We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Comfortable”
Review of Beech Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beech Cottage B&B
Ranked #24 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient Comfortable”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights last week. The B&B is comfortable. The room is small but comfortable for 2 people with a nice firm bed and a lovely view of the woods. Jeff was a wealth of information. The conversations over breakfast with Jeff and Jacqui was enjoyable and also an opportunity to meet other guests. The B&B is tucked away in a corner but convenient to get to by bus and also to get to the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear T&R. We really enjoyed meeting you both and happy that you were able to see Bath whilst here on business. Your nice positive review after staying two nights in our Standard Double room are very much appreciated. J&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    33
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
131
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Jeff and Jacqui were very welcoming after a long drive and most helpful with suggestions of what to do and where to eat (and drink). The room was very comfortable even in the summer heat, super shower with huge fluffy towels. Unfortunately our TV didn't work, only wanted it for the News anyway, but Jeff has obviously spent a lot of time sourcing the problem and has since contacted us to say what was wrong and that it is now fixed. Lovely pub, Forester and Flower, round the corner and the Bus stop right outside was perfect for us meaning the car didn't move for the whole of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagertraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear L&K, Thank you for such a great review after staying three nights in out Superior Double room. The TV power supply fault was resolved the day you left and we really appreciated your patience on this. Call us if you would like to stay again and we will gladly give you a special rate as a thank you:-) J&J&JJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Jacqui and Jeff were excellent hosts , our room was spotless bed very comfortable,the b&b is set in a beautifull location 2 miles from city centre , massive bonus was the bus stop at the end of the lane .Breakfast was the healthy option in an amazing kitchen where the guests were invited to sit all together ,thought this was a great idea as we had chance to meet other guests and chat with Jeff and Jacqui over breakfast .My daughter lives in Bath and we have stayed at a few b&b's and Beech Cottage does make you feel right at home and welcome ,,we shall certainly be recommending it and we'll be back to visit Jeff and Jacqui soon .On the very hot day we were there Jacqui supplied us with a very succulent water melon while sitting in the lovely garden ,
Thanks Jacqui and Jeff for making our stay a memorable one

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Sue and Colin thank you for this fabulous review after staying two nights in our Standard Double room. - - - and thank you too for phoning the other day and booking two more nights in the same room in December:-) Best wishes J&J&JJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is an excellent B&B. Lovely and welcoming people with friendly atmosphere which makes you feel home. The location is just right, away enough from the centre but just in away gives you the chance to relax and unwind. The bus brings from the heart of the city and leaves you right at the corner of the street that takes straight to Beech cottage. Rooms are clean and tidy and have all what you need.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Lina
Thank you very much for writing such a positive review after you stayed in our Standard Twin room. We enjoying hosting you and hope to meet again when you most to Bath later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at Beech Cottage and even though it was short, we will remember it fondly. We really appreciated Jeff spending time with us and going over all the places we could visit and also for the excellent recommendations for restaurants with vegetarian fare. We were able to get a table at Demuths on Saturday and really enjoyed the food. They had butternut squash soup which was so warming and delicious!

What really makes Jeff and Beech Cottage stand apart is the personal attention and the informal atmosphere-it made us feel we were staying with someone we knew and it instantly made us feel very comfortable and at home!! We really appreciate this and will recommend you to friends and family. We might also pay you another visit if we are in need of a relaxing 'away from the city' weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radhi2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay at Beech Cottage last year and for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved this B&B! Sharing Jacqui and Jeffs kitchen was right up our alley. That's the way B&Bs should do it. For us a good B&B is about the personal contact, having a chat, and that's what you get here. Breakfast is wholesome and healthy, none of the greasy stuff. (We had that in the evening as our hosts had no objection to us bringing food back to the house to eat in the kitchen. Jeff even sat with us and shared his bottle of wine over a chat. The chippy around the corner is excellent, really!) The cottage itself is gorgeous. We slept very well as the cottage is in a really quiet location. Our GPS took us to the B&B via an obscure route so don't be surprised if you find yourself driving up what appears to be someone's back yard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebbles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
"none of the greasy stuff" - - - may we quote that line? :-)

Thank you for staying at Beech Cottage and for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oostduinkerke, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed at Beech Cottage for two nights to visit Bath. Very conveniently located,only a short bus ride from the city centre. Friendly atmosphere, well furnished rooms, talkative hosts and very good breakfast service.
Dirk

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you Dirk for staying at Beech Cottage and for your kind words which are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Forester And Flower
5.9 mi away
Wheelbrook Mill
Wheelbrook Mill
#2 of 5 in Norton St Philip
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
563 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
802 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 157 in Bath
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Cottage B&B

Property: Beech Cottage B&B
Address: 32 Combe Road, Bath BA2 5HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy cottage (1803) offering comfort and woodland tranquility, 8 minutes bus ride from Bath centre. Jeff who served as the 768th Mayor of Bath is happy to share his extensive local knowledge with guests. His wife Jacqui was born in Bath. Our 3 en-suite rooms offer complimentary tea/coffee tray (with fresh milk available), toiletries, fresh white towels, FreeSat TV/Radio and WiFi: All rooms en-suite: Standard TWIN has two 3 ft beds. The Standard DOUBLE 5ftwide . Our Superior room offers a choice of 6 ft wide Double OR Twin 3ft beds. Delicious and healthy vegetarian breakfasts. DIY clothes washing available for travellers 'on the road'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Beech Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing