We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
Ranked #70 of 158 Bath B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real treasure”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here last week, 17&18th July 2014. I highly rate this B&B, it is quirky, but appointed well enough to rival a four star hotel. Think monogramed bath robes and blue & white china tea cups. The owners are friendly and very helpful serving a delicious full breakfast in the utterly charming garden.

This place is delightful and the wonderful scent of the garden pervading the room makes one feel as if one is in heaven on earth.

Would I stay here again? You bet!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amelia room which can be seen on their web site. It overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxurylover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    26
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
105
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Loved our short stay here. Quirky, quiet & extremely friendly. The decor of this place is like a museum itself. Just a ten minute walk from the city centre is ideal and the layout creates a lovely, friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiddo801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What an extraordinary place! One steps through the front door into glorious Georgian architecture in room after room, with a fantastic leafy courtyard garden adjacent. The decor and ornaments are exquisite and ubiquitous, as if in some private apartment at the Brighton Pavilion. Equally remarkable is the owner, who retired from being head of a city law firm to become a poet, or more specifically a writer of sonnets. To call him a sonneteer would be to do him an injustice, because his writing has the same lustrous imagery as the decor, truly a thing of beauty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colour-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This very small establishment is charming. Decorated in very grand style with a beautiful garden. We stayed in the Charlotte suite which has a door into the garden, where our host, Greg, served a delicious English breakfast. Clean and comfortable and situated in a peaceful spot but at most 10 minutes walk from any of Baths many attractions. Don't be deterred by the somewhat unprepossessing front. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatbuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have never felt more content than sitting on my antique chair having a long sip of tea out my fine china mug. Beautiful room to relax and gaze at the overflowing botanic garden. Very romantic and it was a privilege to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived in Bath and were greeted by Denise and Greg to this lovely B&B. Away from the hustle and bustle, yet perfectly in walking range, this little B&B transports you back in time. From the antique photographs and woodwork, to the lovely china used to serve breakfast and tea, every moment at the Orangery was full of Regency charm. We had a lovely time in Bath and at the Orangery

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely comfortable b&b in a beautiful city. Sophia room was filled with quirky period furniture . We were very lucky and had breakfast in the fab garden . The parking is a huge bonus in this city. The host was funny and welcoming.. we will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Niddy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Tasburgh House
Tasburgh House
#4 of 30 in Bath
906 reviews
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.0 mi away
Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Number 17 Bath
Number 17 Bath
#55 of 158 in Bath
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 158 in Bath
229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#20 of 158 in Bath
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Charlotte's Orangery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Charlotte's Orangery

Property: Queen Charlotte's Orangery
Address: 93A Sydney Place, Bath BA2 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen Charlotte's Orangery 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Charlotte's Orangery is one of the finest boutique bed and breakfast guest houses in historic Bath, perfectly positioned just a short stroll away into the town centre. All three guest suites; Amelia, Charlotte and Sophia have access to the beautifully designed Italianate courtyard garden, where breakfast can be served during the warmer summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Queen Charlotte's Orangery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Charlotte`s Orangery Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing