We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small room”
Review of Astor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astor House
Ranked #66 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This room is set up with 1 double and 2 singles and suitable for a family of 4. As a group of 3 adults (1 couple & 1 single), we had trouble finding somewhere in Bath that would accomodate us in one room. This was attic style accomodation with a modern, clean bathroom. Great shower water pressure, but the downside to that was we could hear the shower next door being used, so they could probably hear ours too. Double bed very comfortable, and had a pleasant nights sleep until about 7.30am when the traffic noise started out the front. Maybe double glazing on the front windows would help this problem. Parking on site a bit of a hit and miss affair, if you dont fit on site, you have to find a spot out the front on the street.

Room Tip: Room 7 has windows facing the street, and was a bit noisy with traffic early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed for a Friday and Saturday night when exploring the area. The room was clean and comfortable, the check-in and check out were quick and the breakfast good. Would happily stay there again as it was convenient and there were no issues with parking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The house is on a major-ish road so was very noisy in the morning. The facility is decorated very nicely and Liz (the owner) was very helpful and lovely. The sitting room was the only place I could get wireless, but their listing did say 'wireless available in common areas' so I got what I was promised.
I would agree that the price was a bit high for the quality of bed, although the linens were nice and breakfast was good enough. The breakfast room was immaculately decorated and set out.
We were allowed to check in early which was very helpful for our timeline.
It was about 15 minutes walk in to town which was convenient and taxi back was less than £5 from the train station.
Overall nice stay, it is a bit pricey but most of Bath is... what can you do?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Check in was very easy. We were early and arrived just as the hostess was sticking the envelopes to the door (see earlier reviews!). The room was very clean, but for £110 a night it was very small. The fan in our en-suite bathroom was painfully noisey and the toilet made strange noises as it refilled. The bed was comfortable although ridiculously squeaky!

We both wanted to have a lie in but I felt very uneasy as there was no way to indicate that we were still in the room. It would be helpful to have a "Do not disturb" sign up. Also, I understand that the B&B needs to be cleaned, but it was done very noisily and I felt that we were expected to be leaving sooner rather than later.

Again, as with the previous reviews, there was no one to say "hello" or how could they help us on the two mornings that we were there. I did feel like we were intruding on their house.

Take the prices down and there will be more satisfied customers!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilwelshyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I should have taken more notice of the review titled 'Overpriced, poor hosting...' This review is spot on. We were greeted with an envelope stuck to the door. Room was clean but small and stuffy. We booked for 2 nights. Bed was uncomfortable and we had awful night on a very cheap mattress. The breakfast on both mornings was awaful - makerel and poached egg / full english both tasted as though they had been sitting there for hourse. The poached egg was like rubber. All over cooked. How you can over cook packet fish I am not sure!
No effort at all was made to engage us. No attempt to ask how our journey was, where have we travelled from etc did we get a nights sleep. On the second morning I actually felt uncomfortable as though I was intruding in her house. This is not what I thought b&'s were about. Would I return - NO!
p.s. is locate dup a steep hill and was cheaper to get a taxi than take a bus

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were quite surprised to be greeted to an envelope stuck to the door telling us where our keys were, no sign of a host or anyone to help us in. The front door, left slightly ajar, was also quite unnerving.
However, upon entering out £110 per night room, we were greeted with a spotlessly clean, light, airy, beautifully decorated room. The bed was comfortable, there was a good tv and everything you could possibly need - shower gel etc, iron, hair-dryer. We wondered what all the bad reviews were about on Tripadvisor!! However, the shower was appalling, the temperature changed rapidly without warning and the water tank situated in the bathroom dripped and buzzed every time you flushed the loo or used the tap. The free wifi was a nice touch but it was annoyingly slow and temperamental.

We had a comfortable night sleep and were really looking forward to breakfast. Again, our host was no where to be seen, and although we were greeted by adequately friendly staff, no one asked us if we had any issues or problems and neither did we feel we could raise any. Breakfast was greasy, scrambled egg soggy, tinned fruit and small, quite honestly stingy portions and a cramped, dingy eating area. Lots of variety but not to the standard you expect when paying £110 per night.

The B and B is not situated a short 10 minute walk into town as advertised on the website, more like a 25 minute walk, which is up hill all the way back. The parking available outside the property is very useful. Without knowing the area, and with our host still not around (even at the weekend) and with a new set of envelopes stuck to the door, we ventured out to try and find dinner and found a little gem of a pub – The Bear. Brilliant food and excellent service in an inviting environment. On our second night, we ended up going back to The Bear, as again our host was not around to ask. The only information provided, was a set of leaflets and a restaurant map, oh which the B&B was no where near!

The only time anyone was around was when they wanted our money, and even then we weren't asked if our stay was pleasant or comfortable. All in all, a beautiful, clean B and B, but far too over priced and terrible hosting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryyosav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

When i first booked to stay at Astor House i noticed that everyone seemed to be upset about the lack of customer service upon arrival. Anticipating this, we were totally satisfied with our stay. The staff were lovely and left you in peace to explore the city. The B&B is not in town - it's in the residential part of Bath, about a 15 minute walk from the Roman Baths. That said, it was lovely and quiet and our rooms were just what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronwenfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#48 of 155 in Bath
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 155 in Bath
959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 155 in Bath
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#28 of 155 in Bath
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 155 in Bath
985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#33 of 155 in Bath
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor House

Address: 14 Oldfield Road, Bath BA2 3ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £90 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astor House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing