We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable”
Review of Bay Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Tree House
Ranked #46 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My 79 year old mother and I enjoyed our small but very comfortable room containing two twin beds with impeccably clean white linen, down duvets, and down pillows on great mattresses. We did have to climb many stairs to get there, but after all the clotted cream we consumed in Bath that was a good thing! We shared a lovely modern and clean bathroom with one other room, which was conveniently located just across a small landing. The breakfasts were amazing with lots of fruit along with lots of choice of breakfast food items offered. The location is excellent being a short ten minute walk to the town centre and very close to the Crescent and the beautiful Victoria park with its lovely botanical gardens.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FabulousFiftyPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    55
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
127
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

There's a reason that this B&B has won numerous awards, and as soon as you stay here you can tell why. A friend and I stayed here for the May long weekend, a choice based both on price as well as the array of positive reviews surrounding the accommodation. Although we arrived quite late on a Friday night Colin was there as soon as we rang the doorbell and he guided us to our twin room in a warm and charming attitude while giving us a brief lowdown on the property and Bath as well as answering any questions. After a long day of work and travel it was refreshing not to be bogged down with payments, a billion questions or a tired host. He asked us how our train trip was as well as confirming our requested needs so he obviously had taken the time to know about us. I will also make note that Colin is the man to see if you have any questions about attractions to see - we actually changed some of our plans based on his suggestions and were pretty happy with the result.

Our room was neat and clean (which I assume is a feature across all rooms), and the bedding felt soft and luxurious. There's plenty of room to hang garments (with none of those annoying coathangers permanently attached to the metal bar) and place bags. Although we didn't watch the TV, we did enjoy the iPod dock which allowed us to play some tunes. Nice touches in the room include a hair dryer, international power adapter, moisturiser, kettle, free tea, coffee, chocolate bars, and more. The bathroom was also kept meticulously clean, even though we shared with a double room, and had all the extras that you would expect of an expensive hotel. In summation, the entire house has been beautifully renovated and I would say recently too!

Breakfast, as the other reviews have mentioned, rates very high. English fry-up (with eggs cooked to your liking), vegetarian breakfast (also amazing as I tried it all), cereals, granola, muesli, yoghurt, juices, fresh fruit, dried fruit, porridge, toast, spreads, tea, coffee - there's nothing not spared and it's all freshly prepared and cooked. The dining room was also quaint and we got a chance to meet our fellow guests (we're in our 20s and the loveliest was a lady in perhaps her 80s who greeted us beautifully each morning we saw her, so it was nice to be around a range of people).

The walk into town is under 10 mins and it's beautiful! If you're super keen on a taxi from the train station I can't imagine it being any more than 5 mins or less.

If the owners wish for any suggestions on improving the 'experience' (not the service or rooms as both were great) it would be to perhaps provide an A4 page of 'What's on this week in Bath' and place it in the foyer. As non-residents of Bath I think this 'insider knowledge' would greatly help as well as serve to enhance the reputation of an already great B&B.

All in all, a great B&B in Bath. I have already recommended it to friends and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Colin was so welcoming and charming, with good hints on what to do and what to see. The studio we stayed in was a lovely home for a few days. The bed was fantastic! Immaculately clean, it was also great to have fresh bread, jams, coffee, milk all provided. After the maddness of London, we could finally relax. We should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The studio is a fantastic little hide-away - comfy and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenoa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here in late February as a present for my other half and it was a nice B&B. The room was small but pleasent and perfectly adequate for our needs. The breakfast was great with a superb selection of cereals, fruits, yogurts and of course the traditional fry up. It's a nice walk into the city, especially if you go up to the royal circle. Overall a very good B&B with a lovely host.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Hartshorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My girlfriend and I were given a two night stay at the Bay Tree House B&B for a Christmas Present so we cannot comment on value for money.

On arrival, we were greeted by the extremely efficient and friendly Colin, who was the perfect guy who you would want to check you in and tell you a little bit about the area as it was our first time in Bath. The map he gave us was priceless!

The room - generously sized with a lush bed with clean sheets (my girlfriend is particularly fussy about this!). Also plenty of drawer space and a wardrobe, with a TV and iPod docking station. The showeroom was good too with an extremely powerful and absolutely massive shower cubicle. Couldn't have asked for anymore with the room, all the little things like a box of tissues and coffee and tea facilities really topped it off. Only slight negative is the view of a car park but no noise issues at all and the black out blinds allowed for a great night sleep. Plus, we wern't in the room enough to really care!

The breakfast - on each morning we had a different cook! This showed that the breakfast was cooked in the personal style of each member of staff. We felt Colin cooked the better breakfast; he asked us how we would like our eggs and gave us a hash brown each; bonus! All the extras were just as expected, fresh tea and coffee, good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, juices and marmite/peanut butter/ketchup, etc.

Nothing we could really fault! The owners even let us leave our bags on the morning of check out else we would have had to carry them round all day (our train was at 4pm) which really helped.

I really recommend this B&B, only a 10 minute walk to the city centre, and no need for taxis.

The best points; room and breakfast.

If we could afford Bath prices, we would definately go back!!

Room Tip: I think the en-suite room is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swhitehead92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

The well-equipped family room has a clean and well-renovated toilet. We were amazed that there are two basins in the toilet. Lotions, cotton wools and cotton buds are so thoughtfully placed in the toilet. It is located near the No.1 attraction- Royal Crescent and also near Victoria park. Our morning started off with the delicious morning breakfast perpared by Chef Colin, who also gives good advice on the best attractions in Bath. He is indeed another great attraction of Bath. Furthermore he has great fashion sense.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank toatao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We went to bath for a 3day stay for our honeymoon. I chose the bay tree b and b from the Internet, and upon arrival defiantly felt we had hit the jackpot.
The rooms are well decorate and spotless. The shower is amazing I had 2 a day! Breakfast has lots of choice was well cooked and very tasty, the fresh sliced fruit was a added bonus. Louise was on holiday for our stay but the locum host was fantastic. Very welcoming and chatty and offered us tips on how to see bath the best .
We had a takeaway in our room one night and the b and b has cutlery and plates out of you to use which I think is a nice touch.
I would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyloo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 157 in Bath
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crescent Guest House
Crescent Guest House
#101 of 157 in Bath
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#58 of 157 in Bath
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 157 in Bath
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 157 in Bath
1,075 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House

Property: Bay Tree House
Address: 12 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bay Tree House we aim to provide our guests with a comfortable and relaxing stay. Being on the doorstep of this beautiful City we are just 5 minutes walk from the Thermae Bath Spa, The Roman Baths, The Royal Crescent and The Circus, as well as the vast selection of shops! With an excellent choice of restaurants nearby, we are happy to help with recommendations and reservations. The train and bus stations are within 15 minutes walk or a short taxi ride. If you are arriving by car, we have two private parking spaces at the rear of the house, and can also offer free on-street parking for the duration of your stay. Our rooms are stylish and homely along with a friendly and professional service, with all the personal touches of a small family run business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing