We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Milton House.”
Review of Milton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Milton House
Ranked #26 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Milton House is a lovely B&B.It had just been taken over by new owners.Gibson & Blessing and you couldn't wish to meet a nicer couple,they went out of their way to make us feel welcome.They are both very friendly and can't do enough to help people,as well as having the most adorable little boy called Nathan,who was the main attraction.

We stayed in room 2,which overlooks the main road,but there was little noise as the windows were double glazed(unlike some more expensive b&b's we have stayed in around Bath)The room was very clean and modern and the bed was so comfortable we both slept really well,(which again in some places the beds were old and really uncomfortable)The en-suite was new and modern and there was plenty of room in there.The heating was always on when needed(again a problem we have found in other places were the rooms have been very cold)

The breakfeast was excellent,i'm quite a fussy eater and Gibson was so accomodating,he would do whatever i fancied and he is an excellent cook.

Really enjoyed our stay there,thanks to Gibson and Blessing for making us feel so welcome.

Would highly recommend to great B&B.

Vicky & Paul.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

this little b&b has just been taken over rooms really small on suite miniture size had to walk sideways to the loo and shower could not dry yourself in it, room clean just enough room to walk round the bed bit dated breakfast quite good i wouldn't want to stay more than one night but adequate for one nights stay, new owners just getting to grips with the place,

Room Tip: only 4 rooms available book a more expensive one the chaepest £65 we had as fully booked wouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1951model, Owner at Milton House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

We are obviously sorry that this guest did not enjoy her stay, but we make it absolutely clear on our website and during the booking procedure that room 4 is a small double with a narrow bathroom, and that it is priced accordingly. It has a standard double bed, and is almost certainly the only en-suite double room to be had in a four-star guest house in Bath at less than seventy pounds per night. For people booking more than a couple of nights, we always suggest that they might prefer one of our other rooms, which offer more space and comfort. For those on a budget, or those who plan to be out sightseeing for most of the time and just want a place to lay their heads, our small double is a popular choice, and has been described as 'cute' and 'quirky'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The trip up the hill is a little imposing if you do not have a car.The B & B itself is lovely the room is very clean and the bed is a delight to sleep in-There are brand new owners and we were the 1st to stay with them.Givens,Blessing and David they were a little bit too gushing but I am sure they will get used to the business in time. Breakfast was very good and they could not do enough for you,I look forward to returnig next yer too see how they are doing i this notoriously difficult business. ( their little son is a delight)

Room Tip: We were in room 2 overlooking a busy road,double glazing takes out most of the noise.Bathroom is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Lovely and clean room. Superior breakfast. Sue and Geoff are helpful and accommodating. Thank you! The neighbourhood Italian deli is a wonderful place for a good coffee and pastry, or a freshly-made sandwich. We loved the short walk into town. We recommend Milton House highly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is a well managed, conveniently located and beautifully appointed B&B, with wonderfully spacious accommodation. My wife and I spent four very enjoyable days there in May while we explored the city and surrounds. Manager Judith Maggs was most efficient and obliging. She pointed us in the right direction, so to speak, for local meals, city experiences and visits to some of the gorgeous villages in the district. Her breakfasts were as memorable for her bright and cheerful presence as for the generosity of the fare. Incidentally, Milton House is closer than perhaps its website indicates. You can walk into the city centre in 15 minutes, or catch the bus from a stop a few yards down the street. There are some good pubs - with nice food - and little restaurants in the vicinity as well. En route to Milton House we also discovered a small roadside eatery called The Box Cafe, at the village of the same name on the outskirts of the city, where we had the best sandwich ever, made by the owner, Helen. In summary, it was all good at Bath.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just wanna leave a few lines to thank Sue and Geoff for their incomparable treat and generosity in order to meet, greet and make you feel as comfortable as you can be.

Very familiar people. Room (we where in Room 3) superb. Clean and tidy. Very nice breakfast followed for useful advises given for them that made without any doubt our stay worthwhile.

100% advisable!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stopped here for one night on our way to Cornwall for a holiday and it was absolutely fantastic! Wonderful, friendly hosts; recommended a short walk to us, giving us a beautiful view across the city. Very clean and cosy room, with absoutely everything you'd need and more. Would definately stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#19 of 159 in Bath
856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#47 of 159 in Bath
244 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 159 in Bath
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#9 of 159 in Bath
1,123 reviews
5.1 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
581 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#2 of 159 in Bath
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton House

Address: 75 Wellsway | Bear Flat, Bath BA2 4RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £70 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milton House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Milton Guest House, a Victorian villa only twelve minutes' walk from the historic centre of Bath. Proprietors Gibson and Blessing Mutandwa offer quality accommodation in well-appointed guest rooms. All rooms are clean and comfortable, with en-suite bathrooms, TV/DVD and radio, hairdryer and tea-making facilities. Free WiFi is also available. There is unrestricted on-street parking outside the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Milton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing