We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at The Grove”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grove at Lyncombe Vale
Ranked #125 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable stay at The Grove”
Reviewed 2 September 2007

We have just returned from an overnight stay at The Grove,having booked only the previous day via the website.
We stayed in The Jane Austen room and were delighted with our choice. It was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Robert and Dee were fantastic hosts and made us feel most welcome from the moment we arrived.
The breakfast was delicious, in particular the rhubarb compote, which is Dee's own recipe.
We could not have asked for a warmer welcome and our only regret was that we were not able to stay longer in their beautiful home.We look forward to returning to The Grove very soon.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Musslburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

My husband and I stayed two nights here on a six day trip around the country. Those nights were the highlight of our trip as the other places didn't even come close to the standard set by The Grove. We arrived late due to a late concert in Bristol but Deirdre and Robert met us cheerfully and offered us a night cap and some conversation to welcome us into their lovely home. Our room was very spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable and made up with freshly ironed sheets. Bathrobes hanging in the wardrobe for our use, a splendid bathroom with a power shower (I never felt so thoroughly cleaned) and beautiful views over the garden. They took us on a walk around this garden which is landscaped in a most creative way and when there is sun feels like you are in the south of France. Robert showed us his works in progress in his sculpture studio. Plenty of tourist information and maps available and good advice from Deirdre who for years has worked for the British Tourist Authority. She knows her stuff. The breakfasts were excellent, healthy and a good choice of cereals and jams as well as interesting food combinations such as pears and sausages. We felt very spoilt and it was hard to leave. We most certainly would recommend this delightful B and B and plan on returning sometime.

  • Liked — Peaceful
  • Disliked — DIdn't stay long enough
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzlia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

We were 2 couples spent 2 wonderful days with Deedra and
Robert, spacious rooms, very clean,beautiful outside gardens.
Mornings with super breakfeast.I highly recommend this place.
The only problem that u feel so good at their home, that maybe u
miss seeing Bath because u dont feel like leaving.

  • Liked — rooms conditions and hospitality
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank apaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2007

I have stayed at the Grove on several occasions; the Wolsey Lodge concept is great for lone travellers because the host makes a point of welcoming you, and Robert Strickland and his partner Dee are no exception.

The house is a most attractive listed building, constructed of bath stone, in a very quiet area of Bath and yet within walking distance of the station. The gardens are lovely too.

The rooms are clean and well equipped with nice touches such as fresh flowers and fresh milk, and a mug for your early morning tea! The beds are comfortable.

For lovers of cooked breakfast, it is a feast with butchers sausages, and free range eggs. For those of us who find this a little overwhelming first thing there is wonderful array of fruit and Dee’s speciality of cooked rhubarb with ginger – Excellent!

Whilst the Grove is more expensive than a Travel Lodge, it represents good value for money. To stay in a quintessentially Bath house, in elegant and very pleasing surroundings, in a city that is a World Heritage Site is undoubtedly very special.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank MrsCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2007

The Grove is a very special place, where you can enjoy a quintessentially English experience (albeit with a strong Scottish dimension thrown in). It is situated within the city of Bath only a mile from the centre, yet in quiet rural surroundings. Our accommodation was superb, but what makes The Grove special is that you are welcomed and treated as part of the family. Robert and Dee Strickland are marvellous hosts who clearly enjoy meeting and talking to people and are enthusiastic to share knowledge. Robert is an excellent sculptor (the day job) and will welcome you into his studio to see his current work in progress.

Breakfast is round the large kitchen table, with some very special treats, including Dee’s Rhubard Compote – don’t miss it! And enjoy the conversation as well as the food.

This is not a hotel or a guest house; it is a very classy B&B offering a unique experience in a marvellous city. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants something special and different and enjoys meeting people.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MRCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

This is an architecturally beautiful house in very nice grounds but I am afraid it came no where near to justifying it's £110.00 per night price tag (you can pay £150.00!) Firstly both the Alistair Sawday and The Grove's own website lead you to believe there are two double rooms, and therefore I chose to make a reservation based on the photos of each room. However, there are actually three rooms at the Grove and of course I found we were booked into the one not described or pictured on the site. The one in the photo has a beautiful looking cannopied queen sized bed and ours was a cheap double wrought iron affair. The room was very disappointing with chatty furniture and the bathroom, although modern, was not clean. In fact I chose not to take a bath due to the past guest's remains! The towels had really seen better days and our room did not seem to have been serviced during our stay with the exception of clean cups provided and the bed clothes being pulled back up the bed. It was also very cold with little heating offered to each room

Breakfast was a mixed affair with a good selection of fruit and cereals, however, the cooked breakfast was rather over charred each morning and not pleasant to eat. I am afraid to say, to my cost, I was fooled by the elegant image portrayed by both the photos and description and quite annoyed that a different room is being offered to the only two stated on both sites.

I felt truly "fleeced" upon leaving the Grove and can't understand how it has managed to achieved it's good description or ratings.

  • Liked — Architecture.
  • Disliked — Room and lack of cleanliness.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank meeps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismorelady, Owner at The Grove at Lyncombe Vale, responded to this review, 10 July 2007
Our response to the negative review about The Grove at Lyncombe Vale. We were very sorry to read such a scathing posting when nothing at all was said at the time by the guests. In fact on departure they actually told us they were happy with their stay.

We are a five star bed and breakfast (inspected very recently for both quality and service by VisitBritain’s quality grading scheme) and we take our hospitality role very seriously. We are members of the exclusive and upmarket Wolsey Lodge group and the popular Alastair Sawday guides – whose memberships requires the highest standards. This is our first ever complaint in more than two years of trading. We take pride in our relationship with all our guests and consider ourselves friendly, professional and helpful. The comments made to me on departure by these guests suggested that the stay had been an enjoyable one. - to the point that they gave us details of their own B & B in Durham. Therefore we were even more surprised to find that they complained after the fact, and did not have the decency to advise us of any of their complaints during their stay. Had this been done in a timely fashion any of their perceived shortcomings would have been rectified immediately by the management.

Furthermore, in each of our rooms we have a Comments/Feed Back book specifically to avert these situations. Any constructive suggestions we are happy to act on; indeed we have done so on a couple of occasions in the past. No comments were made in either of these books by these guests. Indeed our visitors’ books do not contain a single negative comment from any guest .

We are not in the hospitality trade to “fleece” anyone - quite the reverse. Far from it, we provide a 5 star service and our charges are therefore fully “justifiable also given that Bath is a World Heritage city and as such is a very popular destination. Our prices are commensurate with all other 5 star bed and breakfast establishments in the city and in some cases more competitive.

Our rooms are described in all of our marketing, brochures and on our website. To imply that the guest was given a non-standard room at an exorbitant rate is simply not true and is therefore categorically refuted. The room occupied by this guest was exactly the same as that occupied by a Visit Britain inspector four months earlier when we were given our 5* B&B rating. Also the room the guests occupied was a very large room and is competitively priced against similar rooms in Bath. The bathrooms are always cleaned and inspected before any guest arrives, so we find comments on our cleanliness most unlikely and frankly insulting.

Comments on the breakfast are also surprising given, that if they were as serious as suggested, the cook (myself on this occasion) would not have served it. Presumably if it was that “charred” it would a) have been obvious and b) inedible and the guests would have made a comment at the time.

Coming to the point of the cold rooms. April was the hottest since records began! And not unsurprisingly the heating was turned off at some stage during the month except for one hour per day to dry out the towels on the towel rails. We are surprised these guests felt cold, but again, had they asked us, we would have happily put the heating on.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 157 in Bath
1,632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 157 in Bath
959 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
151 reviews
4.9 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
484 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove at Lyncombe Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove at Lyncombe Vale

Property: The Grove at Lyncombe Vale
Address: The Grove Lyncombe Vale Road, Bath BA2 4LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove at Lyncombe Vale is a luxury bed & breakfast (a Wolsey Lodge) in a classic historic Georgian house set in a peaceful Italianate-style garden. Located in a delightful setting, it is a haven for and birdlife and yet only minutes from Bath's bustling and historic city centre. The accommodation is spacious with two double bedrooms with bathrooms. The Grove reflects its owner's artistic background, a figurative sculptor who works from his home studio. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing