We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard in Bath B&B”
Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #5 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High standard in Bath B&B”
Reviewed 30 April 2007

We chose the Chestnuts House B&B on the bases that it had a car park And was within easy walking distance from the centre of Bath. About 10 mins at our slow pace. The standard was high and with 5 alternative cooked breakfast it gave a wide choice. The overall standard was as good and the rooms were larger than most B&B's. Drink and snack provision in bed rooms better than most..All staff were helpful and friendly and the owner Toni is and excelent host with a good knowledge of the locality.
Stuart Jamieson

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchester11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    51
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
127
590
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2007

Having entered 'B&B Bath' in Google, my expectations were hopeful, but not high. I certainly didn't expect Chestnuts House - what a gem!
Location excellent, rooms beautiful, breakfasts that set you up for the day, hosts knowledgeable and friendly.
Just one downside - I only booked for two days. Already looking forward to going back!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyMac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havering
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2007

The Chestnuts guest house is in an ideal location just off of the centre of bath, next to a lovely park.
Breakfast is outstanding good, including such delights as smoked salmon.
It was our first holiday with 6 month old Catherine, and the Chestnut provide a high chair and travel cot, which were invaluable. We were also pleased to see that parking is included. Overall five stars for one of the best places I have every stayed in.

  • Liked — They always wanted to help you.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ela24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2007

I was looking online for accommodation in Bath for a one night stay, somewhere within reasonable walking distance of the city centre. I checked out reviews on Trip Advisor and saw how highly rated Chestnuts House was, so on the basis of the reviews I read, I went ahead and booked. What a good move that was! The standard of service provided, cleanliness of every area within the property, attention to detail (DVD players in bedrooms with a wide range of very current films to view free of charge, for example) was all second to none - not to mention a ridiculously fabulous breakfast (with a superb choice of options available)! Toni was obliging beyond words and the whole experience of staying at Chestnuts House was top notch, from start to finish. My husband, who has been cabin crew with BA for 30 years or so, says this place is as good as many of the 4/5 star hotels he has stayed in! I only have one negative thing to say about our time at Chestnuts House and that is that one night was simply not enough! We will be going back, that much is for sure!

  • Liked — Friendliness & helpfulness of owners, cleanliness of accommodation, proximity to city centre
  • Disliked — Nothing adverse to say
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2007

What can I say - this B&B totally lived up to all expectations. Our room was absolutely lovely as was the ensuite bathroom. This is not to be taken for granted in the UK - and we were thrilled with the level of accomodation for the price (which is quite reasonable by UK standards). Toni was full of useful information and very welcoming. Breakfast was a great start to our day and much needed given how much
walking we did. The location is perfect - far enough out to feel peaceful, yet close enough to be easily reached by foot from either the city center or the train station. We also really enjoyed being able to retire to our room and watch a DVD (chosen from an up to date
selection) before going to sleep.

Can't recommend Chestnuts House highly enough.

  • Liked — Wonderfully decorated and clean bedroom and bathroom
  • Disliked — Nothing - we have no complaints
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank San Antonio member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2007

We had a 2 night stay at Chesnuts House. We booked the Superior Room,
while our friend booked the standard. Both rooms equally of a high standard, and light and airy. The breakfasts are second to none and the service and welcoming manner of Toni and his wife was lovely. So much so this is a second year in a row that we have stayed at their B&B. Hopefully I will get the chance to come back again. I cant
speak highly of the Chestnuts and its one of the reasons I came back to visit Bath as I knew that I would feel relaxed and have a great stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated as is the rest of the house,
with its light and airy modern feel accompanied with its homely furnishing. Toni again was very helpful with information of things to
do while we were in Bath, even though we had tried what we thought was most things, he was still able to help us out. Thank you once again for a great stay and I have recommended the Chestnuts to all of our friends. Great value for money and excellent warm service!!

  • Liked — The service/hopitality and decor of the place and the great breakfasts.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

I've just spent a lovely eastern with my family in the Chestnuts. We have had the family-room with a double and a single bed.
I could only repeat the previous reviews: this B&B is simple the best: very clean rooms, great beds, great location (getting tired during the day by sightseeing, it takes only 10 minutes to walk back from the city-centre!), superb breakfast!! Tony is a nice host, providing all the information you need in Bath. Thank you Chestnuts, you made our trip!

  • Liked — very clean room & bathroom, excellent breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BabaYagaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 157 in Bath
532 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 157 in Bath
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Property: Chestnuts House
Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing