We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, spacious room AND TV in the bathroom!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, spacious room AND TV in the bathroom!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

for those who truly wish to indulge in a spot of doing nothing for a few lazy days this is a great hotel - albeit that it doesn't have a spa (this is BATH after all - go to town) or a swimming pool, however the rooms are gloriously comfortable and spacious. Ours was just a standard double but it had more space I've seen in many hotel suites. The ensuite bathroom was super-luxe (the rooms had recently all been re-furbished) with an exceedingly decadent inbuilt TV at the end of the bath for those addicted to sport and unable to miss a moment of a Test match. The Cloisters restaurant menus had a great choice of dishes and all were very tasty. Breakfast offers a very wide range of dishes to suit all tastes and I had incredibly delicious grilled mushrooms, bacon and tomatoes despite still being full from dinner the night before - it was irresistible. Have also to put in a special plaudit for Otto at front desk who made us feel welcome from the first moment and enthused about Bath better than any travel guide. The weather was glorious, the air conditioning worked and all in all we had the most relaxing self-indulgent couple of days.

Room Tip: stay in the old manor house rooms if you're looking for real style and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cargi1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It was great to read about your stay and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the special mention of Otto, he is a true ambassador for the hotel and has a wealth of knowledge of the area. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    400
    113
    23
    14
See reviews for
196
983
15
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex/London
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

As per the title, this review is as it says on the tin! You'll love the location, make sure you take a walk in the grounds, food was first class, a great selection and of the highest quality. The rooms are very high spec, with fantastically comfy beds.

They have some very friendly staff, most were great, but I feel for a few of the restaurant and bar staff as they appeared thin on the ground the days I was there, and really in need of some training.

Lastly - not that the website says this... but it doesn't actual have a gym which was a great added extra, just wish they had a swimming pool to top it off! Get the diggers out Hand Picked ;o)

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonesy_Chelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments about the team. I have noted your comments regarding some of the team and I will discuss this at our next Food & Beverage operations meeting.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Gorgeous location, beautiful grounds. We stayed in the lodge very close next door as we were passing through Bath for only 2 nights. Our rooms were newly refurbished with very comfortable beds! Breakfast was a highlight, the omelettes were delicious! Staff were always efficient, helpful and wonderfully polite for the whole of our stay. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay during your recent visit to Bath.It is always nice to read that guests will return and i hope you have the chance to visit us again soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Overall a very good trip. Lovely clean rooms & building, terrific breakfast. Good evening meal.Good deal for the weekend...
Staff a little disorganised at times (maybe new management?) but this was over ridden by their kindness and willingness to help and meet all needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It was great to read you enjoyed your stay,our breakfats chef will be pleased to read your comment about breakfast.I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A night in the Bailbrook House as a birthday treat and what a treat it was. Hotel and grounds beautiful and located on the outskirts of Bath, easy to catch a bus or if feeling energetic take a lovely 45 min stroll. Perfect location for exploring Bath and the beautiful surrounding countryside.

Staff go out of there way to be helpful, even when waking through the hotel if you look remotely confused/ lost or troubled they will go out of their way to help.

Thanks go to both Monica and Mark who following a minor issue during our stay were genuinely sorry and couldn't do enough to make amends. First class customer care service.

Can only comment on breakfast which was good, plenty of food and service again excellent. Bath has too many restaurants not to venture from the hotel for dinner. We will certainly book the Bailbrook House again and will try dining at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah_182014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It was nice to read you had a super birthday treat with us. Thank you for the special mention of Monica & Mark, I know they will be please to read your comments. It always good to read that guests will return - just don’t leave it too long!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I have just spent two nights at this hotel along with two friends. We booked the hotel through Avios and never having been to this hotel did not know quite what it would be like. Yes we read the reviews and saw the website but it is always a matter of personal taste as to whether you like a hotel or not.
I have to say, though that this hotel is one of the best we have been to. Our friends also agreed with this sentiment. The staff were second to none, nothing was too much trouble. We received a very warm welcome upon arrival and the receptionist went above and beyond to help us.
Whilst we were staying there our friend lost her camera and the staff rang all the taxi firms in Bath to see if they had found the camera. They did find it and the staff returned the camera to our friend.
The hotel bedroom we had was very spacious with excellent facilities. Everything was spotlessly clean and in excellent order.
The breakfast was excellent with a good range of food, hot and cold.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room in the annex but it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwynneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor, and what a fabulous review - thank you. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all your kind words regarding the team. I know the team will be pleased when they read the review. What great news that your camera was found too. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A beautifully presented Hotel in a lovely setting with first rate staff.

Nothing too much trouble for the staff. When we arrived towards the end of dinner service they instantly offered to take our bags to the room whilst showing us to the restaurant. Room was very nicely appointed (even has a TV in the bathroom) and clean. Excellent décor in keeping with a grand building.

Walked into Bath, but this takes about 35 minutes along a busy road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. It great to read you enjoyed your stay and thaT you were looked after when you arrived and shown to the restaurant. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Property: Bailbrook House Hotel
Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath with on-site complimentary parking. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years providing the perfect base for a city break to Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing