We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A Magical Find"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hollies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hollies
Ranked #33 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"A Magical Find"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I felt like Alice in Wonderland stepping inside the Hollies. Everything was a feast on the eyes and our bedroom, in the Indian Room, was filled with memorabilia from the days of the Raj. Shower, toilet etc. pristine and bed linens finest Egyptian Cotton. Our Hosts were charming and breakfast felt like dining in a miniature "Downton Abbey". Breakfast was lovely with selection of cereals, yoghourt, full english with toast and home preserved marmalade and freshly brewed coffee. A charming bed and breakfast - unique.

Room Tip: There are only three, each with a different theme. I believe the Indian Room is the only one with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    53
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
306
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Staying at The Hollies is like entering a different world. There were so many interesting and beautiful things to see that it's almost a shame not to spend more time indoors. We slept in the Indian Room which is in a quiet position at the back. It's amazing to stay in a detached house surrounded by garden when so close to the city. David and Joe were friendly hosts and made our stay very special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights in The Hollies. The house was beautiful, and the ornaments and trinkets could have kept us entertained for hours. The house's well-stocked library is a great place to unwind, especially after a day's sight-seeing in Bath.

The house is clean and the breakfast generous and lovely. If we had one suggestion for The Hollies, it would be regarding our bathroom door in The Indian Room. We found this a little tricky to open from the inside, the handle was a bit tough!

We had a fantastic stay and would recommend The Hollies to anyone who was going to stay in Bath.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

From the moment we arrived, advice was offered in a friendly way and a phone call for taxis done by our hosts while we enjoyed the start of our relaxing weekend.

We were given the front door key together with our room key, so we could come and go at our leisure.

Breakfast both mornings was outstanding, freshly cooked Breakfast was made to our liking as well as many choices of fruits and juices and not forgetting the cereals and yogurts. Coffee or tea were made as well as the toast, together with homemade jams and marmalade.

Our hosts provided helpful tourist information as well as restaurants of all kinds, brochures were readily available for us to take away and use.

No one wants a weekend break to end, it made it even more so as our hosts at The Hollies are always a must when visit Bath in the future . We certainly won't be looking for anywhere else.

Finally each of the bedrooms were themed, we had a The English Bedroom our friends The Chinese Bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I wasn't entirely sure what to expect for my first B&B experience, but it was great. David and Jo were very welcoming and helpful. The full-portioned, large breakfasts hit the spot. The room was comfortable and clean. It's an easy taxi ride from the train station (up the hill), and a nice stroll to get back down to town to explore.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Hollies. The Chinese Room was well appointed and comfortable. The breakfasts were well served and tasty.

The Hollies is located up the hlll to the south and is an easy walk into Bath and about a 1/2 hour walk back for those in reasonable shape.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Dave9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

The Hollies at Bath just amazing,our hosts David and Jo made our three nights in Bath very special,they were so warm and welcoming there home is just amazing with beautiful decor and exceptional service plus great location and a wonderful breakfast I would recommend a stay and The Hollies. Thankyou again David and Jo. From Debbie and Paul from Australia.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#35 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bloomfield House
Bloomfield House
#39 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#18 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Property: The Hollies
Address: The Hollies Hatfield Road, Bath BA2 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollies 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty early-Victorian house about 15 minutes walk from Bath centre. We have three rooms full of antiques and character, all with en-suite or private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollies Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing