We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful...Charming...Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
Ranked #70 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Downham Market
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful...Charming...Perfect!”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This is the most pleasant stay we’ve had at a B&B. Once we arrived we knocked on the door and were given a parking permit so that we could park right outside. It was like a fairytale! The website’s photos cannot even capture the true beauty and enchantment of this home; the hosts paid attention to every detail. The Emilia Room was wonderfully furnished and the view from the window was into the beautiful garden. The room and ensuite bathroom had all the essentials you could ask for. We always dreamed of staying in a beautiful historical home, and this place fulfilled that dream in every aspect. The hosts, Greg and his wife, were very kind and welcoming. The location wasn’t right smack in the town center, but an easy 8-min walk and set off the main roads, so it was nice and quiet. The breakfast was delicious and included a typical English Breakfast, fruit, cereals, juice, and coffee. During our meal, Greg entertained us with a beautiful personal poem. He is a very gifted and genuine person. We only stayed one night, but hoped we could have stayed longer. We look forward to another visit to Bath in the spring and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    26
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
105
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We loved this place. It lived up to everything you see on the web site and more. A very comfy 4 poster bed, superb fairytale surroundings, and a host with the most! Greg welcomed us with tea in the garden and during our stay we came to regard him as a friend due to his kindness and warmth. A place we intend to revisit and would highly recommend. Ideally situated for all you want to see in Bath, with a good English breakfast, and the opportunity of meeting guests from far and wide. During our stay other guests included, 2 Russians and a Swiss lady. Well done Greg, and Q.C.O. Hope to see you again soon. On ANOTHER DAY! Staffspeeps

Room Tip: Rooms all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormaCartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

There are only 4 rooms at this quaint lovely hotel/B&B. It is a small place and we thought is furnished better than alot of 4 star hotels. The hotel is a bit hard to locate as it is on Sydney place but in a corner street by the side of Holburn Museum. However, the room we were given is well decorated with a nice ensuite bathroom. It gives you the feel of an old english country home- charming and quiet. Our room overlooked the garden which was a spectacular english flower garden. Great cozy atmosphere.
Greg ( the owner) was most helpful in recommending places to visit in Bath.
Breakfast was great and served in the dome foyer, overlooking the garden- full english breakfast, fresh fruit, toast.
Wifi is free and parking is right in front of the place.
However, because there are limited rooms, it was fully booked when we arrived so there were no opportunities for late check outs.

Room Tip: All we can say is
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

A beautiful small hotel with period furnishings and a wonderful courtyard garden.Go by train if you can as it is so close to the centre of Bath, and the buses are frequent if you want to go out of town. The American Museum is a must see, and only a short bus ride, - nice cafe too. Chapel Arts Centre has a variety of events; check and book before you go. Lots to see and do for a short break including the Theatre Royal. Not cheap but a lovely treat!

Room Tip: Don't arrive with a can of beer and a Macdonald's singing rap or hip hop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed 4 lovely nights at the Queen Charlotte's Orangery

I wanted to find something special for my wife, and did not want to stay in a "thirteen in a dozen" Hotel.

This is exactly what we were looking for! An Intimae and beautiful guest house. Nice rooms with four-poster bed and homemade breakfast also served in their beautiful garden.

Greg and Denise are wonderful hosts and we loved their hospitality. We will definitive come back!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aroundtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We recently returned from staying at the Queen Charlotte's Orangery in Bath and had to take time out to write a quick review.

This is a super little guest house,unique with it's Italian Renaissance decor. Super rooms and excellent breakfasts.

Run by Greg O'neil and his wife. A charming couple. If your interested in Poetry or short stories, ask Greg to show you some of his work. A very talented man.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyTravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2011

It is truly the most gorgeous place I have ever stayed in. The garden is set with 'country garden' plants; Lavender, Roses and beautiful Hydrangeas. For the romantic of heart it is a wonderland, where a glass of 'well chilled' or a pot of tea can be enjoyed to the full.....who, indeed, would really need to do any sightseeing....although Bath is very beautiful. Indoors is like stepping back in time; gorgeous fabrics dress windows and furniture alike...but all this can be seen from the pictures on the web site. When we booked, I thought it looked too good to be true but it is exactly as it appears on the photographs. Hospitality is second to none; we were welcomed with a tray of tea on our arrival and breakfast was delicious (cereal, toast, fruit, full English, juice, tea coffee).....and great to meet the other guests around the breakfast table. Altogether, a very special place for me and I look forward to, many times, returning there.

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Tasburgh House
Tasburgh House
#6 of 31 in Bath
914 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.0 mi away
Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
0.4 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Charlotte's Orangery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Charlotte's Orangery

Property: Queen Charlotte's Orangery
Address: 93A Sydney Place, Bath BA2 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen Charlotte's Orangery 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Charlotte's Orangery is one of the finest boutique bed and breakfast guest houses in historic Bath, perfectly positioned just a short stroll away into the town centre. All three guest suites; Amelia, Charlotte and Sophia have access to the beautifully designed Italianate courtyard garden, where breakfast can be served during the warmer summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen Charlotte's Orangery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Charlotte`s Orangery Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing