We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cream tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
1 review
“Excellent cream tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Came to the hotel for a cream tea for my mothers birthday. Staff we're extremely friendly making me feel very comforted and welcome. the building itself was absolutely gorgeous. Huge selection of cakes and biscuits ..all delicious . I hope to return very soon

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    330
    90
    18
    10
See reviews for
156
834
8
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a wonderful two nights at Bailbrook House.The staff were really friendly and helpful, our room was spacious and very comfortable. The hotel buildings are beautiful - a lovely mix of traditional and modern, with lovely views. The breakfast buffet was delicious and we had some drinks in the Conservatory Bar, where the service was excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely love to go back. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We arrived at the Bailbrook in late December for a two night break.
On arrival the staff were incredibly welcoming and, as we were a little early, looked after our luggage for a few hours and gave us good guidance on car parks and places to see in Bath.
The check in process was quick and smooth and we were shown to our room by the very friendly Mark. Our bags had been taken to our room prior to us checking in which was a nice touch.

The room was spacious with generally good facilities including a small fridge (with daily fresh milk), good tea and coffee facilities, ironing board and DVD player. Unfortunately the shower was changeable in temperature and there were a few small aesthetic issues (the shower door handle kept falling off for example) but overall a comfortable room for the two of us.
The breakfast was amazing and is highly recommended. There was a vast range of options on the menu as well as a well stocked hot and cold buffet.

Generally a very nice stay and we would be pleased to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey_and_Erika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a fantastic two nights at this great hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly and made sure we were well looked after. The food in 'Cloisters' was very good as were the light bites (sandwiches) in the lounge and bar conservatory. We were very impressed with our spacious room with every amenity. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahLyndhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.Thank you for all your kind words, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure all the team see your review , they will be pleased with your comments.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel with the help of trip advisor.What can I say first class room (General James Wolfe room)All the staff were 5 Star helpful and no question asked was a problem especially Mark and the three girls on reception The room was spacious and immaculate .Breakfast was also 5 star as was the service of the staff in the restaurant . Cannot fault a thing made our first trip to Bath even more enjoyable Shall visit again Stay 15/2/2014 Thanks for everything G Jewkes

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the special mention of Mark and the reception team, I will make sure they receive a copy of your review. I could not agree more about the General James Wolf room it is a very special room. It is always nice to read our guests will return - just don't leave it too long !

look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We travelled by train - I would advise arriving with luggage to get a taxi from the station to the House. £8-£12 (12mins) depending on traffic


When you drive up to the House I started to get a little shiver of excitement. We were welcomed by some wonderful attentive Receptionist and checked in with ease. A gentleman who showed us personally to the room gave us information of places and things we could do in the city centre. They even had a map of a scenic route to walk to the city centre which we did on a lucky sunny day. The room was in perfect condition with all the things you need and we had the executive suite which had the coffee machine. If you do get a room it does have outputs for USB, Computer connections and a DVD player where you can cozy up to watching a move should you go and purchase a DVD from a sainsburys for £3. We never took the bus but if you do not drive taxis are on the meter and cost from £7- £10 one way depending on traffic. You can walk but when your out adventuring it doesn't seem that long and you can stop along a pub or two along the way to soak up the atmosphere of Bath.

We opted to have breakfast in bed one day and it was an absolute treat not having to get dressed and trying to make breakfast and having a bit of a lie in. They have a fantastic selection and all these small details really make a difference.

Please keep up the great hospitality and beautiful touches.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJDSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.Thank you for your positive comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I could not agree more about breakfast in bed - what a treat. I know the team will also be delighted with your comments, thank you.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We arrived early and our room was ready. The room was spacious, in the Mansion House, and we enjoyed the complementary Champagne. We had the most perfect evening meal, dining in the Cloisters, with exceptional service. Breakfast was an absolute delight. We will return, without hesitation, and it is extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: Book a room in the Mansion House
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It ia always nice to read our guests will return. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments.

Regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Property: Bailbrook House Hotel
Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#9 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion has recently completed a £10 million refurbishment. Welcome to Bailbrook House Hotel in Bath, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years. In less than one year since re-opening Bailbrook House Hotel is now one of the leading hotels in Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing