We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bath House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bath House
Ranked #7 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very special B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have never written a review before but felt compelled to for the first time after a very special night away at this B&B.

I booked this B&B on the strength of the reviews and I wasn't disappointed. This really is a fabulous place to stay, I can't rave about it enough. It was a treat for my boyfriend's birthday and our first trip away together. We travelled by train and the B&B was about a 15min walk away and easy to find. We arrived a few minutes early but were welcomed in with a smile.

The rooms are spacious, well decorated, very clean and have little touches that add that extra something. The fresh milk and biscuits in the fridge are one such extra touch.

We stayed in room 3, which was beautiful and quiet. It has a lovely bath with shower overhead.

The B&B is in an excellent location with a short, flat walk in to the centre of Bath. The breakfast in the room was perfect for us and we really enjoyed being able to eat in the privacy of our own room.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and have already booked to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,622
    124
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
110
1,327
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Rooms very comfortable. Close walking proximity to attractions. Breakfast served in room. delicious. Owners helpful and personal. Large bathrooms , Has private parking area although can be tight but no different than any place else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was taken to the bath house as a surprise birthday treat for the weekend - and what a surprise! We weren't even out of the car when the friendly owners were helping us back into our free parking space (such a bonus in the city as parking is not normally included in your stay). We were lead up to our room to open the door to a 4 poster bed covered in birthday balloons and a Happy Birthday banner over the window - such a lovely touch. The service is exceptional for a B&B with spacious rooms that enable you to have breakfast served in your room each day... No rushing down to a Breakfast room each morning... Here at the bath house you are offered a hotel quality extensive menu including cooked breakfast, you guard and fruit, fresh coffee pastries and crumpets ( or indeed a champagne breakfast which is what i was served with a birthday cake!). Simply tick what delights you want on the menu, and hang on the outside of your door by 8pm.The quality of the food was excellent and the ability to choose which time your breakfast is delivered to your door is great to enable early rises or indeed a lie in. Modern decor and amazing mattresses and bed linens afforded us uninterrupted deep sleep. A short 2-3minute walk brings you to the centre of bath so the location is perfect. I cannot rate this B&B highly enough - it's more like an intimate hotel. Well done Bath House - you made my birthday :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2which had a very cute Italian style bathroom with a sky painted ceiling although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantalConstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Lovely place, lovely people, close to everything that you will want to visit in Bath, our room was quiet, well equipped, stylish and spotless.

We will be visiting Bath on a regular basis for the next 3 years and the Bath House will be our first choice, great value for money and with an outstanding breakfast served in our room we couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union Hall
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We only had one night in Bath, but we were very pleased with this B&B. We were immediately greeted by the owner and the staff was friendly and helpful. It was a great location within walking distance of the heart of Bath. Having breakfast served in the privacy of our room was a nice experience. Although located on the street, we had a comfortable night. Terrance and Emma were very good hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morgantown
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this B&B in Bath and would highly recommend. Not only is the location great, enjoyed some luxury with wonderful hospitality. Breakfast is served in your room, which was very good and it was nice to sit and relax in our room before getting ready to go out for the day. We had to leave very early one day and they were more than happy to get us something ready the evening before and leave it in our room. Our room was beautiful, clean and comfortable. Supplied with hair dryer, coffee and tea supplies, milk and water in the refrigerator.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgtnjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Following trip advisor reviews I booked this B&B and we were not disappointed! We were given a warm welcome, able to park our car and shown to our lovely, bright, clean, spacious room! The breakfast choice was good and having it served to our room was a nice experience! Would recommend to others and visit again! Thanks Hannah and Mike x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HLomas81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.5 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath House

Property: The Bath House
Address: Upper Bristol Road | Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bath House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique B&B (and serviced apartments) in the heart of Bath, just five minutes level walk to all major attractions including the Crescent, Spa, Abbey and Roman Baths. Stylish AIR-CONDITIONED en-suite B&B rooms with king-size beds, free Wi-Fi, LCD TVs, iPod docks, mini fridges, hairdryers, fluffy towels, information guides and a generous hospitality tray. For extra pampering, breakfast is served in the PRIVACY OF YOUR OWN ROOM. Luxury 1 and 2 bed Apartments also available - ideal for families, couples, small groups or corporate bookings. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bath House Luxury b&b
The Bath House Luxury Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing