We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just finished our stay in Bath, one of my favorite places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hotel has an excellent location and our room was clean and modern. I would recommend it but please be aware, there are no phones in the room. This is fine for people with a cell phone but for the international traveller, especially ones like me who may need to make a few work conference calls while I am here, this was an issue. You also can't call down to the front desk, so be prepared to walk down. The front desk was not manned during late night hours. Room accommodations are adequate but very basic. Please also be aware that if you come to Bath on a holiday weekend (some kind of bank holiday here) a lot of the shops open late, and close early. Not so convenient for tourists. Even so I would still consider staying here again as it is a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lmotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Having struggled to find a hotel in Bath that would accept a one night booking on a Saturday and didn't cost a fortune, we opted to go for the Premier Inn and I'm glad we did. It is centrally located, only a short walk from the train and bus stations and all the Bath tourist attractions. We had arrived by train so we were very glad that we could leave our bags there before check-in and after checkout. The room was spacious, quiet and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. Everything we needed and great value or money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IZ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had a disappointing honeymoon and were hoping to make up for it with a trip to Bath instead... and it was everything we hoped for. The hotel is in an ideal location; a 5 min walk (maybe less) from the centre of bath, inc Thermae Spa, Roman Baths and shops. There is a cinema next door (which we never heard a peep from) and there are a good selection of chain restaurants (e.g. Nandos and Frankie and Benny's) if you don't fancy eating in the hotel restaurant. We were greeted by a really friendly member of staff. The room was really clean and in a quiet part of the hotel (225). The bed was comfy and there was very little to fault. The only thing that lets the hotel down is having to park a 10 min walk away and the cost (the Southgate car park cost us £29 for 3 days) and the fact that Wi-Fi is only free for half an hour a day... but this is only a very small thing, considering we had a better stay here than on our honeymoon in Barbados!!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel have a quieter feel as they are away from the main road and cine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BekLouC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We chose to stay here for the very central location .a few minutes walk to the Thermo baths and shops etc.
The self check in was very easy plus staff on hand if help needed.
The rooms was very clean and great size.
The bed mattress was the most comfortable I've ever slept on.
Breakfast was plenty full,with good rich selection.
Really enjoyed the stay and would stay again.
Secure Parking is at Southgate, or rail station is five minutes walk from hotel.

Room Tip: We had an internal view , Friends had more of a city view ,so maybe worth asking for view room at bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We wanted to stay in Bath for a night as part of journey down to Cornwall. I selected the Premier Inn as it was central to the shops and we'd stayed in some before which the kids enjoyed. Just a little note to consider, we parked in the recommended Southgate car park which is very secure but it is a bit of a walk from the Hotel so take this into consideration when packing an overnight bag. The hotel is very new and modern. The rooms were spacious and clean. We were checked in very quickly and politely by the receptionist and all was well. I'd booked a table in the restaurant at 7 pm but unfortunately, it went down hill from the moment we sat down at the table. The Premier Inn had no staff and we waited over an hour for our food to arrive by which time it was cold and congealed. Obviously, I did complain and my complaint was dealt with very efficiently and exceptionally well. Even though we do like the Premier Inn restaurants, if you're staying in Bath, check whether they have enough staff on to take your order otherwise, pop into Bath and eat in one of the many restaurants that the city has to offer. That said, we had the Premier Inn breakfast which was lovely. All in all, a lovely night away taking in the sights and shops of Bath.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TicTack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Booked the Premier Inn for a 4day city break to Bath. I have stayed in many premier inns before, and this one was by far the best! It is located in the centre of town but just far enough that you don't get any noise. The Thermae Spa is a 2minute walk and a great selection of tea shops and coffee shops right outside. It is a 5 minute walk to the Roman Baths and Abbey. The staff were so helpful and welcoming. The rooms were beautiful and everything new and fresh. The beds were unbelievably comfortable (better than some 4-5*hotels I've stayed in). Although the hotel is next to a Wetherspoons, we didn't hear any noise during the evenings. The rooms are sound proof and we definitely got a great night sleep.
We ordered breakfast- which was a buffet of cereals, full English, yoghurt, fruits, croissants, crumpets and muffins. There was a large selection of teas, juices and coffees.

The only small downside was that there is no parking at the hotel. You have to park at Southgate car park with is a 5-10minute walk through town and is £13.50 a day. We left the car there for the 4 days as everything you need in Bath is within walking distance.

I visit Bath quite regularly and I will definitely be staying here again! It is a brilliant hotel

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank N4t4lie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Great 2 night break only a few minutes walk into the main high street and ten minutes from train station. There is a wetherspoons next door and an Odeon cinema next to that, perfect after a day at the Thermae Spa. When visiting Bath again, will definitely book this premier inn again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank westie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,313 reviews
7 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel

Address: 4 James Street West, Bath BA1 2BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £61 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Bath city centre, just half a mile from the train and bus stations. This Georgian City has many historic sites to offer including Bath Abbey and the famous Roman Baths. Shopping areas include Southgate, Westgate and Milsom Street. Our Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. Directions: From the M4, exit J18 and follow the A46 towards Bath city centre. After approx 7 miles take 3rd exit onto the A4 towards Bath city centre. After 1.5 Miles bear left on to Gay St, continue through Queen Sq and then straight on to Charles St, at 2nd set of traffic lights turn left on to James St West, after 200 metres the hotel is on your right. Secure chargeable parking is available within walking distance at Southgate Central (sat nav BA1 1AQ) at approx. 13GBP for 24 hours. Transport and local information: Train Station 0.4 Miles Bus Station 0.4 Miles Victoria Art Gallery 0.8 Miles Theatre Royal Bath 0.5 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing