We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionally welcoming”
Review of Milton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Milton House
Ranked #27 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptionally welcoming”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of May. We were very warmly welcomed by Gibson and shown to our immaculately clean, if not particularly large, room. The breakfasts were excellent.. The location is good with Bath centre an easy walk downhill, and it is on the bus route if you don't want to walk back up the hill.. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise at the front but this quietens down overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baggie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    75
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
200
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Mum and I were looking to enjoy a weekend away in Bath and after some research Milton House offered the best value. It also scored consistently highly on TripAdvisor. Having now stayed at Milton House for myself I can understand why.

The room was immaculate, and had lots of lovely hotel-style finishing touches like well stocked tea and coffee making facilities and good quality soap, shampoo and shower gel. The bed was very comfortable and there was a good sized TV with Freeview channels. We had an alarm clock and radio too which was a welcome addition.

The breakfast was outstanding, and my vegetarian mum enjoyed a good feast too. Not only was there the traditional fayre available, but yoghurts, fruits, juices and cereals too.
The staff were really friendly and ever so helpful. They had lots of good tips for our sightseeing itinerary, and were very kind recommending a different and faster route home. They even printed off directions for us.

The location is excellent and just a short walk from Bath's city centre. There is parking available on street without any need for a visitors permit/ payment. One thing I would say is Wellsway is a wee bit busy and there is some road noise if your room is at the front of Milton House. The windows are double glazed and this certainly didn't disturb me, a hardened city dweller, but I did overhear another guest saying she didn't manage to block the noise out so easily.

Room Tip: IF you are sensitive to some road noise you may wish to consider asking for a room at the back of Mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMA502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a small family-run B&B located in a quiet area just a few minutes walk from central Bath. Blessing and Gibson are excellent hosts. I arrived late in the evening and Blessing and her small son Nathan showed me to my room and recommended local places to go for dinner. The B&B is spotlessly clean and my room was very comfortable, with plenty of teas, coffees and biscuits. Gibson is an excellent cook and my breakfast was wonderful...a buffet with fruit, yogurt and juices, followed by a delicious vegetarian cooked breakfast. What I like most about Milton House is the friendliness of the owners and the cleaning staff - nothing is too much trouble to make your stay enjoyable. The Devonshire Arms pub is close by and quiz night is a good time to go for traditional ales and English food. This part of Bath is good for runners and Gibson recommended the new 2 tunnels route.

Room Tip: Beau Nash is a small but comfortable double room - the layout of the bedroom and bathroom is very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieMacleod1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Staying in Bath can be expensive so it was nice to find a good value B & B. Very welcoming. I stayed in the small double, which was very small - particularly the shower room. Fine for one person (as long as that person is not of generous proportions ;-) ). Wouldn't recommend for a couple though. Exceptional clean and smelling lovely throughout. Blessing gave me some good advice about getting in town and where to eat. If you don't mind walking back up the hill I would definitely recommend going into the town centre by foot as Bath is lovely. Good well cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canterbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We also stayed in the Jane Austin room. Very large and comfortable, and the en suite bath was one of the largest we had on our trip. Clean, neat, great hosts and breakfast with fruit, yogurt, cooked breakfast, and nice homey touches. Tea, coffee, and cookies, etc. in the room. Location is up the hill from the center of Bath, and if you have luggage, I would recommend a taxi, as it is quite a hill. We were late arriving at our expected time, but our hosts interrupted their private time on a shopping trip to come and welcome us. (Our taxi driver would not leave until someone came, although there was no problem.) We stayed two nights, and could not have picked a better or more economical place to stay in Bath. Gibson and Blessing (and Nathan) are wonderful hosts. We would recommend this B&B to anyone planning a trip to Bath. Several good eating options nearby recommended by our hosts.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the house for a lovely view of the street and large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaDonna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed one night on business in Bath and although this Bed and Breakfast is slightly out of town the price does reflect that, at well under £100 per night (good value for Bath which is generally very overpriced). It is a classic family run bed and breakfast- just four rooms, and the dining room, nothing fancy, but all pristinely clean and everything you could need. And very comfortable beds, I slept remarkably well! A nice breakfast as well.

The rooms at the front are on quite a busy main road, the noise is kept out by the double glazing but if road traffic is going to bother you ask for the rooms at the back.

Booking arrangements are super efficient, all done by automated email. There are several eating options within a 5 minute walk, ranging through a fine dining restaurant to gastro pub, Indian take away and pizza takeaway place. Also a full range of very useful local shops, and several buses into Bath city centre, about 15 minutes by bus. Bath is an easy city to get around, with quite good public transport, a good taxi company and easy to walk around the city centre if you don't mind a few hills. There are also zillions of places to hire bikes. (Well-ok, perhaps not zillions, but quite a few!)

The highlight of this b&b is the genuinely warm and friendly welcome from Blessing and Gibson who are perfect hosts- helpful, kind, without being the slightest bit pushy or false. It really is a pleasure to meet them. They will enhance any trip to the lovely city of Bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if a bit of traffic noise will bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbertherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed one night at Milton House. It is a lovely simple B&B, with comfortable and clean rooms. The service was good, the breakfast simple but tasty and the location is great. The B&B is located a 20min walk from bath city centre and is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000CST000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.6 mi away
Marisha's Guest House
Marisha's Guest House
#51 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.3 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#35 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bloomfield House
Bloomfield House
#39 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton House

Property: Milton House
Address: 75 Wellsway | Bear Flat, Bath BA2 4RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Milton House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Milton Guest House, a Victorian villa only twelve minutes' walk from the historic centre of Bath. Proprietors Gibson and Blessing Mutandwa offer quality accommodation in well-appointed guest rooms. All rooms are clean and comfortable, with en-suite bathrooms, TV/DVD and radio, hairdryer and tea-making facilities. Free WiFi is also available. There is unrestricted on-street parking outside the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Milton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing