We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disorganised and disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Disorganised and disappointing”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year and this is the first time that we have had to invoke Premier Inn's Good Night Guarantee,

First the good stuff. We arrive by bus from Bristol and the bus stop is right outside of the hotel. We were too early to check in but the receptionist took our bags and put them in the baggage room, a brilliant service. The hotel is right in the centre of Bath which is a real plus, unless you have a car. When we returned at tea time check in was very efficient. The family room was a bit small for 4 of us but it was made up for 4 and clean. The camp bed was quite uncomfortable, but that is the same at all Premier Inn's so we have started asking for an extra duvet which we put under the sheet.

Next morning there was no queue for breakfast which was great, but the 'hostess' informed us that there were no beans or yogurts. She didn't tell us that we would have to ask for coffee mugs, plates, bread, eggs and fruit salad. As the restaurant was fairly quiet this was a bit poor.

When we came back late that afternoon housekeeping hadn't cleaned our room and there was water dripping out of the light fitting in the bathroom. We contacted Reception and they said that they couldn't move us because all of the family rooms were occupied. Whilst we were out they cleaned the room and mopped up the water on the bathroom floor. The receptionist told me to see him in the morning and he would refund the cost of one nights stay. He wasn't on next morning but the receptionist arranged the refund.

Breakfast on this second morning was much better than the first day, but the restaurant was nearly empty.

Based on the other reviews I think we were unlucky. This is a new hotel in a great location let down by its staff on this occasion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 98ajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    520
    100
    20
    12
See reviews for
398
664
59
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I booked the hotel a few weeks in advance and paid less than it would have cost me to get a taxi home. Forget the overpriced Bath B&B's, the Premier Inn had welcoming staff, a very comfortable spacious room and we had a lovely peaceful nights sleep right in the centre of Bath.
The breakfast was good value for money too. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golder247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel only opened in December, so it smelt very new, and had lots of new innovations. There is a drop off zone around the corner of the hotel, but you do need to relocate to a paid packing area. There was one across the road that was quite expensive but convenient. The rooms are delightful, however we did experience one hiccup. The air conditioning was not functioning in our room. Not to worry, the doona kept us warm. I think the restaurant was still sorting out it's own cobwebs. The menu was extensive, but waiting times were a little longer and the standard could have been a little better, but as I said they have only just opened so these things might be expected.

The hotel is in the centre of Bath, so it is a great base for exploring, but bear in mind the daily parking fees may tot up if you spend a few days there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ty_of_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We arrived at Bath and found that the hotel was so central for the shops, theatre and supermarket. I would recommend this hotel. There is a restaurant on site and a cinema a few doors away. The room is comfortable and large.



  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisbjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night recently, the bar area was nice. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked very nice and the menu was wide ranging and very reasonably priced.

The hotel is very central with a car park directly across from it which is handy.

The room was a standard Premier Inn lay out, the only down side was the heating, the room was chilly and the single bed (family room) was in the window which was in a draught. That said I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StacksnTressels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed last weekend at the Premier Inn in Bath. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. If only one small complaint,would be about the breakfast stock was a bit low on the Sunday morning. Other than that a great stay. The hotel is in an excellent location and very quiet. Will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64Newyork13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Got an excellent room rate when I booked on line. Amazed how quiet this Premier Inn is considering it's location next door to a Wetherspoons pub and other eateries. The room was the usual PI high standard, clean, comfortable and warm. Shame you can not open the windows. No view from the room, except for the other side of the hotel. We parked at Southgate car park which is £13 per 24 hours and about a 10 mins walk away.

The staff seemed new, inexperienced and not as helpful as the usual PI staff I have come across. The coffee/tea in the room was not replenished daily, which was rather annoying.

We only ate breakfast at the PI once, continental cost £5.25. We preferred to go to the Boston Tea Party for a delicious cooked breakfast, only1 min walk away. Others in our party went next door to the Wetherspoons for a cooked breakfast, which they said was also very good and hot.

Bath is a lovely city to explore and this PI is so central for exploring the historic sights, shops, good pubs and eateries, plus a cinema complex next door to Wetherspoons. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, hopefully the staff will improve with time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Address: 4 James Street West, Bath BA1 2BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Bath city centre, just half a mile from the train and bus stations. This Georgian City has many historic sites to offer including Bath Abbey and the famous Roman Baths. Shopping areas include Southgate, Westgate and Milsom Street. Our Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. Directions: From the M4, exit J18 and follow the A46 towards Bath city centre. After approx 7 miles take 3rd exit onto the A4 towards Bath city centre. After 1.5 Miles bear left on to Gay St, continue through Queen Sq and then straight on to Charles St, at 2nd set of traffic lights turn left on to James St West, after 200 metres the hotel is on your right. Secure chargeable parking is available within walking distance at Southgate Central (sat nav BA1 1AQ) at approx. 13GBP for 24 hours. Transport and local information: Train Station 0.4 Miles Bus Station 0.4 Miles Victoria Art Gallery 0.8 Miles Theatre Royal Bath 0.5 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing