We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier inn Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Nice Hotel in a good spot. Weather spoons and cinema next door.The hotel receptionist was very welcoming and gave us a map to get our bearings. The room was nice (but I think I prefer the lighter deco found in most other Premier inns-but it was still great!) Beds comfy and a great 1 night stay, went out for a curry at the Eastern Eye where we have eaten on many occasions and came back for a drink in the bar. We waited a few minutes to be served as the bar man was serving another couple( the only other people in there ) so I left my partner at the bar to visit the bathroom I came back 5 minutes later only to find my partner still waiting to be served and he had had no acknowledgement from the bar man what so ever. Not even a smile or I will be with you shortly! We left and went to the Weather spoons next door where we were made to feel very welcome by there very busy staff who had served us within 2 minutes of our entry.

Room Tip: All nice rooms and a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keri120461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,521 - 1,527 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Excellent location, brand new hotel, good beds, quiet rooms. only downside was that the room had not been properly cleaned before our use (vacuuming). I mentioned this the next morning and got a full refund, which I thought was more than generous. I'd come back to this hotel next time.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GalGalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Lovely new Hotel & quite close to all the sites in Bath, plus a cinema complex next door. The Hotel also has some nice pubs nearby & the staff were friendly. Would recommend this hotel to anyone & shall return for another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffBluebird77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Having never been to a Premier Inn before, I was looking forward to trying it out. I took my partner here for a couple of nights as a belated birthday weekend. We don't tend to spend much time in our hotel so just needed a clean base to stay. This hotel, being new looks spotlessly clean and I was very pleased with our room. Plenty of pillows and towels, and liked the shower gel and hand wash, something you don't tend to get in other budget hotels such as Travelodge. I also loved the shower and bath combo in our room. I don't have a bath at home so it was a nice change to enjoy one. I wasn't very impressed at the toilet tissue, it was individual pieces in a dispenser similar to that in a public toilet. In a roll would have been much better. The room had plenty of storage space, good lighting and plenty of electrical sockets. Despite the hotel being right in the centre and next to a Weatherspoons pub, a Nando's and a cinema, we didn't hear a thing all night, but that may have been due to being at the back end of the hotel. It was so convenient to the train station and centre of town for all the tourist attractions, we would definitely use this hotel if we return to Bath. I was slightly disappointed with breakfast on the first morning. The friendly staff were run ragged and overstretched which meant there was often a wait for cutlery and utensils and for food to be replenished. The next morning we went to the Riverside Cafe which did a lovely breakfast. On the last day we wanted to carry on exploring and the staff were kind enough to let us leave luggage in the storage cupboard for free. For this reason only it would be worth going again. Staff were lovely throughout our stay. Not the cheapest "budget" hotel but it's worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We arranged to meet friends and stay here for two nights, having enjoyed the Premier Inn on the South Bank last year. We were very happy with the Bath Premier Inn; it was brand new, the rooms were good, the bathroom stylish, the shower excellent. The staff were very welcoming, professional and efficient, the breakfast was lovely with very good bacon and sausages, the vegetarian amongst us was very happy with the breakfast and particularly enjoyed the lovely fruit compote. The dining room and bar are beautifully decorated and very comfortable and the location is ideal. And exceptional value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

stayed at the premier inn bath from friday 31/01/14 to sunday 02/02/14 and was very impressed. my wife and I found the hotel very clean and the staff extremely helpful. the hotel is right in the centre of bath which makes it very easy to get about, you can forget about any transport just a short walk and your in the main shopping area. right next door to the hotel is the odeon cinema and within the complex are restaurants and a wetherspoons pub. we stayed in room 215 which we found very quiet and the double bed was very comfortable. we booked well in advance and beleive we got an excellent rate. when we went to book in we used the automated check in terminals at recepetion which we found very easy to operate/use however, there was a receptionist on hand if you needed him/her. breakfast was included in our rate and although we did have to wait on one ocassion for more fresh cooked bacon and sausages the breakfast was more than adequate. the restaurant was clean with plenty of tables for the guests. there is 24hr car parking about 5minutes walk from the hotel cost us £25.50 to park our car for the duration of our stay. please be aware there is also a car park directly opposite the premier inn however is only short stay. we would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 215 which we found very quiet although we would think most rooms are of the same e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottgregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year and this is the first time that we have had to invoke Premier Inn's Good Night Guarantee,

First the good stuff. We arrive by bus from Bristol and the bus stop is right outside of the hotel. We were too early to check in but the receptionist took our bags and put them in the baggage room, a brilliant service. The hotel is right in the centre of Bath which is a real plus, unless you have a car. When we returned at tea time check in was very efficient. The family room was a bit small for 4 of us but it was made up for 4 and clean. The camp bed was quite uncomfortable, but that is the same at all Premier Inn's so we have started asking for an extra duvet which we put under the sheet.

Next morning there was no queue for breakfast which was great, but the 'hostess' informed us that there were no beans or yogurts. She didn't tell us that we would have to ask for coffee mugs, plates, bread, eggs and fruit salad. As the restaurant was fairly quiet this was a bit poor.

When we came back late that afternoon housekeeping hadn't cleaned our room and there was water dripping out of the light fitting in the bathroom. We contacted Reception and they said that they couldn't move us because all of the family rooms were occupied. Whilst we were out they cleaned the room and mopped up the water on the bathroom floor. The receptionist told me to see him in the morning and he would refund the cost of one nights stay. He wasn't on next morning but the receptionist arranged the refund.

Breakfast on this second morning was much better than the first day, but the restaurant was nearly empty.

Based on the other reviews I think we were unlucky. This is a new hotel in a great location let down by its staff on this occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 98ajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel

Address: 4 James Street West, Bath BA1 2BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £60 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Bath city centre, just half a mile from the train and bus stations. This Georgian City has many historic sites to offer including Bath Abbey and the famous Roman Baths. Shopping areas include Southgate, Westgate and Milsom Street. Our Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. Directions: From the M4, exit J18 and follow the A46 towards Bath city centre. After approx 7 miles take 3rd exit onto the A4 towards Bath city centre. After 1.5 Miles bear left on to Gay St, continue through Queen Sq and then straight on to Charles St, at 2nd set of traffic lights turn left on to James St West, after 200 metres the hotel is on your right. Secure chargeable parking is available within walking distance at Southgate Central (sat nav BA1 1AQ) at approx. 13GBP for 24 hours. Transport and local information: Train Station 0.4 Miles Bus Station 0.4 Miles Victoria Art Gallery 0.8 Miles Theatre Royal Bath 0.5 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing