We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short break near Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for a short break near Bath”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel has been recently refurbished and the rooms (we had one of the executive types) are quite luxurious with king sized beds and very up to date facilities. Made for a very comfortable experience and we would have been happy to stay for more than the one night we had booked. The hotel is easy to find and only a 30 minute stroll from Bath city centre (albeit down a busy main street). So its a good idea to leave the car in the spacious car park and get some exercise.

Our only slight quibble is with the eating and drinking arrangements. The hotel has two restaurants - one described as high end and the other as a brasserie. We ate in the brasserie and found the food to be OK with typical brasserie dishes like fish and chips/ sausages and mash. However, the wine list did not match the food - it was definitely high end with only one bottle under £30. Who wants to wash down fish and chips with a £30 plus bottle of wine? I think the hotel needs two different wine lists in order to better suit their two restaurants and to cater properly for their customers. Service however was excellent with more than enough staff to look after everyone.

I think it would have been useful for the menus for both restaurants to be included in the hotel information packs available in the rooms. That would make it easier for customers to decide where to eat - and perhaps get more custom for the high end restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments about the team.I have noted your comments about both the wine list and having menus in the bedrooms.It is out intention to soon print a thorough guide to our bars and restaurants which will include menus.We wanted to run for a few months to make sure we had an opportunity to review all customer feedback and then make any changes before we went to print.Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    376
    108
    20
    13
See reviews for
183
935
13
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a two night deal at Bailbrooke on a whim mainly because we wanted to visit Bath again and we really surprised. It is a luxurious hotel with great restaurant and well trained, attentive staff committed to making sure you are well looked after and able to really get a luxury hotel experience. From the check in, the room, the Cloisters restaurant is was near impossible to fault and an example of how hotels should be run. And whilst it is 2 miles from Bath it is a very pleasant walk along the canal or a short drive or taxi run. And you can even take a boat trip.

Room Tip: The named rooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddysinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay.Thank you too for your kind words about the team,I will make sure that they see a copy of your review.On a final note I totally agree with you about the walk along the canal - very pleasant indeed.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I booked this hotel for the long weekend for just one night. With 4 stars and only £150 for the night I wasn't expecting anything amazing but was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful this hotel was. the exterior is lovely and grand and the breakfast was really good too! Plus the rooms were brand new so nothing felt dated or old.
My only complaint would be that my room was literally ready at 3:02pm. With most holidays I go on, I always try to check in before the check in time with success at least 2-3 hours before the check in time. I arrived at 2:50pm and was made to wait as my room wasn't ready. I found this quite rare..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mullyeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It is always nice to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and I have passed your comments on to the team about breakfast.I am sorry that your room was not ready early,I will discuss this with our housekeeping team and see how we can improve on this.

Hope to see you back at Bailbrook House soon

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

At last... A hotel room I actually wanted to book into, not only was I happy with the room, we booked another night! Newly refurbished, staff excellent, great breakfast... note to the evening chef... Cooking oil has to be smoking hot to get the batter for the fish crispy without the goowey inside!!!!.
Great location, as you can pick up the number 13 bus to Bath City and return right outside the drive way, not worth taking the car. (21st Century Tv and Hairdryers) a nice touch.
Very happy with our stay, and would look out for offers again here. Lovely main house, doesn't have the formal Hotel feel.
The only thing we were amazed about, is that there is a statement in the hotel information that says it does not encourage people to tip toe down the corridors. How stupid is this statement, we all have met the couple who decide to bang there doors numerous times at midnight.

Room Tip: Make sure the room you have is not on the walk way to the breakfast room, I suspect it can be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeg15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay.I agree with you about the boat trip, it is a fabulous way to enjoy some of the scenes of Bath.I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just had a weekend in this great hotel. Everything was of a really high standard. The rooms were of a high quality, loads of space and a really comfy bed.

Were told about the boat trip into Bath when we arrived and it made a perfect start to our day in Bath City Centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I could not agree more about the boat trip- what a fabulous way to see some of the sites of Bath.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Where do I start, we had a fantastic stay here. The hotel staff were brilliant, they couldn't do enough for us. We were totally pampered.
The hotels refurbishment is exquisite, and so was the food. We ate in both restaurants, the cloisters was a little expensive but as a treat it was worth it.
When staying in bath this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolab1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.Wow, I could not have written a better review myself ! thank you so much.The staff will be very pleased to read your review.Once again thank you and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

From start to finish are stay in this hotel was an amazing experience. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the room was that nice we didn't want to leave it. If I had to pick one little thing it was the breakfast was very slow coming out. Then again it was a busy bank holiday weekend. Saying that it didn't bother us at all as everything else was so good, including the food.

We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I really do appreciate your comments about your stay and the team, they have all worked very hard since we opened so they will be delighted to read you review - thank you. I have noted your comment about breakfast ; the bank holiday weekend was our busiest weekend since we opened and following a review of the weekend we have made some changes to improve speed.

Once again thank you

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Property: Bailbrook House Hotel
Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion has recently completed a £10 million refurbishment. Welcome to Bailbrook House Hotel in Bath, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years. In less than one year since re-opening Bailbrook House Hotel is now one of the leading hotels in Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing