We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay and Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here in January this last week and took up the offer for £139 for accommodation, dinner including a glass of champagne and canapés plus full breakfast.
This was such a great offer and all the staff at the hotel were excellent.
Due to the Cloisters restaurant being booked by a private party we were upgraded to a fabulous suite as compensation for the inconvenience. We were asked if we would have dinner in the conservatory bar which we did and had been set up very well and we had an exceptionally good dinner with a great value Italian red wine at £23. Breakfast next morning was really good served by very pleasant staff.
Overall our experience of this hotel was superb. We will return again and we had such a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the upgrade to the Mansion House. Thank you for your kind comments about the food and the team, they will be delighted when they read them.

It is always nice to read guests will return - just don't leave it too long!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,575 - 1,581 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for a friend's surprise birthday party which was held at the hotel, where to begin?? the hotel itself is absolutely stunning with beautiful views over Bath, our room was first class, very spacious with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. We were shown to our room by one of the staff on reception and he was very friendly and helpful and told us all that we needed to know within the hotel layout. I couldn't find any milk for a much needed cup of tea and within 10 minutes of phoning down a lady knocked the door holding a carton of milk, by which time I did come across the missing milk placed in the fridge! and apologised for my error!

The bathroom was beautiful with extra large towels and the huge bath made for a luxurious soak.
Our food was beautifully cooked and well presented, the staff very professional, efficient and attentive, we were only here for one night but it was absolutely fantastic! and as we only live a short trip away we are going to come back for a week end and enjoy the experience for longer....
We stay in a lot of hotels throughout the year visiting friends and family, but the Bailbrook has the edge on the others and simply has to be on everyone's must do list!

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and never heard a peep all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor.It is always nice to read positive reviews and thank you for all your kind words about the hotel and the team. I know the team will also be delighted when they read the review. I am pleased that your enjoyed our beds, we do get lots of favourable comments about our beds- a good nights sleep is what we all need!

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A quality hotel situated on the outskirts of Bath. Exceptional staff. Exceptional service. Quality public areas. Very comfortable rooms. Set in acres of woodland on a hill side overlooking the Avon Valley. Perfect for those that want to drive to Bath as it is located near the A4 and the M4 connecting road. Tip: Park-up and leave your car. Bath is not built for parking. It is a 10 min bus ride to the centre (£4.20 return) or taxi (£8 one way) or a superb walk along the Avon & Kennett Canal. If you want to be in the centre of Bath (or travel by train) then do not chose the Hotel. What we liked was the ambience the Hotel and having been to the city many a time the idea of relaxing there after a days sightseeing, shopping and the Thermae Bath. The Hotel food is excellent. Local sourced ingredients and unique menus. Cloisters is posh and the Lansdown a relaxed Brasserie. Afternoon Tea is up there with the best and served in the main House. Couple of things to bear in mind. It is not a small hotel > 94 rooms and consists of the original Georgian House (suites & public areas) and an annexe where the majority of the rooms are located. As such watch for Conferences and weddings which could dampen any idea of a quiet few days away. The Hotel lacks in facilities for a property of this stature. No pool, no spa and a very small fitness suite. The staff and the quality of the public areas & rooms more than make up for it. Add in the Hand Picked Hotels Special Offers (Champage/dinner package) and seriously there is little else in Bath that can compare.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for an Executive room. Much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisM1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about the food and the team ,I know they will be delighted when they read your comments.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Absolutely fabulous. From the moment we arrived we were presented with professional staff who were there to please. I negotiated an upgrade to the General Wolfe Suite, stunning. Huge bath and shower. Lovely bed. Words cannot express the experience, really! Because of the time of year the Cloisters Dinning Room was closed and we only ate there on the last night. Excellent service, champers and nibbles in the beautiful lounge and we were then excourted to the table. Just how we like it, table cloths and really well trained staff.

The food was excellent. We were on a DBB rate and I cannot explain the choice on the menu, it was supurb. The standard is beyond many hotels that we have experienced in the past.

This is the 4th Hand Picked Hotel that we have visited this year. Please do not tell anyone else how good they are or there will not be any room when we want to go again!!!!!!

Many thanks to the staff, whoever trained them should have been in the Queens New Years Honours list!!!!!!!

It was really easy to get a taxi into Bath and for a resonable price of only about £7 each way. Much better than driving in and having to park in a multi storey.

Room Tip: Negotiate an upgrade, it might seem a lot, but well worth the extra. General Wolfe Suite is the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tumblejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.It is great to read you had a wonderful time with u . I loved your comment about the " New Years honours list " I dread to think the cost of re printing business cards !

It is always nice to read how many Hand Picked Hotels our customers have visited - only 16 to go.

Hope we will get a second visit soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent 8 nights here over the New year in an Executive double room in the Bailbrook Court part of the Hotel (Mansion House on my 'to do' list!). The room was very comfortable and well maintained.
Staff extremely helpful, all requests dealt with in an efficient manner.
Only eat in the Lansdown restaurant but food & service were top quality (including Room service).
As mentioned in previous posts, very well located for the city of Bath, usually around £8 for a Taxi into the centre but also nicely situated to explore other areas/attractions outside of this fascinating city.

Room Tip: For Bailbrook Court there are rooms that overlook the woodlands at the back of the Mansion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zed-Beeblebrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for spending the new year with us and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will post a copy of your review on our notice board, I am sure the team will delighted with your kind words. I hope you had a safe journey home.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Having been customers of the handpicked hotels for about ten years we were pleased one was opening in our favorite Bath, from the moment we arrived with such a warm and friendly welcome we knew that this was going to be good, We had a room in the mansion house, my wife son and I quickly unpacked and went to explore the hotel and the whole hotel is stunning, we were going to be here for the new year period and settled down. Dinner in the cloisters was absolutely fabulous and the service impeccable. The breakfast and meals in both restaurants were fantastic and the staff efficient and friendly and could not do enough for us, especially Silvi and Matt who we knew from other hotels, the rooms are very well appointed and the beds really comfortable best sleeps.
We come to our one problem we did not want to leave so had to stay an extra nite and still felt sad to leave as they say all good things come to an end, well done Bailbrookhouse you are a great team!!!

Room Tip: Mansion house rooms are great we looked at Bailbrook court and they good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodtasterFoodtaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. Firstly it is so nice to read you have been customers of Hand Picked for over 10 years. Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel and team. Thank you too for the special mention to Silvi & Matt. Your " problem " did make me smile , but don't forget you can always come back soon !

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just spent three days at this hotel with my husband and two friends in between christmas and new year, cannot fault this hotel, the staff were excellent, location great, we had the standard double room the rooms were a good size, for the money I would highly recommend. Only about 1.5 miles outside Bath which is only about a £7.00 cab journey into the main Bath centre. We had a meal in the Lansdowne restaurant which was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stelllaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.I so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay. Your kind words about the team will go down well when they read your review - thank you

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,433 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £105 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath with on-site complimentary parking. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years providing the perfect base for a city break to Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing