We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not sure LazyDaze is the term I'd use for our...”
other travellers have booked this property
Romantic getaway. Something special and very different
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic getaway. Something special and very different
Jacuzzi bath tub to wind down after a long day relaxing Luxury widebeam boat. You can cruise or stay on it as an appartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Romantic getaway. Something special and very different
Jacuzzi bath tub to wind down after a long day relaxing
Luxury widebeam boat. You can cruise or stay on it as an appartment
Vintage record deck with a collection of must-have spins for you to enjoy
Fleecy robes for for you to snuggle up in
Electric bikes so you exercise as much or as little as you want
Luxury hamper included in the price of your break or holiday
Room to dine on board
Oak shaker kitchen with full-size cooker and washing machine
Multi-fuel stove to keep you cosy and warm
Media centre with TV, Smart box, WiFi and film on demand
Good size comfy sofa bed
Luxury fully-fitted bathroom
Comfortable pocket sprung mattresses and silk duvets and Egyptian cotton sheets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Oxfordhap...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not sure LazyDaze is the term I'd use for our trip! We had a great time though.”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at Sydney Wharf in the pouring rain to find that the boat was not ready, in fact it was not ready for an hour after handover time. Very annoying, the company could have phoned us and saved us driving over too early. They gave us a cup of tea and we were happy to wait. We had a great handover from the wonderful Stuart who showed us everything on the boat and took us to a lock downstream to show us how it worked. The full handover for inexperienced drivers takes about an hour - you should be aware of that if you have a plan to get anywhere. He stayed with us for 15 minutes or so as we drove away, to make sure we were happy.

We booked Topsy for four of us, which I'd say was perfect. Although 6 can be accommodated by using the sofa bed I think it would be two too many. There is pretty much anything you could want on the boat, although there were no cosy bathrobes and the advertised luxury towels were just ordinary towels. I think LazyDaze need to adjust the website a bit to reflect this - maybe just don't promise luxury towels if you are going to supply towels full stop. The boat is certainly lovely and it drew many admiring comments from passers by. Do not expect everything to be shiny and hotel-perfect. It is a bit chipped/worn here and there, but we were happy with it. All the problems reported by the previous reviewer have been sorted.

If you have not driven a narrowboat before you may be terrified when you see her and begin to drive. But we were soon quite proficient and were able to relax a bit more. It was very cosy moored up against the bank with the woodburner on, Steely Dan on the record player (we loved the albums) and a glass of wine. It rained heavily for long periods of time but it didn't spoil my enjoyment. There are plenty of waterproofs on the boat (in a drawer in master bedroom).

We were quite scared when we approached our first lock, although we had been instructed and there are further instructions on the boat. We were offered help by some people at the lock who took us through the procedure. After that we were proficient and very happy to do them.

We spent a long weekend on the boat and came away with wonderful memories, we had a lot of laughs and learned some new skills. I had thought we would just be gliding along with a drink in hand, but it required a lot of teamwork to guide the boat past obstacles, do swing bridges and locks. Definitely not lazy, Im still aching. But I wouldn't have it any other way. I'd definitely recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing trip after all the hype”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
8
people found this review helpful

I booked Topsy back in April 2016 ready for my fiancée birthday surprise in September following him really wanting to do a narrow boat trip. I heard loads of good things about the boat from friends who had been on the boat and how personal it was made by the owners Lynda and Mark so as you can imagine I was really excited and when I finally to,d my fiancée he was just as excited. Neither of us had been in a narrow boat before but everyone said how Mark would give us plenty of tuition and wouldn't go until we were happy.
I had good communication with Lynda leading up to our trip. On the day of arrival we were met by Bath Narrowboats and had it explained that Mark and Lynda had sold the boat to their company. We were a little disappointed but thought I'm sure it will still be ok.
As you can see from all the other reviews the personal touches provided by Mark and Lynda make the experience and the amazing facilities of the boat should mean it will be luxurious.
So we got on the boat and were shown round it had everything in board including the hamper as described on the website and like everyone else it was very good and plenty of supplies.
We then set off with a guy from Bath Narrowboats who gave us a real quick talk through how to steer and that was it. My fiancée dud ask about showing us how to go through locks etc or swing bridges but we were advised the nearest lick was a good day away so the guy couldn't show us. I was really disappointed as this made us both very nervous as you can see from previous reviews Mark gave loads of tuition and help, this may have been because the boat before was moored in a different location and are closer to locks. As a result throughout the trip we didn't go through any locks as we're not confident enough so turned round. The only other advice the guy could give us was that there was a folder in the boat which had instructions on how to do locks and swing bridges.
Anyway so off we went.
The facilities were good but the middle bedroom had a awful smell and no one could have stayed in the room so lucky it was just us two on boat. The boat wasn't very clean the rug was dirty and the kitchen sides were sticky.
The sink didn't work in bathroom so we ended up cleaning teeth etc I kitchen sink
It says on website that there was a hard rule with over 240 films this was also in the manual but when we looked on the tv it showed that no hardline was available.
Overall the boat has many luxury items on it and clearly would have been an amazing experience. We have come to the conclusion that now Lynda and Mark have sold the boat the personal touch has gone by the larger company running it as they have other boats
This wasn't a cheap experience and feel a little let down maybe if we had been told that they had sold the boat we might have been a little forewarned
So boat is still a luxury boat but needs looking after which the new company don't provide that personal service

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1PF40
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Topsy is perfect in every way. Very comfortable boat and Mark and Linda have taken great pains to make it a home from home. Tastefully furnished and all amenities on board. The welcome basket was plentiful and most generous. We enjoyed a most wonderful week on the canal and Topsy allowed us good rest at night. Would recommend Topsy to anyone. Thank you Mark and Linda and your crew for having made us so comfortable and having afforded us a great holiday, we were sorry to have to leave her. Will visit Topsy again of that I am sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Topsy is a beautiful boat and the owners, Mark and Lynda, are incredibly welcoming and helpful. We booked without having ever been on a canal boat, and it was great fun. The owners taught us how to steer the boat and operate the locks - a great feeling of accomplishment. They also provided an amazing welcome basket so no need to arrive with groceries. The boat is lovely and comfortable with lots of entertainment (music, TV, movies, even a pub quiz book) Best sleep I've ever had. And if you want a really relaxing day, you can hire a captain for a very reasonable amount to steer the boat while you sit at the bow and watch the ducks and swans drift by. I really hope we can do this again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just hanging out on the boat
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The boat, a real home from home
Liked least: The weather !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul165
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just returned from a few days on Topsy.
Visiting Bath with family and fancied something a bit different (and cheaper) than a town centre hotel. Owners extremely helpful before we arrived and even more so on arrival. Easy to find and free parking very close to the boat. Useful introductory talk by Lynda and a food basket that could have fed us for most of the week!
Boat beautifully equipped. Central heating (needed in Feb!) aswell as a log burner and extra heaters. All mod cons from WiFi to Bluetooth to vinyl! We used the boat as a B&B, using the Park and Ride 3 mins walk away. Walk into Bath along the river takes about an hour and not particularly attractive as mostly industrial.
Highly recommend this as a great place to stay outside the city, watching kingfishers and rowers fly by. I imagine even nicer in the summer!
Our dog was also made most welcome - thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing