating systems would definately be beyong them !
upon returning home ,i have received and email - confirming ONE NIGHTS REFUND !!!!!!!!.
This was not what i was told by the area manager on the phone ,looks like the hotels duty manager ,who was supposed to be "making herself knowmn to us " had decided that we were only getting one night back.
worst premier in experience ever ,and if this is how the goodnight guarrantee works then mabye i should be looking elsewhere in future !!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bon88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I have just had a great stay at this Premier Inn. Spotlessly clean, lovely decor and plenty of space. Nice bed too. The hotel is very close to the centre and all the attractions but was also so quiet at night. Plenty of lovely restaurants on the doorstep. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Couldn't fault.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jem8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Great hotel, excellent rooms and staff, great breakfast. The only problem is the parking, but to be fair its the centre of Bath. The nearest car park has a max stay of 4 hours, so its a pain re-filling. I would still use the hotel however, awesome value at £65/night and car park aside better than the Hilton.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_LeCock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Address: 4 James Street West, Bath BA1 2BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Bath city centre, just half a mile from the train and bus stations. This Georgian City has many historic sites to offer including Bath Abbey and the famous Roman Baths. Shopping areas include Southgate, Westgate and Milsom Street. Our Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. Directions: From the M4, exit J18 and follow the A46 towards Bath city centre. After approx 7 miles take 3rd exit onto the A4 towards Bath city centre. After 1.5 Miles bear left on to Gay St, continue through Queen Sq and then straight on to Charles St, at 2nd set of traffic lights turn left on to James St West, after 200 metres the hotel is on your right. Secure chargeable parking is available within walking distance at Southgate Central (sat nav BA1 1AQ) at approx. 13GBP for 24 hours. Transport and local information: Train Station 0.4 Miles Bus Station 0.4 Miles Victoria Art Gallery 0.8 Miles Theatre Royal Bath 0.5 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing