We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I would rate the hotel 4.5.
We've stayed in Bath before but in the city centre. This hotel is about a mile from the centre. It is set in a parkland environment and it is pleasant to sit outside but there are no real paths through the property. You can take a bus into the centre, or walk along the A4 or the best option is to follow the path of the nearby canal - about 45 minutes. You can even take a canal boat into the city.
The hotel has recently finished a major renovation - everything was immaculate. Our bedroom was large and comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. One evening we had dinner in the main restaurant, located in a lower level and though plenty of windows it felt like a cellar. Food was good and service was a little 'stuffy'. Second night we ate in the bistro by the bar. This was a really good meal and the Latvian manager was very attentive and overcame all of our doubts by serving the best rump steak we have ever had. And we could look out at the woods.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jeturner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It was great to read your comments about the Conservatory Bar and thank you for your comments regarding the Rump steak and GK who looks after the bar. I am sorry that you found the service in Cloisters stuffy. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is special. It's secluded, well located, plenty of character, comfort and style.
The room was big and comfortable, the bed was very big.
Breakfast was very good. Iwish I booked at least another night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House should you visit Bath again in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Short stay only, hotel looks great on web, claiming "commanding views over Bath" .

It is a shame, there were only 3 rooms with that view, no restaurant, terrace or lounge. You could walk down a grass field and see Bath. But that was the only disappointing thing. Rooms are great, spacious, beds comfortable. minibar only has water, but roomservice will bring you drinks by the glass.

Service was good, breakfast a bit basic items, but good quality/taste, friendly staff.
Overall an excellent stay.

Room Tip: As above, there are only 3 rooms with the "bath view". Otherwise don't book this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank xaMlA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you felt you were unable to enjoy the views. Guests are able to enjoy views of Bath from the Duke of Clarence lounge and tables in the loggia of the Cloisters Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House should you visit the area again in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It's not often that I don't find some fault with a hotel (!) but all in all, everything we experienced with the Bailbrook House hotel was done very well and we could find nothing wrong at all with the room, the service (which was impeccable) or the food, and throughout all was clean and well-maintained.

We had a young child with us and he was accommodated well, with the cot in the room already set up on arrival, and the room itself was spacious and clean.

Overall, it's a lovely hotel that's clearly very well run and we shall be returning in the future when in Bath.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House when you next visit Bath.

Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you want all round good value and not pay down town Bath prices I would really recommend this hotel which is on the edge of town. We really enjoyed our stay here, the rooms were excellent, the staff friendly and food was very good what more can one ask for. It is also one of the better hotels I have stayed in recently but just remember it is on the edge of town so you you will have get transport to see all the sights of Bath. Next time I am in Bath I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JOC834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and visit to Bath.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked a two night stay and were warmly welcomed with our bags taken to our room in a very attractive extension to the main building. There are some very attractive public rooms in the main building, including a bar and separate restaurant and two lounges overlooking Bath. Our room was large with a seating area and was very well appointed. The air conditioning was welcome on a hot Summer's day. When we came back on the first evening the restaurant had closed but they very helpfully produced some light refreshments on request. The bathroom was very modern with large towels, but the water pressure was disappointing and the hot water wasn't entirely stable. Inclusive breakfast in the morning was served buffet style, and the range of fruit and yoghurt on display was limited but it was entirely acceptable.

Bailbrook House is very well positioned, only 15 minutes from the centre of Bath by bus. There is also a water taxi service nearby. The Reception staff were very helpful with maps and local information.

So why not 5 stars? Because of the problem with the card swipe! When we arrived we were told that the hotel needed to swipe our credit card for the cost of two nights at £144 per night, plus an estimated £100 for extras during our stay. I've stayed in lots of hotels where they take a swipe, but it's never had this outcome. We paid the bill in full on departure on the Wednesday morning, and later in the day I found that the £388 was still showing as a pending transaction on our card app. I rang the hotel that evening to be told that it would be removed overnight. It wasn't. I rang back on the Friday afternoon and was asked to send an email with the details, which then wasn't acknowledged. I rang again the following Monday, to be told that it wasn't the hotel's fault but that of Handpicked Hotels whose policy is to take a swipe on arrival which can take up to 10 days to clear. It actually took 7. We've never had that experience, all the other hotels we've stayed in both in the UK and abroad swipe a card in case of extras but don't actually hold an amount which then takes up to a week to be cleared after you check out. Maybe we've just been lucky, but it was a disappointing end to the stay. We'd certainly use the hotel in the future but would pay for the room on arrival to avoid this happening again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay.

I was concerned to learn of the issues that you experienced regarding the release of the pre-authorisation amount. I understand that the Reception Manager kept in regular contact to update you concerning the transaction. Please accept my apologies that you were not advised on check-in that an approval would be sought on your credit card for an amount equal to your total room nights plus incidental charges. Pre-authorisation amounts are generally released by the bank within 48 hours after departure, however very occasionally this has taken 7-10 working days. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House in the future

Kind regards Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

One night business trip - excellent service and overall quality of hotel, beds and food were all outstanding. Could not ask for more. Would highly recommend as an excellent 4* hotel to anyone staying in Bath

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Meme083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel on a business trip.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House on another occasion.

Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £90 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath with on-site complimentary parking. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years providing the perfect base for a city break to Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing