We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - neat & professional”
Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #5 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2007

Chestnuts House has the perfect location to stay. It is close enough to easily walk to the center of Bath with all the things you want to see and good restaurants while being far enough removed so it is does not have a lot of traffic & business noise. Finding it was a bit challenging for us as the petrol station used as a landmark in the directions is no longer there (torn down to build apartments). Our room on the first floor was cozy, but I was awoken in the morning by the breakfast preparation noise. The breakfast is wonderful and the proprietor had no problem meeting my crazy request for a Coke with my breakfast. Chestnuts House was one of the nicest places we stayed while on our UK holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank GinnyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2007

Excellent accommodation and service, perfect for a relaxing break. Very good choice of breakfast, much better than you would get in many larger establishments. Modern style rooms and within a short walk of all Bath has to offer. A most enjoyable stay and somewhere we would not hesitate to recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CandBSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Chestnuts house is a cozy first rate B & B providing extremely comfortable accomodations as well as a top notch breakfast that included fresh fruit, croissants, juices and the most divine eggs benedict that side of the pond! Comfortable beds, lovely furnishings and a great flat screen television with a variety of movies to help ourselves to.Innkeeper Toni couldn't have been more accomodating and helpful. We really felt as if we were home away from home! Location was great, as it was a 5 minute walk into the town of Bath. Toni was also helpful in his suggestions regarding places to dine as well as things to do and see. We would MOST DEFINITELY return to Chestnuts House should we return to the lovely area of Bath.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank drdkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

Chestnuts House was the perfect place to stay for our three nights in Bath. It is within easy walking distance (10 min.) of the center of town with all the sites, shops and restaurants. We did not have a car here and did not need one. We had a ground floor superior double room and it was very comfortable, attractive and extremely clean. It had the biggest towels and best shower that we encountered in our trip to England. The room was also very quiet - no problems with street noise.

Tony, the owner, does everything he can to make people feel at home. His breakfasts are amazing - he offers a menu to choose from and all items are expertly prepared. Tony was also wonderfully accommodating in helping his guests plan their day and select restaurants for dinner.

The prices are also very reasonable by Bath standards, making this an even better choice.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank ConstantGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

The Chestnuts bed and breakfast is by far the cleanest, friendliest bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in.

The breakfast was very good and you was made to feel very welcome. The quality was evident in the room, lounge and dining area. I would strongly recommend anyone considering staying in Bath to try the Chestnuts before looking elsewhere.

The location is superb for a pleasant stroll into the town centre.

I will return again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GolfkingKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2007

We chose the Chestnuts House B&B on the bases that it had a car park And was within easy walking distance from the centre of Bath. About 10 mins at our slow pace. The standard was high and with 5 alternative cooked breakfast it gave a wide choice. The overall standard was as good and the rooms were larger than most B&B's. Drink and snack provision in bed rooms better than most..All staff were helpful and friendly and the owner Toni is and excelent host with a good knowledge of the locality.
Stuart Jamieson

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank Manchester11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2007

Having entered 'B&B Bath' in Google, my expectations were hopeful, but not high. I certainly didn't expect Chestnuts House - what a gem!
Location excellent, rooms beautiful, breakfasts that set you up for the day, hosts knowledgeable and friendly.
Just one downside - I only booked for two days. Already looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyMac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
0.9 mi away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 159 in Bath
1,941 reviews
1 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#11 of 159 in Bath
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#2 of 159 in Bath
563 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 159 in Bath
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#9 of 159 in Bath
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £87 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing