We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in attention to detail to reservations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel should have restored my faith in hotels charging above average prices, but unfortuanetly did not. While the room I stayed in was clean, well maintained and had all the amenties i'd expect in a 4* hotel), the management behind the scenes (mostly rooms division) did not and left a sour taste on what should have been a lovely relaxing weekend with friends.

We'd booked 4 twin rooms, and unfortunately the hotel had decided to overbook themselves and we ended up with three king rooms and firstly 1 double room. For 8 ladies, this was not acceptable. Some of the party accepted this as they didn't want to move after realising the problem after check in. There was no way myself and my friend could share a double, and reception finally had to allocate us an additional room, after calls to and from reception. The concierge did then mention, as we were being moved to the additional room on another floor, that they had a hen party in and it would appear that they had taken all their twin rooms..

I am an ex hotel professional, and this sort of issue just infuriates me. At no point before check in, during checkin were we told of the issue with the rooms. A receptionist came and 'apologised' after to my room mate, while we were waiting for taxi's into Bath, but to be frank, it wasn't enough for me. At £169 a double room, I expect better management than this. They knew in advance of our arrival that this was an issue and did nothing to notify us or to mitigate the disappointment. To put us in a double was inexcusable, at least the other ladies had to share a king bed.

The rest of the stay was fine, good service at breakfast, bar service was good before 9pm, when we arrived back at 1130, it had slipped a little and we had to keep reminding the waitress to take our orders.

Wish it was a better review, as i'd planned a lovely relaxing weekend, but it did put a sour note on the trip.

Room Tip: 310 is a small double, with sloping ceilings.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mum22boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,666)
There are newer reviews for Bailbrook House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,481 - 1,487 of 1,666 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have just emailed the Bailbrook House to thank everyone for making our stay such an enjoyable one. We were very fortunate and very grateful for the upgrade to the Valentine Jones room and the hospitality that we received throughout our short stay. There were some very nice touches which included coffee on arrival, a TV in the bathroom, champagne in the fridge, the pre-ordering of food in the lounge prior to going down for dinner, the a la carte breakfast menu and very attentive staff who were there to help. Everyone was extremely polite and helpful and we’re almost certain to return to stay with you again or stay at another hotel in the Handpicked Group.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russellhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent 1 night at the Bailbrook hotel which we got from the secret escapes website. When we first arrived the staff on reception both stood up to greet us and there were chairs for us to sit on. We felt like royalty. We were taken to our room and the staff member insisted in taking our bag. He showed us everything in the room. An hour later we received a curtesy call asking if the room was ok. We had an executive room which was fantastic. We had a coffee machine, wide screen tv and DVD player. The hotel provided robes and slippers. The bed was very comfortable. We decided not to have a meal at the hotel but the menu looked very nice and there was choice if menus. The room service menu had choice and was not extravagantly priced. At check out the staff asked if we had enjoyed our stay and asked what we had done and what we were doing that day. Incredibly polite. It's location was perfect, the bus stop being just up the road. We would definitely stay again. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Had a 2 night stay at Bailbrook House Bath. The hotel is situated on top of a hill about 15 minutes out of Bath. A bus stop outside the hotel to take you into Bath centre. Had a wonderful stay with champagne and canapes before our evening meal. The 3 course meal was really nice, service good. The tables in the restaurant were very well spaced. The rooms were large rooms and were comfortable and clean. Breakfasts were self service with a lot of choice. We had a wonderful time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 333Ann33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful stay, not only did the hotel exceed our expectations but the staff made it even more special, we were however a bit surprised to find that a member of staff from this excellent hotel is also working at the neighbouring hotel just down the road where we had a not so enjoyable dinner. Our thoughts were why should a member of staff that works in an excellent 4 star hotel want to work at another hotel which isn't even in the same league, I think he got a bit of a shock when he saw us.
We recommend Bailbrook House but avoid the old mill even if you fancy an Italian meal there are plenty of good Italian restaurants in the centre of Bath

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scot m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Came to the hotel for a cream tea for my mothers birthday. Staff we're extremely friendly making me feel very comforted and welcome. the building itself was absolutely gorgeous. Huge selection of cakes and biscuits ..all delicious . I hope to return very soon

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Melita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a wonderful two nights at Bailbrook House.The staff were really friendly and helpful, our room was spacious and very comfortable. The hotel buildings are beautiful - a lovely mix of traditional and modern, with lovely views. The breakfast buffet was delicious and we had some drinks in the Conservatory Bar, where the service was excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely love to go back. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £111 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath with on-site complimentary parking. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years providing the perfect base for a city break to Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing