We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, would stay again”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed the weekend before Christmas. Arrived early but rooms were ready so we were able to check in straight away and head into Bath. As recommended by the Hotel we used taxi's to get into town which were reasonable and worked really well.

Rooms were excellent, well furnished with the most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept in. Food in the Lansdown was excellent at dinner, but a little let down by overcooked black pudding at breakfast however it was still very enjoyable.

We were staying with my husband's parents as a birthday treat and the hotel certainly exceeded expectations. The in-laws have stayed in many hotels and said that this was the best they had stayed in.

Staff were attentive but not overly and couldn't do enough for you.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here when we return to Bath again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    376
    108
    20
    13
See reviews for
183
935
13
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Two night stay at the Bailbrook for a christmas shopping trip to Bath. Wasn't sure what to expect of the hotel as I was aware of it's previous existence as a conference/training centre. However any reservations were quickly put to one side by the warm but professional welcome at reception. The concierge showed us to our room, which was quite a way from reception, but the walk was worth it! The hotel has recently finished an extensive refurb and it shows in the quality of the decor, fittings and furnishings of the rooms. Even though it wasn't one of the more expensive, the room definitely had a wow factor. Things to note were, a comfortable bed, well designed shower room, decent hospitality tray and a very quiet location.
During our stay we found all of the staff to be attentive and eager to please. One slight criticism would be that this became a little OTT at breakfast where several of the restaurant staff came over to our table to see if everything was OK. Sometimes less is more! Our only other negative comment would be on the quality of the breakfast. Whilst the ingredients were first class and the range of products offered extensive, parts of the cooked breakfast looked as if they'd been on the hotplate for too long. This was a shame as it was our only experience of the food offer at Bailbrook.
Overall this is a great venue to stay if you're visiting Bath. The facilities and customer service are of the highest quality and we would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was a little way from the main house however this meant is was nice and quiet. We had a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Lovely hotel with a suite overlooking Bath. Good service for the most part but very variable service over two days at breakfast - sublime to ridiculous. The scruffiest individual you could wish to meet served us on the second day - suit looking like it had been slept in and shoes that, if they had ever met a Kiwi, it was the bird and not the polish. Add to that the individual concerned appeared to believe that shouting to customers across the breakfast room was appropriate.
Sadly, he was not the only example and there was one individual whose body odour was so unpleasant it lingered long after he had passed by.
Dinner in the Cloisters was excellent and the service there exemplary. The room was very good, large, airy and cleaned to a high standard.
It was a genuine pity that the overall performance was marred by individuals who evidently lack any pride, either in themselves or the establishment for which they work

Room Tip: The suites in the old house are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2manyhotelsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a night at the Bailbrook House Hotel on a Christmas shopping trip to Bath. The hotel was lovely with a view over Bath, friendly helpful staff, spacious comfortable room. Excellent location for a shopping trip to Bath, the city centre is a short bus ride away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TillyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay during your shopping break to Bath, and I hope you enjoyed the market too. Thank you for your kind words about the team, I will pass them on.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We come to Bath once or twice a year and have in the past stayed at other hotels which charge twice as much for their rooms. Having read that Bailbrook House had refurbished all their rooms and had a fine dining restaurant we decided to book here for our December trip to visit the Christmas Market. We arrived midday Saturday and checked in, the reception called us a taxi which took us into town, past the queuing traffic in the taxi lane, 5 minutes. On return we were very pleased with our standard room - lovely bed, great shower with complimentary toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and a good TV. The meal in the Cloisters restaurant was very good, small starters for the price but superb steak and guinea fowl main and very yummy deserts. The setting in the Cloisters was great with an amazing view to Bath Abbey and beyond. Breakfast the following morning was equally as good with great choice and the full English was great.
I have scored the hotel 4/5 as there were a couple of minor points that meant the stay wasn't perfect but nothing to complain about and would definitely stay again. Tip - look for discounted room rate on Expedia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay during your stay in Bath for the market - I have read lots of reviews that it was the best ever. I am pleased that you enjoyed Cloisters, I could not agree more about the views they are stunning. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Most of the rooms are in a modern extension but have all you want, big comfy bed, newly refitted and so on, it’s a short £7 taxi ride from the city and has some great views from the bar and other areas around the main building.

It’s a big place, and isn’t a ‘cosy’ country house hotel but id stay again and would also use it for business conferences, restaurant looked okay but felt like a conference room with ding tables in it but the breakfast was very good as was room service

Wine in the bar is expensive(ish) at £15 a glass but at £200 for a basic room its what you expect

Room Tip: First floor, low numbers otherwise its a bit of a walk to the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regularhoteluser257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it is always nice to read when guests say they will return - thank you

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The greeting by reception was excellent and all the staff were attentive and helpful . Our room William Pitt was well appointed and very clean . If we were only evaluating the hotel and staff it would easily achieve five stars . Unfortunately the Cloisters restaraunt let it down badly . At dinner my starter scallop with crab ravioli was minuscule in size and there was very little crab in the thick pasta . We followed with the turbot dish which was served on cold new potatoes .I could not face another failure for pudding so chose cheese and biscuits since this required no skill from the chef . At breakfast the next morning we returned two dishes to the kitchen since they failed to please . We obviously complained but the only feedback from the waitress was to offer her apologies.The Cloisters restaurant is under performing and is certainly overpriced for its dinner offering.
I would still rate the hotel highly but would suggest having dinner at one of the many restaraunts in Bath

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am sorry that your stay was let down by your experience of Cloisters Restaurant. I am disappointed that the Restaurant Manager did not come over to see you. I have spoken to Matt and ask that he should always make him self available to discuss guests comments.Peter Manners our Head Chef has said that he will review the size of the ravioli dish and that he too is sorry that you did not enjoy dinner. Thank you for your feedback, improvements will be made.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Property: Bailbrook House Hotel
Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion has recently completed a £10 million refurbishment. Welcome to Bailbrook House Hotel in Bath, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years. In less than one year since re-opening Bailbrook House Hotel is now one of the leading hotels in Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing