We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Henry Guest House
Ranked #28 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house, perfect location”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I went for a weekend stay at The Henry. It is well located for both the railway station and the city and all the attractions. The room was very nice, lovely and clean with nice en suite facilities. The full english breakfast was lovely, it really set me up for the day.

The guest house has a lovely ambience, well decorated and maintained. Our hosts made us very welcome.

Room Tip: There is quite a bit of noise when the night clubs tip out so if you are a light sleeper, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    198
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
144
247
97
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014


The henry is a lovely guest house. Excellent city centre location. The staff were very friendly, always happy to help and made me feel very welcome. The rooms were spotless, very clean and tidy and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. Had a lovely girly weekend.Overall a lovely guest house I highly recommend it and I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l0uiseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I went with 2 friends for a girly weekend, The Henry was a lovely and perfect place to stay. It is located perfectly within a 5 minute walk to all your amenities, and Bath Spa. The rooms have everything you need including all you need to make a late night cup of tea and a little chocolate on your pillow which comes in very handy. I would definitely stay at The Henry if and when I go back to Bath.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMB1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just returned from my second stay at The Henry. As before, the room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated, with everything we needed. I particularly like the location - within a very easy walk of the railway station (even when carrying a lot of luggage!) and plenty of shops and restaurants close by.

Our host was friendly and welcoming, with some good tips. My sister and I enjoyed the hour-long circular walk through town and back along the canal, which we probably wouldn't have found ourselves.

I'm sure I will return to The Henry in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoiraH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just got back from Bath for a hen weekend. The rooms at the Henry are very clean and nicely decorated and the bathrooms were very clean. The carpets are pretty marked.

The location is perfect for shopping and eating.

We had the house on an exclusive basis along with the 'below stairs' accomodation. If you are allowed to rent the house on this basis it should all be at the same standard as the rooms. The ktichen was not up to standard, it was not very clean (maybe I have to high standards), the sink and scrubbing brush needed a good bleaching and the floor was dirty as was the fridge.

The 'below stairs' is also not up to 5* standard, the sofa bed in it looks like something from a student house.


If you are coming to stay at a weekend and stay at the front of the house, the street out the front is pretty noisy with people coming home from clubs.
Beware when booking for large groups as to what your actually getting in terms of space etc. I wouldnt say it was suitable for large groups who want to spend quality time together.

The manager although i'm sure was trying to be friendly came across as rude and was unwilling to understand or discuss any concerns that I had.

Won't be going back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This being my return trip at The Henry I found myself in one of the top most suites and yet again I'm completely satisfied with my stay, the welcome was happy and sincere, my room immaculate.

Having arrived after a day of travel I was happy to spend a few moments relaxing in my room before heading into the Bath town centre for an evening meal, the location of The Henry is superb, being in easy walking distance of the train station and practically on top of the town.

I returned to a comfortable and warm bed, my only notable annoyance was that the 'tea & coffee' facilities only offered 'whole' milk which personally I find horrid, this was the only setback fro me, and certainly not one that spoiled my trip!

In the morning I was happy to awaken to the smells of breakfast being prepared and eagerly joined my fellow guests in the dining room, eating enough breakfast to leave me feeling utterly content.

Some morning banter with the other guests and the proprietors quite uplifting and a great way to start my day.

I most certainly recommend The Henry and will most certainly re-book should I return to Bath.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I booked 'The Henry' along with'Below Stairs' for my hen party to Bath. I wanted somewhere that was central as many of the activities we booked for the weekend were in the city centre and this hotel was in the perfect location! A reasonably priced car park was located next door, the train station was a few 100yards away and the shops, bath spa, cathedral etc. were all within easy walking distance. The hotel itself was spotless and décor to die for. Colin was an amazing host and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was beautiful, lots of choice and very tasty.
I would definitely be staying here on future visits to Bath and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
0.3 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parade Park Town House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Guest House

Property: The Henry Guest House
Address: 6 Henry Street, Bath BA1 1JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bath's city centre, during your visit our home is your home. The Henry is ideally situated, close to the superb shopping centre and tourist sites of this beautiful city. We are just a 2 minute walk from the railway and bus stations and a brief stroll to the Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Abbey, The Henry is the perfect base from which to explore this truly beautiful, magical city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Henry Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing