We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful bath”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

A beautiful hotel in Bath. Not really within walking distance, but very accessible by local bus route. Well appointed large room, spotlessly clean. Good selection of fresh fruits, cereals etc for breakfast as well as tasty hot options. Very friendly staff, in particular the concierge Jet ! This is a hotel of two halves, which may not be obvious from the hotel website. We stayed in a modern annexe which housed affordable standard accommodation. The main hotel, which is a former Georgian mansion houses the pricier luxury rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JojiDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It was nice to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words. Thank you for the special mention about Jet, I will make sure he reads a copy of your review. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    346
    95
    18
    11
See reviews for
162
860
9
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Have just spent a three night break at this exceptional hotel.rooms spacious and welll appointed the beds are fabulous.the staff so welcomng and friendly nothing too much trouble and regularly checking everything ok.our meals were superb great menus .wonderful well stocked bar with a realy individual bar keeper with lots of knowledge. All in all a splendid hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms well appointed but the more you pay the more exceptional room you get with unique features
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words about the team. GK our bar supervisor will be very pleased with your comments.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We've stayed in Bath many times and used several hotels including the Queensbury, the Royal Crescent and the Francis. This was our first stay in the Bailbrook and we were very impressed. We took two rooms in the main house. Both were large and very luxurious. It appears the hotel has just had a re-fit (the 'poor' reviews on Tripadvisor seem to stem from when this was in progress). We found our stay to be very peaceful and the service from all staff, from reception to breakfast, was excellent. Nice touches included fresh mik in the mini bar for tea/coffee in the room, very large screen TV in the room, second TV in the bathroom and an excellent breakfast. The only downside is that it is a little out of town, but this is easily solved with a 5 minute taxi ride (usually about £6). Overall, the quality makes up for the location and we would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Our rooms (William Pitt and Jane Austin) were at the back of the main house and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhythmking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It is great to read you enjoyed your stay. I can not agree more with you about the William Pitt and Jane Austin rooms, they are very special rooms. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
englishmanfrom london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I can see first hand the new section of the Hotel,however i was lucky enough to stay in the Mansion house,Richard Sheridan room. I had an excellent welcome and shown my room. The high ceiling,large room and bed with an added extra of a tile television in the bath. I usually prefer showers but sneaked a soak watching my own channel while she had strictly come dancing on.
The cloisters restaurant offered an interesting variety and my partner stating the steak was the finest she had for some time and cooked to perfection. I could only agree with her to my own local lamb cutlets.
In all cases the staff were exceptional polite and helpful. My only complaint would be it was so comfortable i did not want to leave it to venture into Bath but it made the return even better.

Room Tip: stay in the Mansion house part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iexpect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review in tripAdvisor.I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding your experience in Cloisters Restaurant . I have passed on your comments to the team. Once again thank you and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Bailbrook Hotel in Bath and I have to say, I was very impressed. We had an executive room with the most comfortable bed ever !! The rooms are very large, have impressive coffee maker and tea facilities and dressing gown and slippers also in the wardrobe. There was also an iron and ironing board and a proper hair dryer !!!!
The bathroom was very large with lovely bath and shower and all the usual condiments to go with it. The television had sky and the other half was very pleased that he could watch sky sports before we went out!
Breakfast was lovely and had a choice of full English or continental with a full range of juices and tea/coffee.
We took a taxi to the city centre which cost around £7 and took around 5 minutes.
Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again.. If only to sleep in that bed again !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madrepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I could not agree more about the beds ! I have stayed over night a few times recently myself and I am seriously thinking of buying one for home .I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benllech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We've stayed here twice before, but were surprised to find a £10m refurb had taken place!!
New reception, new link corridor & Gym, rooms have been transformed having a 6' bed, high quality fittings & shower room (No bath any more.
Thankfully, some things haven't changed, the staff were extremely (Over?) attentive, smart & efficient. Breakfast (In the new ding room) was as good as ever.
Highly recommended for a luxury break.

Room Tip: Room 319 (Or close) is quit, looks out onto open lawn (Foxes in the morning!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and great to read you approve of our refurbishment ! it is always nice to hear from returning guests. Please don't leave it too long to come and see us again.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

the very expensive revamp of the old and new parts of this classy hotel has been very well done, even if the smell of paint was oppressive in some areas in early September 2013.The extensive use of panel doors from B and Q was a departure from the high standard of refurbishment which will prove a false economy before long.The beds were extremely comfortable, the best I have found in a UK hotel. Room facilities excellent, esp the bathroom and TV. Food was very good rather than excellent, rather pricy as were drinks.But room rates were fair for this class of hotel. All staff were most helpful and polite bar one cocky waiter ("you guys" was not an appropriate appellation for me and my partner and he did not like being reprimanded).

Room Tip: avoid room 101 ..it is next to the door into the corridor which can bang and other guests make a noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. I have noted your comments about a member of staff and I will look in to this. Thank you for your kind comments about the rest of the team and the food. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Property: Bailbrook House Hotel
Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#9 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion has recently completed a £10 million refurbishment. Welcome to Bailbrook House Hotel in Bath, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years. In less than one year since re-opening Bailbrook House Hotel is now one of the leading hotels in Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing