We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #5 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I have lived in Australia for 13 years and when we went back to the UK in 2010,
Bath was one of the first places I wanted to go back to, I love it there.

This B&B is perfect, it's in a really nice area, easy walking distance from the city, taking in pretty little parks and Pulteney Bridge and has parking.

The room was really lovely, very comfortable with plush linen for the bed, a lovely ensuite with shower and the breakfast was wonderful !

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bath.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

This B&B is truly worth the stay. Centrally located, only an 8 minute walk to all the shops, pubs, restaurants and tourist attractions of central Bath. The room was immaculately clean, and boasting a very modern and efficient bathroom. The highlight of our stay was the breakfast which catered to everyone's taste. Fresh fruits, croissants, yoghurts, cereals and juices to start off, followed bya choice of at least five breakfast menus, all prepared to perfection. As discerning B&B owners ourselves, we found this B&B at the top our our list of B&B stays throughout the UK. Highly recommended stay for one and all. You will be most pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuckedinntheharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Arrived 3-4 hours later than anticipated and were still given a warm welcome. Breakfast outstanding, service above and beyond, rooms spacious, clean and well-maintained. Close proximity to Bath, but not so close as to be busy. Stayed an extra night and left luggage there for a few hours even though we had checked out - none of which was a problem at all. My partner was so impressed she insisted I leave a review!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed just for 1 night but really wished we could have stayed longer. The B&B is perfect, really comfortable and in a great location. The centre of Bath is around 10-15 minute walk from Chestnuts House.

Breakfast is served is a lovely room overlooking the garden and was delicious.

Tony even let us use his washing machine while we were there....thanks so much!

Highly recommend and would definately say again if we are ever back in Bath.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneySally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Chestnuts House is very comfortable and clean (immaculate), with an easy flat stroll to town. Tony is a fantastic host, his breakfasts are amazing! Nothing was too much trouble. Loved staying here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

If we go to Bath again this is where we'll stay. Good location, town centre a 10 min walk so car was left in small but perfectly adequate carpark for duration of our stay. Tony was very accommodating, we were very well looked after. Thank you Tony :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondgirl105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I stayed in Chestnuts for two nights and was delighted with the experience. Despite appearing fairly small from the outside, the guesthouse is spacious and airy inside. It also benefits from being a short walk from the city centre. My room was beautifully furnished, with modern yet warm touches. The bathroom was spotless, the toiletries were premium (The White Company) and the breakfast was amazing. Tasty and generous, and served with enthusiasm and kindness by Antonio. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
1 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 159 in Bath
1,681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#3 of 159 in Bath
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
1.7 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 159 in Bath
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#2 of 159 in Bath
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £88 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing