We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel, Superb Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have just spent the most wonderful two days at Bailbrook House and enjoyed every minute there.
The staff went the extra mile to make sure that all of our needs were met while we were there, particularly the Concierge and Katarina, who were two of the most delightful people we have met.
We know that the Hotel is being extended, which is good news. We wish them great success.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettington, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your review. It is always nice to receive great comments about the team and I know concierge and Katrina will be especially pleased that they have had a mention. Thank you for your support for the future. I hope we will see you again soon

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,850 - 1,856 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for a short break of three nights to get away from it all. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Bath but don't be put off by that. It took about 25 minutes to walk to the city centre, going past stationary traffic. There is a regular bus service (every 20 minutes in the day) from the bottom of the hotel's drive (service No 13) and this take sabout 5 minutes to get top the city centre.

Our room was on the ground floor of the annex. It was very clean and everything was new. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. Despite our room backing onto the main access to the building, we didn't hear a thing at night. Curtains also good, letting no light in. A generous sized bathroom, controllable air conditioning and you could open windows which is unusual for most air conditioned hotel rooms. The ususal coffee/tea making facilities were supplemented with a fridge with fresh milk replenished daily. (Fridge will also take a bottle of wine for your night cap).

The service was outstanding at all times, even when the restuarant was very busy for breakfast. Without exception all of the staff were friendly and had the time to chat.

The main facilities in the manor house were perfect, especially the lounge with a terrace overlooking the valley. There are about 20 acres of grounds which allow you do do a short walk or two. There is a small terrace outside the bar which is perfect for sundowners.

There was some renovation work in progress but it was harly noticable.

We will definitely be going back there again for another very rlaxing break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sootblower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettington, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments about the team, they too will be delighted to read them. I am pleased that the last part of our renovations did not disturb you, all the work will be completed by Friday 2nd August, so not long to go now!

Once again thank you, I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have just returned from a weekend away in Bath and stayed at the Bailbrook hotel. The hotel was beautiful, clean, tidy and the grounds were delightful. (although still under renovation- this did not disturb our stay in the slightest) The service is faultless and every single member of staff that we had contact with was friendly, polite and went of their way to ensure our stay was great. (The concierge service was was of a high standard- The gentleman who helped us was called Jet and he was a true star ! very friendly and chatty. In the evening we were given a tour of the main house by a lovely polite young lady (didn't catch her name- sorry). The room and bathroom were of high standard and spotless and had everything we required for our stay. (a few more english teabags provided would have been better as tea drinkers !) The grounds and house are truly stunning and we spent some time walking around enjoying the sights.
My husband and I had a great peaceful sleep, the mattress was of good quality and bedding including pillows which were clean and plump.
We ate breakfast in the Lansdown suite and it was delicious and of a high standard. Again all staff were polite and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if your looking at a relaxing weekend celebrating an anniversary like we were- Pure class !- We will return without a doubt !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettington, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for your review.It is so good to read your comments,The team have worked very hard over the last 10 months during our renovations and are so pleased to be able to offer a brand new hotel to our guests.Thank you for mentioning Jet ,he has only just started with us so he will be delighted to have got a mention.I have made a copy of your review and I will make sure he gets a copy.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just returned from 2 night stay at this lovely hotel, what a gem !! From the very start we had a wonderful welcome ,escorted to our air conditioned room, which was most welcome due to the exceptional HOT weather .Luxurious rooms, wonderfully comfortable beds, and breakfast was everything you could wish for and more !! Every member of staff was polite,courteous and really couldn`t do enough for us .Highly recommended and would book again if visiting the area.
Helen and Simon

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisysam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettington, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for your review.Great to see you enjoyed your stay especially the air conditioned room, fingers crossed we have a summer to remember weather wise !
Thank you for your kind comments about the team,I will make sure they read your review.Hope to see you back at Bailbrook soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just stayed at Bailbrook House for the first time. Fabulous. The level of personal service is second to none. Having arrived at 1pm, we were given a personal guided tour of the hotel while our room was being prepared. Dinner in Cloisters started with canapés in the lounge while we perused the menu. The restaurant manager was very helpful, advising on wine selections and recommending items from the menu. The pigeon breast starter and fillet steak main courses were delightful - and served with such style. We took coffee on the terrace - the restaurant manager having escorted us, along with our unfinished wine. All the staff are friendly and helpful and clearly keen to ensure that everything is to our satisfaction. The bedroom (310) was comfortable and well appointed (as was the bathroom). Full of all those little touches that make the difference from an "ordinary" hotel.
For anyone having second thoughts because of the advertised renovation works - don't worry, they're not intrusive and don't detract at all from the ambience. We look forward to finding an excuse to come back - hopefully for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseP118187061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Bailbrook House Hotel which is on the outskirts of Bath in 20 acres of grounds. There has been a £10 million refurbishment programme and so the rooms were brand new. There are still workmen on site completing a small corner of the large premises but their presence was barely noticeable. We chose an executive room on the ground floor of the modern annexe. The room overlooked a part of the grounds which has not been landscaped as yet. It was very quiet with wonderful soundproofing so that you could hear no noise whatsoever from adjacent rooms. The room was furnished to a high standard with a very comfortable 6ft bed with really good quality linen. There were tea and coffee making facilities with complementary shortbread biscuits, fresh milk and two small bottles of mineral water per day. The bathroom was also very good with a feature that I have never seen before... a blue courtesy light that comes on at night when you open the bathroom door to avoid putting on the main light... brilliant. The hot water from the shower was intermittent on one of the mornings and the shower head dripped for a while after we had finished but this was no real problem. The bedside lights also had extending reading spotlights which were also a brilliant idea if you wanted to read and your partner didn't. Everything was to a very high standard with gowns and slippers provided as well as an iron and ironing board, hairdryer and room safe.

On the first night we dined in the Cloisters Restaurant which is the fine dining venue for the hotel. It was expensive and, in my view, overpriced for what we had. I chose Brixham scallops which were beautifully cooked but there were only two on the plate for £14.00! Again, a personal view, although the flavour of the risotto was good I felt that the lumpy texture did not go well with the smooth creaminess of the scallops. The small lumps of chorizo were also overcooked and hard. I was not aware of any butternut squash flavour in the dish. My main course was Lackham lamb which was cooked to perfection, The portion size was fine - as was the potato dauphinoise (which was called potato pressings?). However, the menu mentioned broad beans. These had their outer case removed, as one would expect, but there were only 7 small half pieces on each plate! Sorry, but that's fine dining gone mad! There was one tiny Chanterelle carrot and a tablespoon of spinach as the remaining vegetable. The red wine jus tasted lovely. The whole dish could have been greatly improved by increasing the vegetable portion sizes and the amount of jus on the plate. My husband chose pigeon breast as his starter and found two pieces of shot in the food. He shoots pigeons and cooks the breasts at home and said that there were small tears in the flesh which the chef should have noticed in order that the shot could have been extracted prior to serving. For this level of dining this was unacceptable. For dessert, I chose the English apples dessert, which was absolutely delicious and perfect in every respect. Having recently dined at Le Manoir aux Quatre Saisons (see my Tripadvisor review), this fine dining for three courses was comparatively as expensive as the Raymond Blanc five course taster menu, but without the cachet. Until the Cloisters becomes the place to dine in Bath, I think they should review their prices downwards. Only one other table was occupied on the night we dined at The Cloisters and I think that reflects my views on the pricing. For the second evening, we had a salmon nicoise in the bar as we had eaten out with friends at lunchtime. No complaints about this dish. I must also mention the breakfast which was probably one of the best I have ever experienced in a UK hotel with freshly squeezed juices plus a variety of teas/coffees, a wide selection of continental cold meats etc, cereals, dried fruits, yogurts and smoothies. The cooked breakfast bar had two types of bacon, herby sausages and black pudding, two types of eggs, grilled tomatoes, hash browns, brilliant mushrooms - all perfectly cooked. In addition, you could also select omelettes, kippers, pancakes etc to be cooked to order.

In conclusion, this is a lovely hotel which is well worth a visit - we will certainly be staying there again in the future and hope that the management review the Cloisters restaurant portion sizes and prices.

I must comment on the staff who were exceptional. In particular, Ibrahim on reception - who was very helpful when I was finalising my booking. The Conservatory Bar manager was also worth a mention. He was very efficient at his job and also very charming, as was Blaze. In fact, all the staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful.

Before we left, we asked if we could see the suites in the Mansion House. They are jaw droppingly beautiful; expensive but something to aspire to for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We've just returned from a fabulous couple of days at Bailbrook House. The hotel was absolutely lovely - beautiful surroundings (despite the renovation work currently being undertaken!!) , luxurious interiors, excellent breakfast and super comfy beds! The staff were brilliant, striking the perfect balance between being attentive and friendly, whilst remaining totally professional - particularly the reception and bar staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,326 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
2.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £91 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath with on-site complimentary parking. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years providing the perfect base for a city break to Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing