We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret little getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A secret little getaway”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We travelled by train - I would advise arriving with luggage to get a taxi from the station to the House. £8-£12 (12mins) depending on traffic


When you drive up to the House I started to get a little shiver of excitement. We were welcomed by some wonderful attentive Receptionist and checked in with ease. A gentleman who showed us personally to the room gave us information of places and things we could do in the city centre. They even had a map of a scenic route to walk to the city centre which we did on a lucky sunny day. The room was in perfect condition with all the things you need and we had the executive suite which had the coffee machine. If you do get a room it does have outputs for USB, Computer connections and a DVD player where you can cozy up to watching a move should you go and purchase a DVD from a sainsburys for £3. We never took the bus but if you do not drive taxis are on the meter and cost from £7- £10 one way depending on traffic. You can walk but when your out adventuring it doesn't seem that long and you can stop along a pub or two along the way to soak up the atmosphere of Bath.

We opted to have breakfast in bed one day and it was an absolute treat not having to get dressed and trying to make breakfast and having a bit of a lie in. They have a fantastic selection and all these small details really make a difference.

Please keep up the great hospitality and beautiful touches.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJDSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.Thank you for your positive comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I could not agree more about breakfast in bed - what a treat. I know the team will also be delighted with your comments, thank you.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    398
    112
    22
    14
See reviews for
194
981
14
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We arrived early and our room was ready. The room was spacious, in the Mansion House, and we enjoyed the complementary Champagne. We had the most perfect evening meal, dining in the Cloisters, with exceptional service. Breakfast was an absolute delight. We will return, without hesitation, and it is extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: Book a room in the Mansion House
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It ia always nice to read our guests will return. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments.

Regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burslem, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I booked into the Bailbrook House Hotel as a weekend birthday surprise for my wife, The Hotel was well situated, just a short taxi ride from Bath City Centre. We had a Classic Double Room in the building's annexe, recently refurbished. It was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable, The Hotel itself was immaculate, fresh and nicely furnished. The staff were terrific. They couldn't do enough for you. Always pleasant, always helpful but, more importantly, always professional. The bar service was wonderful and the breakfasts that were incorporated into our package were delicious and filling : cooked to perfection and well presented. We were made to feel welcome at all times around the hotel and the atmosphere was warm and pleasant. The whole weekend was a lovely experience and one which i would readily repeat again at The Bailbrook House Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It was great to read you had a wonderful experience with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the team at the hotel, they will be pleased to read your comments.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a bed and breakfast basis. The room was in the new part of the hotel, and because it has just been refurbished everything is new and clean which is very nice. These rooms haven't got much character but are well equipped with large comfortable beds, a coffee machine and a kettle for tea. There are basic toiletries provided in the bathroom. Breakfast was buffet style, and it was a good choice, unfortunately everything on both mornings was cold, always a problem with a buffet style breakfast. Unfortunately even the toast that you order from the waiter arrives cold as though its been prepared much earlier. However, the staff are polite and friendly and address you by name which is a nice touch. We did not eat in the Hotel for dinner, so cannot comment on the food in the restaurant. We were very disappointed when coming back to our room on the SAturday afternoon at 3.30pm, to find that it had still not been serviced. (we had left it at 9.45). Surely nearly six hours is enough time for this? We had to search out someone from housekeeping for clean towels etc.
Overall due to the refurbishment the hotel is clean, and comfortable and has polite and friendly staff and is worth staying in.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the newer building are quiet but do not have much characters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinkletwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. I have asked the Head Chef to inspect the past temperature records for the breakfast buffet and our Head Housekeeper to investigate the delayed servicing of your room. Both Peter and Liz have asked me to extend their apologies for your dissatisfaction. The team hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Bailbrook House in the future. Kind regards Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I booked our two night stay in an Executive Double at Bailbrook House as a Christmas present for my husband - a romantic weekend away in Bath. The package I booked included breakfasts and dinners - I had no idea how superb my chosen venue would be. The room - despite being in one of the annex buildings - was warm, beautifully decorated, in perfect condition (no mildew, nicks, chips or tired looking textiles or furniture) and our room was stocked with an espresso machine and plenty of organic teas and coffees. They even provided a little plate of gluten free biscuits for me.

If…IF…I were to say one less positive thing about the place, its that the carpets are a little corporate, but to be quite honest, that's hardly something to complain about.

The staff were excellent and our Maitre'd for breakfasts and dinner knew us by name. A really nice touch. I hold very low expectations for hotel food - even in very smart London hotels the food is always mediocre at best, but the dinner we were served at Bailbrook House was nothing short of exceptional. More than that, for our pre-dinner drinks we were ushered into the lounge for glasses of champagne and canapés (again, gluten free canapés were prepared for me) and left to peruse the menus and wine list before being shown to our tables in the very atmospheric restaurant downstairs.

I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat and I have also recommended it to a number of friends and family already.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHarris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and in particular dinner. The team look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House in the future. Kind regards Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just returned from a fantastic weekend in Bath and have to say that Bailbrook House is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. We were greeted by very welcoming and friendly staff and received a free upgrade to one of their suites in the main house. Our room was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and because of our upgrade, we received breakfast in the fine dining lounge with excellent views of the city. This was a surprise birthday present for my partner and couldn't have gone any better. Will definitely recommend this hotel and hopefully get the chance to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8-t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the special birthday celebration for your partner was a success. The team look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House in the future. Kind regards Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed at Bailbrook House in December, in the main house. THe Christmas tree in lounge area was lovely. The reception staff were very welcoming and the taxi to Bath was just over £7. Hotel is so easy to reach and plenty of parking. We had the John Wood suite - the room and the bathroom were fabulous. Lovely relaxing in the huge copper bath. The views were fantastic. We dined in the restaurant, had a drink in the bar and had breakfast in Cloisters restaurant. The meal in restaurant was good and well priced. But the breakfast was unbelievably good - you could not do a grab & go breakfast here though. It is an a la carte and cooked / prepared to order, a great way to start the day. This was a first visit and would definately stay again next time in Bath.

Room Tip: All the mansion house rooms seem of a similar quality but some are smaller than others. Did not see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SALLY186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.Christmas seems a long time ago now but it was nice to be reminded of the Christmas tree - it did look stunning, our florist did a fabulous job, some how we need to improve for next year ! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I am pleased that you will stay again.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Property: Bailbrook House Hotel
Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath with on-site complimentary parking. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years providing the perfect base for a city break to Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing