We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place, Great People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Henry Guest House
Ranked #20 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2007

On a recent trip to Bath, my wife and I stayed at The Henry....twice, with some sightseeing in the countryside in between. Our first nights were in Liz and Steve's new "Below Stairs" apartment around the corner where we had full use of our own kitchen, sitting room, bedroom and bath. A perfect way to quietly decompress after a long flight from Los Angeles. With two good-sized bedrooms, the apartment makes an excellent choice for families or larger groups.

Our second stay was in the main building where we shared a bath. Both the room in The Henry and the apartment were neat and clean, with all the amenities, TV included, which led us, to our surprise, into following the World Cup rugby matches to the point we're actually watching them back in the States. Go Northern Hemisphere! (England and South Africa in the finals tomorrow).

We found out about The Henry through Rick Steves' books and chose it largely because of its location: a short walk from the train and bus stations, a couple of blocks from the River Avon and the heart of Bath, and virtually next door to the indispensable Marks & Spencer. But when we return, it will be because of Liz & Steve. If attention to your needs, friendliness and a "wicked" sense of humor count with you, then you could not find better hosts. Let me give you one example out of many.

When we first arrived, we were having difficulty with one of our ATM cards. Aside from the stress, it meant making several long calls to Los Angeles. And even though there is a classic English phone booth right in front of The Henry, Liz wouldn't hear of us using it. Without hesitation, she pressed her personal phone on us. And while we waited to get things straightened out, she and Steve poured us glasses of wine to "settle our nerves." Now, do you think you'd get that treatment at The Four Seasons? And an excellent breakfast into the bargain?

All in all, a wonderful place with great people. Keep it in mind if you're heading to Bath

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMcCormacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2007

I can't believe there is only one negative review of this B and B on Trip Advisor. We booked two nights for a family of four based on the recommendations here and on the location. While the location is terrific, the Henry certainly is not. Our 'family room' was a double bedroom into which a third was placed and then a fold up bed. There was no room to unpack given the only drawers were the bedside table and one small wardrobe - for four people. There was no-where to put the suitcases except on the beds, which was problematic when it came time to sleep. It was not a family room for four people at all and would have been adequate for a couple only. What really irked me however was the finish. Poor maintenance or shoddy workmanship in the first place meant that the door handle was falling off, the towel rail was half out of the wall, when I went to replace the toilet roll, the holder came out of the wall and the new floor covering in the toilet already had a hole in it as clearly it was laid over an uneven floor. I could go on, but you get the picture. Having been to quite a few B and Bs over the last few weeks that were comparable in terms of size, location and price, the Henry was clearly the worst. The breakfast was fine, but nothing to write home about and certainly other B and Bs we have stayed at have been much better. The owners are very nice, but that doesn't compensate for the poor furnishings and maintenance.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ljdMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakunamatata59, Owner at The Henry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2007

We are truly sorry you were so uncomfortable during your visit and only wish you had voiced your comments while here.

We have just received confirmation of our planning permission to put en-suites in all the bedrooms and will be closing for January and half of February in order to complete the work and do hope when you next visit Bath you will give us an opportunity to make up for your last visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

My stay at the Henry was wonderful! They were very helpful when booking and on arrival provided us with great information on what to do. They are right around the corner from the City Centre, The Roman Baths and the Therma Spa and the train station. We literally walked off the train and said, ok how far away are we, wait we are there! The rooms were clean and the breakfast was yummy!
Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoTravel0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

Having arrived by train we were SO pleased that The Henry was only a 2 minute walk from the station. We were greated by Liz and Steve who were fantastic and told us exactly what we should go and see in the 2 short days we had in Bath. Without this knowledge I doubt our stay would have been so magical. The guesthouse is lovely, it has a really family/friendly atmosphere and the rooms are bright, clean, functional and quiet. Breakfast was delicious - couldn't recommend it more highly. Great value for money too! The position couldn't be more convenient.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank drewerdrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

We had a great weekend in Bath. The sun even came out for a while which always helps. The city was stunning and our time there was enhanced by really helpful tourist advise from Steve and Liz at the guesthouse.

It was a great little find and, even though we booked very last minute, we had a great room in this lovely little place that could not be in a better location. Great value for money in comparison to some of the other places we saw in the city and only a short stumble home from everything the city has to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QPRPaul51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

I am happy to recommend this hotel, it is very well located in a walking distance from nice locations in Bath. But above all the great service of the owners

Mara Mai,
Mexico

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azul11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

Steve and Liz go "above and beyond" to ensure guests have an enjoyable stay in Bath. Breakfasts were prepared as requested, rooms are clean and quaint , and location is excellent with close proximity to various sites and shopping. Thank you to Steve for mailing the items I left behind!

Stayed: July 2007
Thank CaroleSaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Guest House

Address: 6 Henry Street, Bath BA1 1JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £80 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Henry Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bath's city centre, during your visit our home is your home. The Henry is ideally situated, close to the superb shopping centre and tourist sites of this beautiful city. We are just a 2 minute walk from the railway and bus stations and a brief stroll to the Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Abbey, The Henry is the perfect base from which to explore this truly beautiful, magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Henry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing