We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tiny and dim room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Henry Guest House
Ranked #27 of 158 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great location, tiny and dim room”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Henry has a lot of pluses and a couple of minuses. The minuses keep me from giving it a higher rating, but they might not be the things that concern you, so weigh the detail against your own needs.

The pluses:

-- Location could not be better. It is a short stroll from the train station, an easy walk even with a roll-aboard suitcase. And it is an equally short stroll to the major attractions -- the Roman baths, the cathedral, dining, etc.

-- Owner and staff. Liz greeted us on arrival, which was earlier than normal check-in time. She asked Jacka to give our room priority so we could get in quickly, and brewed us a pot of tea while we waited in the dining room. While we revived from our flight and train ride over tea, Liz filled us in on what to see, including several things off the normal tourist path, gave us maps and brochures, and a discount pass for local dining. Jacka was friendly, thorough and efficient. And Colin, who fixes your breakfast is an absolute delight. Warm, upbeat, charming and chatty.

-- Breakfasts. Good full-English cooked to order every morning; special requests happily accommodated.

-- Cleanliness. Public areas, bedroom and bathroom all clean, neat and tidy.

--Comfortable bed, clean, crisp linens.

The minuses all relate to the bedroom. It was tiny and dark.

-- Size: I understand old buildings, and have stayed in many small rooms in hotels in Britain and on the continent. This was one of the smaller, particularly as it was billed as a "premier double." To maneuver past either side of the bed, one has to scoot sideways. There is no room for night tables, so small platforms have been attached to each side of the headboard, about large enough to hold a paperback book and maybe a travel alarm clock. It was hard finding a spot to put our two roll-aboard suitcases where we wouldn't be tripping over them.

-- Darkness. Lighting consisted of an underpowered chandelier (three or four bulbs, probably 40-watts each) and a flexible spotlight on each side of the headboard for reading. The ceiling light in the bathroom was also quite dim. We commented on the lack of light to Colin at breakfast one morning and he said, "Oh, you must be in Number 2." So they know. He did replace the bulb in the bathroom, although it wasn't much brighter than its predecessor.

I'd like to like The Henry more. But the size and dimness of the room get in the way. If I return to bath, I'll try different accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    204
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
147
254
100
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely b and b with nice touches such as the sweets in the landing topped up throughout the day, cute teas and coffees in room and guidebooks in the room. The rooms are clean and tidy, and the service is great. The owners are really warm and helpful. Will recommend to all friends.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here two nights and just loved everything about it. Even though we were "up in the Gods" (I think it was the third floor?) we didn't even care. This place was beautifully situated, decorated, clean and just the nicest people running it! It had all the old English charm you'd want in a B&B but had modern bathrooms (which were a nice plus). Colin was so welcoming and kept us laughing, Jacka gave us great recommendations for both our dinners out and Liz was able to give us good advice on places to visit. If you find yourself going to Bath definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank val p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This small Hotel was a really surprising for us. The warm and friendly welcome was totaly outstanding, and the Big fivestars hotels have to look for this!,,, the Room, we booked a Double Single room only a couples of houres befor, was more the amazing! Clean and lovely decorated and you have more Space comparing with a Big luxury Hotel. The owner and Manager was absolutly charming and profesional..... It was a pleasure to stay at this Place, and If we have any Person how like to visit this beautifull town, be shure..... We will recomand this House!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 324SimonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were greeted by Liz,who was warm and friendly and very welcoming. Our room, while cozy and on the top floor worked out great for us, two friends traveling together. The room was clean and the accommodations were first rate. Colin took great care of us, with suggestions of places to shop and to eat. The location is perfect, just a couple blocks from the the Abbey. I think Bath is a truly magical place. I would definitely stay at the Henry again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artsewcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed two nights at the Henry. The room was comfortable, the bathroom clean and spacious and modern, the room quiet and pleasantly decorated, the bed comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and included many options including bacon (ham to us), eggs, potatoes, mushrooms, tomatoes, sausage, cereals, yogurt, toast, fruit. Colin, our cook and morning server, was very friendly, knowledgable about the area, and very welcoming.The location is close to restaurants and the Baths among other easy to access sites as well as the train and bus station. The owner recommended we take a Bizarre Bath tour on our first day of arrival so that we could see some of the city and help us to not go to bed too early (afternoon arrival). The tour was fun, reasonably priced, entertaining and was a great way to start our trip. We would highly recommend the Henry.

Room Tip: we had a room with two beds, bath and fireplace. very nice! room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoPIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We found The Henry ideally located for shopping and sightseeing with a car park close by which is not always the case in Bath. We went for a long weekend on a bank holiday so it was a busy time. The staff were very welcoming, breakfast was amazing and the room could not have been better if I had prepared it myself! The room we had was spacious and well appointed with a lovely big shower. The in room drink making facilities were well stocked and we found that both the room and the service exceeded our expectations. Outstanding value for money and we will definitely revisit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parade Park Town House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#12 of 158 in Bath
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 158 in Bath
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Guest House

Property: The Henry Guest House
Address: 6 Henry Street, Bath BA1 1JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bath's city centre, during your visit our home is your home. The Henry is ideally situated, close to the superb shopping centre and tourist sites of this beautiful city. We are just a 2 minute walk from the railway and bus stations and a brief stroll to the Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Abbey, The Henry is the perfect base from which to explore this truly beautiful, magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Henry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing