We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Halcyon Hotel Apartments
Ranked #5 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights whilst visiting friends in Bath. Fell in love with our apartment and now want to remodel my own flat on it, particularly the bedroom!

Felt private and we adored having the extra social space compared to staying in a hotel - great as I was sharing with a friend. Huge living and kitchen areas, with cool artwork, all mod cons and attention to detail, as others have said. Stylish white bathroom and comfy bed with lovely linen. All round good taste.

Fab location, close/walking distance to the main attractions and the good bars and restaurants. I parked in the car park they recommended and walked for a couple of mins to get to the apartments, no issue there, although perhaps more awkward if you have lots of luggage.

I was a bit apprehensive about the noise, but we had no trouble at all, and I'm quite a light sleeper.

Breakfast next door was excellent. Lots of choice, bubbly service - didn't mind my friend ordering off-menu or us settling in to read the papers on one of the mornings.

Was sad to have to check out, but now very much looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatsuHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in apartment 6 at the Halcyon Apartments and was not disappointed. The one bedroom apartment described as cosy easily accommodated myself, my husband and infant son. Attention to detail was fantastic with a cot provided as well as a change mat, a diaper genie, high chair and a little basket of goodies for us to use for bubs. The apartment was very modern and exactly as it looked on the website. There were smart TVs in both the lounge and bedroom area with netflix included, an iPod Dock and a nespresso machine as well as all the other expected inclusions. The breakfast provided was at a restaurant/cafe connected with the apartments and went beyond what we expected. The location was fabulous and within easy walking distance of all the major sites and shopping and there are a good selection of restaurants downstairs. Noise was not a factor at all being on the top level. The only minor issue was the lack of a lift but we were able to leave our pram in a secured area downstairs so this was not an issue really. Highly recommend this property for families and couples!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank msl801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Ticks all the boxes of being well located being central to most Bath holiday attractions, clean, well-provisioned and no-fuss contemporary furnishings. Fridge was stocked with fresh milk and capsules for a late night Nespresso cuppa. The staff were very attentive and friendly, Only slight inconvenience is not having a lift so we had to lug our luggage up to the 3rd floor apartment. Living area for Apartment 2 are up three flights of stairs and bedrooms up an additional flight. Rooms are a decent enough size to not be crampy. Also you have to find your own parking around town in the street or public car park about 300m away. Recommended as a good, neat self-catering apartment

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just come back from two fantastic nights at the Halcyon Apartments. We stayed in Apartment 1, three adults and one toddler. The welcoming was fantastic, and we could not fault the design and space of the apartment. Nothing was too much trouble and they even supplied some baby essentials as a little extra in case we needed anything. The location is superb with everything in walking distance.We loved breakfast at The Porter, the staff were so friendly.
Please dont hesitate to book here as Im sure this place wont remain a secret for too much longer!
Great memories x

Room Tip: apartment 1 of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were lucky enough to book the last remaining apartment for a couple of nights over the Easter break. We stayed in apartment 4 which was beautifully decorated and enormous! Despite what other guests have said, we found the apartment quiet and cannot recommend this place enough.

The service from Katrin was fantastic and she was very welcoming. Breakfast was downstairs at Clayton's Kitchen, where the service was equally as good and the food was brilliant. If we had time we would have had lunch or dinner here (we ate at the Circus restaurant, which is situated just off the Circus - only a 5 minute walk away, and the food was excellent).

All in all, the Halcyon Apartments are great value in a perfect city centre location and we will definitely be going back next time we are in Bath.

Room Tip: Our bedroom was at the back so noise was never an issue for us as other travellers have mentioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great central place to stay. Accomodation a high standard and there is no set times. You can do what you want when you want and have the luxury of own lounge and kitchen. Truly great place to stay. Perfect for a couple getaway

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Overall a great appartment and very impressed with the customer service, especially with Katrin who was extremely friendly, helpful and professional, a true credit to the hotel. The cleanliness of the appartment was beyond approach and equipped with all the latest mod cons including Nespresso machine (and complimentary coffee pods), as well as the latest flat screen TVs in the living room and bedroom. Lots of nice little touches to suggest someone has really put a lot of thought into it, which makes what I am about to reveal even more perplexing.

In the living room their was what appeared to be the carcass of a dead goat stapled to the frame of a chair, quite vile and incredibly off putting (the fact that this chairs' once equally cute sleeve chewing friend was also residing in the communal stairwell suggest that this was a job lot and not one of a kind unique to our appartment), also unless I was very much mistaken the duvet was stuffed with duck feathers, again quite offensive (not to mention prickly) to anyone in the vegan/vegetarian community. 
It is a shame that such thoughtlessness detracted from an otherwise exceptional stay, I hope the hotel will address these issues as I am certain that anyone concerned about animal welfare issues will be repelled by this. My advice to the hotel regarding the taxidermied chairs would be to wrap them up in a duvet, put them in a box, nail the box shut and bury the box, then go out and buy some decent chairs.
The hotel does so much right but this is not acceptable to us and for this reason it is with regret that we could not stay here again without confirmation that the offensive articles have been removed and I am certain any vegetarian or vegan reading this review will feel the same.

The hotel does so much so well, I am sure they did not intend to offend as they so clearly wish to please and I am sure they can promptly rectify what I am certain is an oversight. I would normally have given a well deserved five stars but have to mark down for the chair/duvet combo, a real shame as the appartment is otherwise tastefully decorated.


Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,433 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel Apartments

Address: 16 George Street, Bath BA1 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Price Range: £137 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Halcyon Hotel Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Halcyon Apartments are for guests who like to have their cake and eat it. Located in the heart of Bath next to our sister property,The Porter, these luxury apartments are more than just a plush pied-àterre. We've blended the hospitality and comfort of The Halcyon with all the trappings of The Porter. As a guest here you get the best of both worlds: the space and privacy of your own city pad with the kind of hotel services you wish you had at home. Beautifully designed to reflect their Georgian heritage, our spacious apartments have elegant high ceilings, large sash windows and a neutral decor furnished with statement pieces that makes for a laid-back, sophisticated vibe. Dine out, dine in, hit the shops, take in the sights or just lounge like a local. Our apartments have everything you'll need for a perfect stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Halcyon Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing