We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Henry Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Henry Guest House
Ranked #28 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

I have been to Bath many times and have stayed at various B&Bs the Henry was a great find in terms of location, price and the people are very lovely and helpful. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and the rooms were very tidy and clean. I was nervous about going here after reading one of the negative reviews below as I am rather fussy myself but if you are paying £65-£75 in Bath in this location, you are not being realistic if you expect the Ritz. This was more than value for money, the only slight advantage some of the other places I have stayed has is that they offered car parking but you can't have everything! Besides, next time I go to Bath I shall be taking the train which is near to the Henry and therefore I shall be back.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing, cept shower may need replacing soonish
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatechaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    195
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
143
244
97
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, Usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

On a recent trip to Bath, my wife and I stayed at The Henry....twice, with some sightseeing in the countryside in between. Our first nights were in Liz and Steve's new "Below Stairs" apartment around the corner where we had full use of our own kitchen, sitting room, bedroom and bath. A perfect way to quietly decompress after a long flight from Los Angeles. With two good-sized bedrooms, the apartment makes an excellent choice for families or larger groups.

Our second stay was in the main building where we shared a bath. Both the room in The Henry and the apartment were neat and clean, with all the amenities, TV included, which led us, to our surprise, into following the World Cup rugby matches to the point we're actually watching them back in the States. Go Northern Hemisphere! (England and South Africa in the finals tomorrow).

We found out about The Henry through Rick Steves' books and chose it largely because of its location: a short walk from the train and bus stations, a couple of blocks from the River Avon and the heart of Bath, and virtually next door to the indispensable Marks & Spencer. But when we return, it will be because of Liz & Steve. If attention to your needs, friendliness and a "wicked" sense of humor count with you, then you could not find better hosts. Let me give you one example out of many.

When we first arrived, we were having difficulty with one of our ATM cards. Aside from the stress, it meant making several long calls to Los Angeles. And even though there is a classic English phone booth right in front of The Henry, Liz wouldn't hear of us using it. Without hesitation, she pressed her personal phone on us. And while we waited to get things straightened out, she and Steve poured us glasses of wine to "settle our nerves." Now, do you think you'd get that treatment at The Four Seasons? And an excellent breakfast into the bargain?

All in all, a wonderful place with great people. Keep it in mind if you're heading to Bath

  • Liked — The location and the owners
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMcCormacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

I can't believe there is only one negative review of this B and B on Trip Advisor. We booked two nights for a family of four based on the recommendations here and on the location. While the location is terrific, the Henry certainly is not. Our 'family room' was a double bedroom into which a third was placed and then a fold up bed. There was no room to unpack given the only drawers were the bedside table and one small wardrobe - for four people. There was no-where to put the suitcases except on the beds, which was problematic when it came time to sleep. It was not a family room for four people at all and would have been adequate for a couple only. What really irked me however was the finish. Poor maintenance or shoddy workmanship in the first place meant that the door handle was falling off, the towel rail was half out of the wall, when I went to replace the toilet roll, the holder came out of the wall and the new floor covering in the toilet already had a hole in it as clearly it was laid over an uneven floor. I could go on, but you get the picture. Having been to quite a few B and Bs over the last few weeks that were comparable in terms of size, location and price, the Henry was clearly the worst. The breakfast was fine, but nothing to write home about and certainly other B and Bs we have stayed at have been much better. The owners are very nice, but that doesn't compensate for the poor furnishings and maintenance.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ljdMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakunamatata59, Owner at The Henry Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2007
We are truly sorry you were so uncomfortable during your visit and only wish you had voiced your comments while here.

We have just received confirmation of our planning permission to put en-suites in all the bedrooms and will be closing for January and half of February in order to complete the work and do hope when you next visit Bath you will give us an opportunity to make up for your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoTravel0033
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2007

My stay at the Henry was wonderful! They were very helpful when booking and on arrival provided us with great information on what to do. They are right around the corner from the City Centre, The Roman Baths and the Therma Spa and the train station. We literally walked off the train and said, ok how far away are we, wait we are there! The rooms were clean and the breakfast was yummy!
Would recommend to anyone!

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the location was amazing
  • Disliked — Sharing a bathroom, but it wasn't a problem
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoTravel0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2007

Having arrived by train we were SO pleased that The Henry was only a 2 minute walk from the station. We were greated by Liz and Steve who were fantastic and told us exactly what we should go and see in the 2 short days we had in Bath. Without this knowledge I doubt our stay would have been so magical. The guesthouse is lovely, it has a really family/friendly atmosphere and the rooms are bright, clean, functional and quiet. Breakfast was delicious - couldn't recommend it more highly. Great value for money too! The position couldn't be more convenient.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank drewerdrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2007

We had a great weekend in Bath. The sun even came out for a while which always helps. The city was stunning and our time there was enhanced by really helpful tourist advise from Steve and Liz at the guesthouse.

It was a great little find and, even though we booked very last minute, we had a great room in this lovely little place that could not be in a better location. Great value for money in comparison to some of the other places we saw in the city and only a short stumble home from everything the city has to offer.

  • Liked — Staff, Loaction, Value
  • Disliked — Nothing stood out
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QPRPaul51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2007

I am happy to recommend this hotel, it is very well located in a walking distance from nice locations in Bath. But above all the great service of the owners

Mara Mai,
Mexico

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azul11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parade Park Town House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Guest House

Property: The Henry Guest House
Address: 6 Henry Street, Bath BA1 1JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bath's city centre, during your visit our home is your home. The Henry is ideally situated, close to the superb shopping centre and tourist sites of this beautiful city. We are just a 2 minute walk from the railway and bus stations and a brief stroll to the Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Abbey, The Henry is the perfect base from which to explore this truly beautiful, magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Henry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing