We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #5 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 1 August 2007

I recently stay at this B&B and I have to say that it is relly wonderful. Our room was very large and clean and the bathroom was even better! There was a tv,a dvd player and coffee making facilities in the room at our disposal. Everything was extremely accurated and detailed. I think the most amazing part of our stay was breakfast. It was really delicious and the service was great.
Toni, the owner made a terrific omelette for us!
He is very nice and kind and he has been great giving us advise and streets directions.
The Chestnuts House is really better that many 4 or 5 stars hotels I have been to.
I definitly would stay there again.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyraEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    50
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
125
576
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2007

We read about Chestnuts on the trip advisor website and we were thrilled that all of the things that had been said about it were completely true. It is in a fabulous location, no more than a 10 minute walk to the center of Bath, yet it is quiet and peaceful. The rooms were the best we stayed in during our trip - spacious, clean and beautifully furnished.

The owner, Toni and his goddaughter were extremely friendly and helpful. We were two couples travelling together and our friends were returning home - back to Canada directly from Bath. He checked schedules and arranged transportation for them. He gave us advice and recommendations, even making dinner reservations for us and arranging for a taxi. He also cooked some of the best breakfeasts we had on the trip - his eggs benedict being particularly scrumptious.

The house is a perfect B and B, containing a living room where we could gather, a lovely outside deck area where we sat one evening sipping wine and eating take away food and a pretty dining room where we enjoyed our delicious breakfeasts. There is also onsite parking!

We highly recommend Chestnuts and will most certainly return there if we get to Bath again.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious rooms in a fantastic location
  • Disliked — there was nothing not to like
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DSMacVancouverIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We recently stayed 4 nights at Chestnuts House.
The service was superb, the room delightful and the breakfasts were the best we've tasted for years.
The traffic noise was a little disturbing at times but didn't spoil our stay and we will return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FidgeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2007

stayed here for two nights couldnt fault it the room was lovely and really convienent for town centre only ten minutes walk the breakfast was lovely my wife had the stuffed mushroom which she loved the owners couldnt have been more helpful yes we would go back again

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank clingonshave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2007

A truly remarkable experience. Best is delightful host (perhaps it helped he had spent several years in our home city in USA). The situation is great! Close to city centre and a wonderful walk there through a great local park. Superb breakfast choices - one need only have one meal a day. Easter is a fantastic time to be there. You even get an Easter Basket at your table. Rooms/beds, etc., spotless.
Nice lounge area and DVD's to play if it's wet . Parking convenient, but a bit tricky for Americans or large vehicles!

  • Liked — Friendly host
  • Disliked — no issue
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GEMCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2007

We went in april this year my boyfriend and i as it was my birthday and had always wanted to go longleat. This place is beautifull, gorgeous breakfast amazing spread. Rooms were spacious and deliteful. Nothing seemed like to much trouble. The host was fantastic aswell. Upon arrival i was greeted with a lovely bunch of flowers (my boyfriend had arranged this with the B and B). It made our stay it was lovely. Would also like to recommend the firehouse rotissere to eat out at. Book before you go.
All in all it was fantastic best break we have had. many thanks to the host for making it a memorable expierence.

  • Liked — it was beautiful all new and fresh and light
  • Disliked — nothing was bad
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ukbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

Excellent value and great location next to pretty Henrietta Park. It's only a 5 minute walk into the city centre and attractions. Having a DVD player in the room, and a wide selection of recently released DVds to borrow was great for the evenings, especially when not much on TV. Toni is a great host and provides very helpful advice. Breakfasts were superb - 5 star quality with plenty of choice and great presentation and fresh produce. Overall would certainly recommend highly to our friends.

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussiesOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
1.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Property: Chestnuts House
Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing