We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #4 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eltham, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic clean, comfortable Accomodation, could not ask for better, bed was great, breakfast was great and location was great. Thanks Toni had a memorable stay in your B & B and loved Bath and your attention to detail, thanks for the Easter chocolates.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    49
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
124
570
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been said?
Booked an overnight stay as a treat for my sister-in-law to celebrate her 70th birthday[accompanied by me also no spring chicken] From the minute we walked in the door we were made very welcome . The room was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was 1st class. Cannot praise it enough! Level walk into town which took us old fogies approximately 7 minutes at a slow walk.
Thank you Toni for an amazing stay [and sorting out the bedroom fan at the ungodly hour I rung you] I will be back with my husband in tow!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was lovely and had a double and a single bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very comfortable room and Toni is a friendly, helpful host. Lovely breakfast as other reviewers have mentioned. The location is perfect for an easy level walk into the centre (5mins to Pulteney Bridge).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The combination of good location and excellent reviews plus the convenience of on site parking (often not available in central Bath) led us here and we were not disappointed. Comfortable, well appointed accommodation, outstanding breakfasts, helpful host and a convenient location. Possibly not the cheapest b&b but well worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is really a gem of a place to stay. Lovely warm and well furnished rooms, with everything spotless and well maintained. Breakfasts are delicious - cooked to order with top class ingredients. Host Toni is helpful, friendly and professional. All this together with its close proximity to the centre of Bath makes it a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annieh310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

As soon as we arrived the host made us very welcome. The room was spotless, couldn't fault it at all. The breakfast menu was superb, I had the salmon and scrambled egg and it was delicious. Would definitely recommend this B&B whilst exploring Bath.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyWoo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We returned early March for our 6th year on the run. Chestnuts was a real find and we wouldn't stay anywhere else! Toni is the perfect host - approachable, friendly, professional, informative. The house is immaculate. The rooms have everything you need, are most comfortable and with beautiful bathroom (plus white room toiletries) bedding and furnishings. Breakfasts cooked to perfection, with lots of choice. 10 mins walk from Bath centre, so no need to use the car. Chestnuts offer ample free parking. Chestnuts is on a lovely quiet road, with a beautiful park full of squirrels as it was a lovely sunny weekend. Also a nice park to have a run through.
See you again next March Toni, and thanks for a wonderful stay once again!

Room Tip: Downstairs room handy as we like to go for a run. This would be a lovely room in the summer as it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernieandiandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Property: Chestnuts House
Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing