We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have just emailed the Bailbrook House to thank everyone for making our stay such an enjoyable one. We were very fortunate and very grateful for the upgrade to the Valentine Jones room and the hospitality that we received throughout our short stay. There were some very nice touches which included coffee on arrival, a TV in the bathroom, champagne in the fridge, the pre-ordering of food in the lounge prior to going down for dinner, the a la carte breakfast menu and very attentive staff who were there to help. Everyone was extremely polite and helpful and we’re almost certain to return to stay with you again or stay at another hotel in the Handpicked Group.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russellhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    349
    95
    18
    11
See reviews for
162
866
9
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We spent 1 night at the Bailbrook hotel which we got from the secret escapes website. When we first arrived the staff on reception both stood up to greet us and there were chairs for us to sit on. We felt like royalty. We were taken to our room and the staff member insisted in taking our bag. He showed us everything in the room. An hour later we received a curtesy call asking if the room was ok. We had an executive room which was fantastic. We had a coffee machine, wide screen tv and DVD player. The hotel provided robes and slippers. The bed was very comfortable. We decided not to have a meal at the hotel but the menu looked very nice and there was choice if menus. The room service menu had choice and was not extravagantly priced. At check out the staff asked if we had enjoyed our stay and asked what we had done and what we were doing that day. Incredibly polite. It's location was perfect, the bus stop being just up the road. We would definitely stay again. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Had a 2 night stay at Bailbrook House Bath. The hotel is situated on top of a hill about 15 minutes out of Bath. A bus stop outside the hotel to take you into Bath centre. Had a wonderful stay with champagne and canapes before our evening meal. The 3 course meal was really nice, service good. The tables in the restaurant were very well spaced. The rooms were large rooms and were comfortable and clean. Breakfasts were self service with a lot of choice. We had a wonderful time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Ann33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful stay, not only did the hotel exceed our expectations but the staff made it even more special, we were however a bit surprised to find that a member of staff from this excellent hotel is also working at the neighbouring hotel just down the road where we had a not so enjoyable dinner. Our thoughts were why should a member of staff that works in an excellent 4 star hotel want to work at another hotel which isn't even in the same league, I think he got a bit of a shock when he saw us.
We recommend Bailbrook House but avoid the old mill even if you fancy an Italian meal there are plenty of good Italian restaurants in the centre of Bath

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scot m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Came to the hotel for a cream tea for my mothers birthday. Staff we're extremely friendly making me feel very comforted and welcome. the building itself was absolutely gorgeous. Huge selection of cakes and biscuits ..all delicious . I hope to return very soon

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a wonderful two nights at Bailbrook House.The staff were really friendly and helpful, our room was spacious and very comfortable. The hotel buildings are beautiful - a lovely mix of traditional and modern, with lovely views. The breakfast buffet was delicious and we had some drinks in the Conservatory Bar, where the service was excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely love to go back. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We arrived at the Bailbrook in late December for a two night break.
On arrival the staff were incredibly welcoming and, as we were a little early, looked after our luggage for a few hours and gave us good guidance on car parks and places to see in Bath.
The check in process was quick and smooth and we were shown to our room by the very friendly Mark. Our bags had been taken to our room prior to us checking in which was a nice touch.

The room was spacious with generally good facilities including a small fridge (with daily fresh milk), good tea and coffee facilities, ironing board and DVD player. Unfortunately the shower was changeable in temperature and there were a few small aesthetic issues (the shower door handle kept falling off for example) but overall a comfortable room for the two of us.
The breakfast was amazing and is highly recommended. There was a vast range of options on the menu as well as a well stocked hot and cold buffet.

Generally a very nice stay and we would be pleased to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey_and_Erika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Property: Bailbrook House Hotel
Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#9 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion has recently completed a £10 million refurbishment. Welcome to Bailbrook House Hotel in Bath, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years. In less than one year since re-opening Bailbrook House Hotel is now one of the leading hotels in Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing